Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of GIS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of GIS by University of California, Davis

4.8
stars
4,626 ratings
1,436 reviews

About the Course

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Top reviews

A
May 16, 2021

GREAT COURSE TO JUMPSTART FOR ANY NEW LEARNERS IN THE FIELD OF GIS. It is extremely helpful to learn the basics & the projects help any new learners to understand what kind of work is done in ArcGIS.

VM
Oct 4, 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 1,399 Reviews for Fundamentals of GIS

By tanzila s

Jun 21, 2020

I am happy because of coursera because it gave me opportunity to learn worldwide to refine my skills.

By Biraj A

Feb 2, 2020

Very good introductory course. I'm excited to start with the following courser of the specialization.

By Peter A M V

Dec 4, 2019

Este curso es una excelente opción para poder empezar tu formación profesional en el área de los GIS.

By Fabricio A C

Apr 13, 2019

Excellent ! Very well structured, many important tools to star analyzing geographic information data.

By JERRY W

Jul 16, 2018

This is a great concept and I am proud and privileged to learn from Coursera and UC Davis. Thank you.

By Syeda N F Z

Apr 26, 2019

The course was very well designed and focused on in-depth understanding of basic concepts of ArcGIS.

By Lily D

Feb 8, 2018

This is a great beginner course in GIS. The class was fun and the instructions were easy to follow.

By Sebastián N

Aug 12, 2017

Great course, great instructor, very well explained, quizes and assgnments relevant with the course.

By Agilan P

Jul 24, 2021

Thanks a lot for the course and the training part is excellent . Thanks a lot for instructor Nick .

By Carlos O M R

Oct 26, 2020

excellent content and very practical while acquiring the recommended book generates deep knowledge.

By Kousar J

May 18, 2020

learning experience was good ,teaching stratergie is different....i gain knowledge from this course

By Dina J

May 11, 2020

Excellent, Nick Santos explains very well, very nice examples, easy following and very interesting!

By Santiago M

May 10, 2020

One of the best beginners course for GIS. Had a lot of fun and lost the fear of manipulating ArcGIS

By Michael M

Jul 20, 2019

Well presented and easy to understand. Completing this course gives one a working knowledge of GIS.

By Daniyar

Dec 12, 2016

Awesome course, good explanations. Spatial join does the magic! Great, loved it, kept me motivated.

By Dominique B

Apr 25, 2020

Interesting, easy to follow, well structured. Will be back for the next few courses after a break.

By Abdelmoniem R

Feb 21, 2020

this course is suitable for any person he dint have any knowledge of gis very simply and effective

By Dmitrijs M

Feb 13, 2020

Very useful information for beginners, it's great first step to start GIS career. Thanks Coursera!

By Nishant b

Jul 7, 2019

A wonderful course for getting started into world of GIS. Thank you Coursera, UC Davis,Nick Santos

By Mohammed Y

Sep 28, 2016

I never thought, that we can make use of GIS in many different ways. This course is an eye opener.

By Priya G

Apr 15, 2020

I learned so much! The professor is great and clearly very passionate. He makes ArcGIS feel easy!

By Matthew S

Jan 22, 2020

Very good introduction to GIS that challenged me to work hands-on with data and spatial analysis.

By Farhan Z

Jul 14, 2019

I have learned the basic skills of GIS software which are gonna very helpful in my future career.

By Balaji V

Jan 10, 2019

Very useful and well presented. Thank you Nick and Coursera team.

Warm Regards,

Balaji

Mysore, India

By frank k

Mar 18, 2019

Great course. Instructions are clear really good if you need to learn the Fundamentals about GIS