Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of GIS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of GIS by University of California, Davis

4.8
stars
4,143 ratings
1,255 reviews

About the Course

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Top reviews

VM

Oct 05, 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

BJ

Dec 28, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 1,217 Reviews for Fundamentals of GIS

By Danae R

Mar 15, 2017

Really clear instruction at the appropriate level, useful and clearly written assignments. Would highly recommend.

By Leo T

Oct 07, 2017

Excellent overview; well structured assignments; and appropriate level of challenge in the final graded exercise.

By Diego A C S

Jun 26, 2020

muy buen curso toca diferentes temas basicos sobre los ssitemas de informacion geografica que son indispensables

By Nur M

Apr 18, 2020

Very much essential course for those who are trying to learn GIS as a academic as well as professional purpose .

By Ferran O

Aug 13, 2020

Nice to follow. Good explanations from the teacher Nick. A good introduction to ArcGIS and geospatial software.

By Sultan

Mar 14, 2017

Great course, especially the assignments are absolutely awesome as they walk you through every step of the day.

By Simran R

Aug 04, 2020

It was a great learning experience. Getting acquainted with completely new topic. the course is very relevant.

By Arcanjo A

Feb 08, 2020

Excellent content and deliver. I don't have a background in geography and the course gave a strong foundations

By Hani A E E

Jan 28, 2020

I offer you the most beautiful meanings of thanks for your knowledge, and I really appreciate your dear effort

By Alexa C

Sep 17, 2019

The examples are close to real-life situations, the teacher is easy to follow, information is well structured.

By Ernesto N S

Nov 29, 2016

Extraordinary material. Very well taught and gives you a very strong tour on Arcmap. Basics very well covered.

By Hugo S R

Jun 28, 2016

Great introduction. It provides a great tool that will enable you to present clear and very intuitive results.

By Euijin J

Jun 15, 2020

This is the best class if you are new to GIS and want to learn the key features of it. I highly recommend it!

By Mohammad N K N

Jan 16, 2020

I learnt so many things in this course. now i am able to run arcgis ,at the last i will say thanks coursera

By Lisa M S

Sep 11, 2017

This course was easy to follow and did an excellent job explaining the basics of GIS use and ArcGIS software.

By Paul E

Aug 21, 2016

An excellent introduction to ArcGIS that builds up to a clear goal of producing professional maps for export.

By Anupadma

May 15, 2020

Thats really enjoyable to attend this course. i really had an handson the archGIS. Gave me lot of confidence

By cody d

Nov 30, 2017

Great class, easy to follow and thorough instructions. Highly recommend to anyone of any skill level in GIS.

By Jan R

Jun 30, 2016

Great course for beginners but also a great refresher for those who haven't used GIS in a while like myself.

By Eliza H

Mar 19, 2020

I loved this course. It was fun and manageable with my 40 hour work weeks and around my general life needs!

By Nicole O

Feb 08, 2020

Great introduction to the basics of GIS and ArcGIS. I enjoyed having projects with a practical application.

By Joe G

Jul 05, 2017

Really good introduction to GIS.. easy to follow, clear material and engaging content. Very well presented.

By Ravinder V

May 04, 2016

Thank you Nick! Yes I watched all your lectures and did all the quizzes and the assignments just for fun :)

By Muhammad N

Sep 15, 2020

It is an excellent course for GIS beginners. The course is well designed and specially the tutor is great.

By Alexander C T

Aug 19, 2020

Is a great course, contain all the basics of GIS and is very usefull because teach about the use of ArcGIS