Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of GIS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of GIS by University of California, Davis

4.8
stars
4,332 ratings
1,327 reviews

About the Course

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Top reviews

VM
Oct 4, 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

BJ
Dec 27, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 1,288 Reviews for Fundamentals of GIS

By Luis C B P

Mar 20, 2017

Very practical and helpful. And if you want to dig deeper there are a lot of extra resources to look into.

By Bikash S

Feb 22, 2020

A very thorough course. Learned a lot, basic and some useful stuff. Very good instructor and assignments.

By Stephen O

Jul 23, 2019

Excellent course which has greatly improved my knowledge and usage of GIS. Thanks to Coursera and UCDavis

By Uyen T

Jan 7, 2019

It's really practical and easy to follow the instruction. Highly recommended for newbies (like myself) :)

By Shannon S

Jan 5, 2019

Very informative. Good assignments which make you review and use the things you learnt during the course.

By Prithwish R

Aug 24, 2017

this course is very good. it has good course materials, all the video provided and is very to understand.

By Samantha A S

Jan 27, 2017

Great foundational information! An excellent entry into GIS using professional tools. Highly recommended.

By Kira

Oct 20, 2020

Well structured and accessible! This course was a great intro to GIS and how to use the ArcGIS software.

By Garvin D

Sep 27, 2020

Very informative!!! Very simple!!! Great for practically anyone, you don't even need a GIS background...

By Roberto R

Jun 28, 2020

basic fundamentals to enter the world of GIS with the Arcgis program

excellent practical and functional

By Nicholas M

Jun 16, 2020

Great introduction to GIS. Makes you want to continue with the learning and complete the specialisation.

By Rifat A F

May 23, 2020

It was an awesome course... i enjoyed learning very much... and looking forward to learn something more.

By Lina M S T

Feb 8, 2018

Really good course, lots of topics but i learned them pretty well thanks to Nick, he is a great teacher.

By Boitshoko B

Mar 5, 2019

It was helpful, I've learnt a lot of new things and I believe that my confidence level is up a notch:)

By David F

Jul 27, 2018

Really enjoyed this course. Clear and informative tutorials and challenging but achievable assessments.

By Albert J

Feb 27, 2018

This course was organized well and presented clearly. The instructor was both informative and animated.

By Martin K

Mar 24, 2016

Appreciated the lectures and the assignments made it possible to gain confidence in using the software.

By Beatrice M W X

Aug 27, 2020

It is a good platform to learn about fundamental of GIS. Thank you very much for the knowledge shared.

By Barak G

Jun 6, 2020

I think total number of reviewers per each submitted assignment should be more than 2 ppl. 3 at least.

By samir b b

May 4, 2020

Very detailed and with a great amount of information for the students to understand the basics of GIS.

By Melissa T

Apr 12, 2019

Very helpful way to get a basic understanding of GIS and to kick start the specialization certificate.

By Ratan D

Aug 9, 2018

Very Nice course. The prof. explains the concepts very well. I am feeling very happy with this course.

By Andrew E

Mar 13, 2018

Very good discussion of the basic terms and concepts of GIS as well on its the real life applications.

By Sandeep K

Aug 26, 2017

The course was very productive. Now I am familiar with ArcMap software and thanks for the license too.

By Francisco R S A

Jun 8, 2017

Es una buena opción para comenzar con el software de Gis para aquellos que no tienen mucha experiencia