Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of GIS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of GIS by University of California, Davis

4.8
stars
4,519 ratings
1,396 reviews

About the Course

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Top reviews

VM
Oct 4, 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

BJ
Dec 27, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 1,354 Reviews for Fundamentals of GIS

By samir b b

May 4, 2020

Very detailed and with a great amount of information for the students to understand the basics of GIS.

By Melissa T

Apr 12, 2019

Very helpful way to get a basic understanding of GIS and to kick start the specialization certificate.

By Ratan D

Aug 9, 2018

Very Nice course. The prof. explains the concepts very well. I am feeling very happy with this course.

By Andrew E

Mar 13, 2018

Very good discussion of the basic terms and concepts of GIS as well on its the real life applications.

By Sandeep K

Aug 26, 2017

The course was very productive. Now I am familiar with ArcMap software and thanks for the license too.

By Francisco R S A

Jun 8, 2017

Es una buena opción para comenzar con el software de Gis para aquellos que no tienen mucha experiencia

By David S

Jun 18, 2016

Excellent detail, well presented, easy to follow instructions throughout, guidance provided if needed.

By Dulce P

Feb 25, 2016

The lectures were very easy to follow and easy to understand even for ArcGIS beginners like me. Kudos!

By tanzila s

Jun 21, 2020

I am happy because of coursera because it gave me opportunity to learn worldwide to refine my skills.

By Biraj A

Feb 2, 2020

Very good introductory course. I'm excited to start with the following courser of the specialization.

By Peter A M V

Dec 4, 2019

Este curso es una excelente opción para poder empezar tu formación profesional en el área de los GIS.

By Fabricio A C

Apr 13, 2019

Excellent ! Very well structured, many important tools to star analyzing geographic information data.

By JERRY W

Jul 16, 2018

This is a great concept and I am proud and privileged to learn from Coursera and UC Davis. Thank you.

By Syeda N F Z

Apr 26, 2019

The course was very well designed and focused on in-depth understanding of basic concepts of ArcGIS.

By Lily D

Feb 8, 2018

This is a great beginner course in GIS. The class was fun and the instructions were easy to follow.

By Sebastián N

Aug 12, 2017

Great course, great instructor, very well explained, quizes and assgnments relevant with the course.

By Carlos O M R

Oct 26, 2020

excellent content and very practical while acquiring the recommended book generates deep knowledge.

By Kousar J

May 18, 2020

learning experience was good ,teaching stratergie is different....i gain knowledge from this course

By Dina J

May 11, 2020

Excellent, Nick Santos explains very well, very nice examples, easy following and very interesting!

By Santiago M

May 10, 2020

One of the best beginners course for GIS. Had a lot of fun and lost the fear of manipulating ArcGIS

By Michael M

Jul 20, 2019

Well presented and easy to understand. Completing this course gives one a working knowledge of GIS.

By Daniyar

Dec 12, 2016

Awesome course, good explanations. Spatial join does the magic! Great, loved it, kept me motivated.

By Dominique B

Apr 25, 2020

Interesting, easy to follow, well structured. Will be back for the next few courses after a break.

By Abdelmoniem R

Feb 21, 2020

this course is suitable for any person he dint have any knowledge of gis very simply and effective

By Dmitrijs M

Feb 13, 2020

Very useful information for beginners, it's great first step to start GIS career. Thanks Coursera!