Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of GIS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of GIS by University of California, Davis

4.8
stars
4,709 ratings
1,466 reviews

About the Course

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Top reviews

A
May 16, 2021

GREAT COURSE TO JUMPSTART FOR ANY NEW LEARNERS IN THE FIELD OF GIS. It is extremely helpful to learn the basics & the projects help any new learners to understand what kind of work is done in ArcGIS.

VM
Oct 4, 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 1,430 Reviews for Fundamentals of GIS

By David K

Feb 14, 2021

Very thorough introduction to GIS. I really enjoyed this learning style where you are able to take notes directly from the lecture video clips. Hands on assignments were great for actually having to figure out problems and apply the skills you just learned in the lectures. Definitely would recommend.

By Rishabh S

Mar 11, 2019

Thanks a lot to University of California, In India we don't use GIS in City Gas distribution industry, but after learning this course I get to know the importance of this software. And providing free version for the student help to experiment with the software at my own pace.

Thanks a lot to Coursera

By Himanshu s

Mar 4, 2020

It is very good course for learning the basics of GIS as this course provide the important information that is required to learn GIS. Videos provided are quite descriptive which are easy to understand and assignments also helpful to understand the concept and help to be familiar with the Arcmap.

By Alex B

Nov 1, 2020

Excellent overview course providing exactly the right amount of detail to feel like you've got a good foundation, without ever making you wonder if a section is more specialised, or more basic than you need. Good, balanced assessment structure - enjoyed the opportunity to peer review at the end.

By wamunyima k

Apr 3, 2020

This journey has been good for me especially lessons by our lecturer Nick Santos gives very clear and descriptive explanations. Its very interesting to lean this course. its really helpful to me, wish my friend can join me, because this course is not common but can be applied in all the sectors

By Luke F

May 4, 2020

Good introduction to GIS. I thought I knew the fundamentals because I've played around with QGIS before and made some simple maps, but this course was more rigorous and taught me some GIS tools, standards and things to watch out for when geoprocessing that I wouldn't have thought of otherwise.

By Lourdes J

May 11, 2018

This was a great refresher course for me. it goes beyond basics to discuss troubleshooting ArcMap, sharing the map on the web, implementing a variety of symoblogy types, geoprocessing (spatial joins, etc.) your data, and making map books, all with practicality AND proper procedure in mind.

By Thomas L

Jul 24, 2017

Incredible course- extremely informative and does a spectacular job at preparing one for other specialties in GIS. This introductory course opens doors for further study in GIS, Urban Planning, and Environmental Policy and Law, and allows a functional understanding of the basics of ArcGIS.

By Denise P

May 15, 2016

Easy to understand overview of basic GIS concepts and how to apply them in ArcGIS. The short videos fit into a busy day and can be slipped in between work and home life. Forums are easily accessible with helpful input from the instructor as well as experienced students. Highly recommended.

By Kiran K G

Feb 11, 2020

It is the best course which covers all the essential basics which you need to know about GIS as a beginner. I highly recommend this course if you have 5-6 hours per week. You will appreciate this course once you complete it. I am looking forward to the next module in this specialization.

By Andrew K

Nov 4, 2019

Great introduction to the basic concepts of GIS. I took a GIS class in undergrad roughly eight years ago and wanted to brush up, and this class definitely helped with that. I recommend buying the textbook they recommend having as it gives extra practice than what is offered in the class.

By Zoran R

Mar 11, 2019

I have to say that this is one great course. I learned the basic of GIS, and everything I need for my first steps as a GIS analyst. I will certainly continue with mu education, and finish all five GIS specialization courses. Thank you very much for knowledge I receive during this course.

By David H

Oct 26, 2020

Nick is a great instructor. He explains everything very clearly and the lessons proceed in a good progression that builds on the last topic covered. Coursera's platform works well, though there are sometimes some refresh issues it generally works well and is easy to use as a student.

By MD Z S

Jun 12, 2020

Those who are keen to learning GIS, this is a must course to enroll. The instructor, Nick Santos is absolutely amazing and anyone would definitely enjoy learning from him. This course will not only make the basics of GIS robus but also make you step up learning GIS more to the depth

By Chris C

Feb 14, 2018

This is a great course to understand the fundamentals of GIS. While you may feel lost and confused at certain times, don't worry as it will all come together when you complete your peer-reviewed assignment, provided you are motivated enough to seek out the solutions to your errors.

By Jacqueline J

Sep 1, 2020

For someone new to computer oriented classes I am glad that this was a "your pace" kind of class. The instructor did a good job explaining the course and the "homework" or projects through the course helped me succeed in the peer reviewed final assignment. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

By Rebecca R

Jul 20, 2020

Highly practical content, focussing on how to use ArcGIS - toured many of the features and capabilities within this software as well as covering basic understanding of modern GIS. Assignments provided really good practical experience, they were well thought out and well explained.

By Annie K

Jul 6, 2021

By the end of the course, I felt like I have a solid understanding of the foundational GIS concepts. The videos and accompanying readings were just enough for the amount of information presented. I look forward to continuing the rest of the GIS series with Prof Santos. Thank you!

By Deleted A

Aug 7, 2016

This course is a good introduction for anyone beginning to work with GIS, because it starts from the very basics. The course has a great format and content; it's one of the best I've taken on Coursera. The tutorial assignments and project are great for practicing the concepts.

By Thanura H V

Jan 24, 2021

This helps me to engage in surfing knowledge regarding Arc GIS. The fundamentals were taught very clearly with friendly manner of the assignments. Thank you all for the contribution. Recommending others to do this course and will pave the way to create the passion to learn GIS.

By Keshav R

Apr 8, 2020

This one of the best course in Coursera in the field of Geographic Information System. The course materials are up to date and the instructor is also very qualified and his ways of teaching is awesome. I strongly recommend this course to everyone who are involved in this field.

By Talita N T

Aug 26, 2020

The course was very good for me! I have been working with GIS for many years and even so I learned some ArcMap functions that I didn't even know existed. Nick is super didactic and even those who do not have English with a native language can understand. Thanks for the course.

By James C

Apr 28, 2016

This course was perfect for just getting into GIS. I have taken a few entry level GIS courses and the videos / practical application that this course provided was some of the easiest to comprehend. Thank you for all of the material and I'm looking forward to my next class!

By Douglas B

Dec 21, 2020

It is an extremely well-designed course that shows much thought.

I have a couple of suggestions for Nick Santos. As my advisor repeatedly stressed DATA ARE PLURAL. I cringe every time you say the data is.

You move your arms too much when speaking. It is a distraction.

By Cristian R V K

Apr 10, 2018

Excellent course. The lessons were clear. The progression system is on point. The assignments were well designed and really got me motivated to continue. Highly recommend it to anyone. Definitely taking on the second course of the series. Thanks to the team behind this.