Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of GIS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of GIS by University of California, Davis

4.8
stars
4,589 ratings
1,421 reviews

About the Course

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Top reviews

A
May 16, 2021

GREAT COURSE TO JUMPSTART FOR ANY NEW LEARNERS IN THE FIELD OF GIS. It is extremely helpful to learn the basics & the projects help any new learners to understand what kind of work is done in ArcGIS.

VM
Oct 4, 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

Filter by:

1276 - 1300 of 1,379 Reviews for Fundamentals of GIS

By Marjan D

Jun 24, 2020

Fundamentals of GIS is an interesting course where computing and geography are combined. I did find it a bit hard, and ArcMap was crashing all the time though.

By Modou M

Mar 28, 2016

you should consider issues to upload 54Mo data during peer review grading of last assignment.

so this course was informative and well structured.

thanks a lot

By Nancy V W

Jun 25, 2017

After taking this first course, I had acquired basic skills that I was able to apply immediately in my work. Would highly recommend this course.

By Hema P

Jun 13, 2016

Excellent course, well-explained and complete! It does need a lot of focus and practice to actually understand and master what's going on there.

By Ebenezer O

Nov 21, 2017

Very good course, it helped me to understand the very basic of GIS, and the Instructor is so good, He makes it easy to follow and understand

By Patrick R

Jun 28, 2016

Good introduction, also for beginners.

I found it rather easy, but maybe getting more complex with the further courses in the specialisation.

By Angelica N

Mar 15, 2016

I like the class. But It will be most useful if the student can use the same data than the instructor and follow instruction step by step.

By kenjitomari

May 25, 2017

A pretty decent introduction to ArcGIS. I have no complaints about the material! However, as an online course, it is a little boring.

By Sathish K

Jul 24, 2020

This course contains complete packages of basics in GIS. I am Remote Sensing student i learned the basics which is useful for me.

By Jianyuan N

Apr 25, 2016

Really good for beginners and if this course have more detailed instruction of final assignment, I would like to give five stars.

By MANOJ K S

Jun 25, 2020

One of the best platform to utilize free time and gain something very meaningful.

This course gave me bright insight about GIS.

By Ibeneme S U

Jan 12, 2020

Beautiful course... Well detailed for ease of learning... Would need updating as course materials were prepared some years back

By Bruce S

Jul 26, 2020

Good course. My only issue was how buggy it got when i reset my deadlines. other than that I really enjoyed the content.

By Brandon W

Jun 16, 2020

Great course overall, learned a ton! Only thing that was slow and slightly inaccurate was the peer grading.

By Akhil C

Nov 7, 2017

This course was a great learning and as an urban planner, this course really help me a lot in my profession

By AHMED W

Jan 5, 2018

A great training course I have benefited a lot and enjoyed it a lot, but I met some language constraints

By Miguel F

Apr 18, 2017

Very good introduction! I only miss more examples of urban/regional planning or transportation networks.

By Humaira A

Jun 14, 2020

Course was so good.I can get a basic of gis from this course.But the reviewer was not perfectly good.

By Rafia N K B

Apr 25, 2020

It's quite operational and helpful while using the tool and the explanations were also very workable.

By Sergio E T

Oct 3, 2016

Good teaching methods. Convenient for starting to get to know GIS software and sharing your map data.

By Nada A S

Jul 18, 2020

I learned many skills as it was a fun and informative course that helps me in my work environment

By Deborah U

Apr 7, 2020

Excelente metodología, muy bien el relator, solo no me gusto la forma de calificar la tarea final

By Ricardo T E d A

Jan 9, 2018

Very good introduction to the ArcGIS environment and with great resources and relevant exercises.

By Nicole C

Jan 29, 2017

This class was very beneficial and well-organized. Thank you for all of the valuable information!

By Mac Y M

Nov 10, 2016

This is the best course; The teacher explains very well.

It`s too easy to understand his lessons.