Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of GIS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of GIS by University of California, Davis

4.8
stars
4,756 ratings
1,482 reviews

About the Course

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Top reviews

A
May 16, 2021

GREAT COURSE TO JUMPSTART FOR ANY NEW LEARNERS IN THE FIELD OF GIS. It is extremely helpful to learn the basics & the projects help any new learners to understand what kind of work is done in ArcGIS.

VM
Oct 4, 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

Filter by:

1351 - 1375 of 1,445 Reviews for Fundamentals of GIS

By Bruce S

Jul 26, 2020

Good course. My only issue was how buggy it got when i reset my deadlines. other than that I really enjoyed the content.

By Brandon W

Jun 16, 2020

Great course overall, learned a ton! Only thing that was slow and slightly inaccurate was the peer grading.

By Akhil C

Nov 7, 2017

This course was a great learning and as an urban planner, this course really help me a lot in my profession

By MODERN G

Jan 5, 2018

A great training course I have benefited a lot and enjoyed it a lot, but I met some language constraints

By Miguel F

Apr 18, 2017

Very good introduction! I only miss more examples of urban/regional planning or transportation networks.

By Humaira A

Jun 14, 2020

Course was so good.I can get a basic of gis from this course.But the reviewer was not perfectly good.

By Rafia N K B

Apr 25, 2020

It's quite operational and helpful while using the tool and the explanations were also very workable.

By Sergio E

Oct 3, 2016

Good teaching methods. Convenient for starting to get to know GIS software and sharing your map data.

By Nada A S

Jul 18, 2020

I learned many skills as it was a fun and informative course that helps me in my work environment

By Deborah U

Apr 7, 2020

Excelente metodología, muy bien el relator, solo no me gusto la forma de calificar la tarea final

By Ricardo T E d A

Jan 9, 2018

Very good introduction to the ArcGIS environment and with great resources and relevant exercises.

By Nicole C

Jan 29, 2017

This class was very beneficial and well-organized. Thank you for all of the valuable information!

By Mac Y M

Nov 10, 2016

This is the best course; The teacher explains very well.

It`s too easy to understand his lessons.

By Angela F

Jun 28, 2016

I really love the course but I dont understand whether this part of the course is free or is not.

By James S

Apr 16, 2020

I would have liked a more in-depth description of how to go about performing spatial joins.

By Sidi I

Jul 28, 2021

Is it possible to correct the final exams for each course and send them to the students?

By Erick B

May 5, 2017

Awesome organisation for WEB-based learning that helps keeps one focussed and on track

By EHAB F M T

May 7, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and its agenda and way of learning and learned a lot

By Sehubo A

Oct 5, 2016

Great hands-on exercises to boost understanding and develop required skills...

By Rheaa P

Aug 10, 2020

It gave good knowledge of the basics needed in GIS,different terms,tools etc.

By Mauricio L F

Aug 13, 2016

Cómo estudiante no pude cordinarme al curso, por el contenido que manejaban

By Carlos R

Mar 1, 2018

Great introduction course, final exercise could've been more challenging.

By Cherie C

Sep 13, 2019

Very informative, detailed and well-organized course. Thank you NICK!!!

By Karel L H

May 23, 2020

I really like the link between theory and practicals. Really hands-on.

By Michael F

Jan 27, 2018

A nice ease-in to terminology and the general environment for users.