Chevron Left
Back to Global Diplomacy: the United Nations in the World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Global Diplomacy: the United Nations in the World by University of London

4.7
stars
1,107 ratings
381 reviews

About the Course

The course offers a well-researched and broad-ranging primer to the United Nations system. Consisting of an introduction to the complex UN family and its history, and a series of ‘snapshots’ of key UN functions, which are used to explore important UN themes and help learners develop important analysis, communication, and policy-based skills. The course is aimed broadly at people interested in learning more about the United Nations system, assuming a level of interest but no necessary previous knowledge, whilst also offering offering sufficient up to date research and new critical perspectives that it will also be of interest to people with more expertise or academic familiarity with the topic as well. The main aim of the course is to provide this wide-ranging introduction in a self-contained, but in-depth form, alongside the important practical skills necessary to understand and discuss UN affairs, and potentially lay the groundwork for greater engagement in future – either in civil society or in further study....

Top reviews

RR
Jul 29, 2020

Really enjoyed the course. Some of the recommended reading was no longer accessible and the material was not up to date to 2020. However, it gave a good introduction to the UN and the issues involved.

AF
Dec 6, 2018

It was very interesting to get to know better about the UN structure and concepts, and it helped me a lot to get my first opportunity in an UN mission! Starting a new career. Thank you so much.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 381 Reviews for Global Diplomacy: the United Nations in the World

By Psymon P

Jul 14, 2020

A number of the links and resources are out of date or broken.

By Paulina H

May 29, 2020

Very good reading materials. The videos lectures were boring.

By faizan

Jul 2, 2020

Great reading material provided. Overall, a good experience.

By Tianfu Y

Aug 24, 2019

It's a good course to get overview on the world order.

By Michelle M

Apr 20, 2021

Good course, could have been a little more longer.

By Malik A Y K

Sep 5, 2020

A nice attempt to teaching the ins and outs of UN.

By Carla L F V

May 24, 2020

very complete course! i love it

By Suhavi A

Jul 3, 2017

Its a very informative course.

By Sultan-Al N H

May 20, 2020

A informative course

By Shruti S

Sep 6, 2019

Great start

By RAY A J

Sep 15, 2019

EXCELLENT

By Elina M

Jan 10, 2020

This course is excellent in order to obtain a global understanding of the UN system. However, I would appreciate more insights and guidance from the editors (or University) as majority of the content is a compilation of articles and other documents from external sources to be read by the applicant and to be summarize. It would be even more interesting to have a more structured and much more comments and information on the content that we read. Nevertheless, for sure, the reading and writing exercises are already a good manner to grasp some historical background and contemporary problematics.

By Naomi G

Jul 7, 2020

The course covered many interesting issues, and I have a greater understanding of the UN system having completed it. The speakers in the videos were excellent and informative. However, several of the links did not work, and the course relied on reading external material, not all of which seemed wholly relevant to the assignment. It would be more engaging to perhaps have more material taught through videos or course-specific material, rather than other sources.

By Elena T U

Mar 30, 2021

Expected way more from this course... The University of London only provided 5-minute videos including short excerpts of experts' opinion but other than that it was simply links to articles and Youtube videos I could have easily searched and read by myself... I expected more engaging and time-consuming assignments. Maybe including a test type of assignment would help students focus on the content of the course better.

By Amir H D

Jul 7, 2020

This course provides some sources on the topics it offers on the United Nations. Not so much academic learning or innovative ways to teach the subjects. moreover, many links are inaccessible and need to be updated. One more thing, there is no plan offered here to engage the students more into the topics and few conversations take place among the students and the instructors.

By Elora E

Oct 5, 2020

Its nice and gives a good overview. however, you don't have a teacher giving a lecture: there are short videos (5-10 minutes) of the university in the beginning of each week and a list of links. the material in general is nice but is a little old and a lot of the links don't work anymore.

By Avni

Mar 17, 2021

It is a good course for basic level knowledge. However, I recommend you rather go to the UN website and read it through and go to some other articles and read them. This will actually cover everything and more you will get to learn in this course.

By Sakura M

May 28, 2020

We can learn some knowledge about what's confronting the UN at present from the diverse points of view. It might be a little hard to summarize and analyze all information uploaded in an appropriate form when you hand in your submission.

By Jonathan G

Feb 4, 2018

Interesting course. However, the assignments were tedious and redundant. Might I suggest having one assignment at the end of the course. Also don't make a seventh module when it is optional! This court was a lot of work and exhausting.

By Jennifer S

Jun 1, 2020

I enjoyed this course however it is out of date; some links to videos/articles no longer exist and news articles are from 2015. Would be great if it was updated to reflect the world today.

By Eva B

Feb 11, 2018

though an interesting course, I believe the course content could be improved to answer in a more relevant way the issues raised. Still worth taking it but do not expect too much.

By Ananya A

May 31, 2020

Some of the reading material provided is outdated and not available to access on the websites, especially in Week 6

By P V B P V B

Aug 8, 2020

More content could be given as part of videos. More detailed explanation of the working of UN could have been made

By Lopamudra G

Apr 27, 2021

Coursera has opened up my viewpoint that has enabled me to see a completely new view of the United Nations.

By Ma. P F L

Jun 30, 2020

Would appreciate it if there are more videos not just readings