Chevron Left
Back to Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World by University of London

4.7
stars
3,525 ratings
1,043 reviews

About the Course

The Global Diplomacy course is a unique offering to the MOOC environment. Bringing together cutting edge research in the broad fields of Diplomatic and International Studies, award winning distance learning delivery and the instructors previous experience of delivering a successful MOOC. Please see the volume Global Diplomacy: Theories, Types and Models authored with Dr Alison Holmes, (Westview, 2016), and the Understanding Research Methods MOOC from Coursera. The Global Diplomacy MOOC has a direct heritage in the University of London International Academy/SOAS Global Diplomacy MA Programme launched in April 2013 which have attracted hundreds of students from around the world. The Global Diplomacy MA Programme is provided by the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy which has been teaching postgraduate courses in Diplomacy for over twenty five years. After completing the 'Global Diplomacy' MOOC, learners will have: 1. The ability to demonstrate a critical understanding of the nature and development of global diplomacy, drawing on a variety of relevant contributing disciplines in the broad field of International Studies. 2. An understanding of changes in diplomatic practices and procedures and the relationship of those changes to contemporary politics. 3. A sound grounding in both theoretical and empirical approaches to debates in diplomacy so that students have been exposed to the and skills needed to analyse global diplomacy. 4. knowledge of issues in global diplomacy in historical and contemporary contexts....

Top reviews

SS
May 28, 2020

Great course. I had a general interest in diplomacy and wanted a little taste of what it was, this course has provided me just that. It has amazing resources to help enhance our knowledge of diplomacy

TR
May 1, 2020

Absolutely incredible course in diplomacy that gives you a perfect glimpse of understanding how diplomacy works in practice and what achievements you need to posses in order to become a good diplomat.

Filter by:

1001 - 1025 of 1,027 Reviews for Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

By Razieh M N

Apr 8, 2020

In comparison with other courses that I have passed, this course was inferior from the material and discussion perspective.

By SAI P

Aug 30, 2019

Short and crispy.

It tells us about the functions, qualities and scope of Diplomacy in Modern World

By Marina A M

Sep 21, 2018

Interesting yet far simpler than expected. I would recommend having more course materials.

By Md. F R

May 13, 2020

It is very important of all level of people.and concern about world politics.

By Shawnna R T

Jun 10, 2016

It was a great experience! Definitely gained more knowledge about diplomacy.

By Roeland H

Jul 17, 2017

Nice introduction but very general, could have done with more depth.

By peter o

Jan 14, 2018

It was a good introduction but felt kind of shallow.

By Rajan K

Jun 9, 2020

How can I get certificate? is not if free?

By Ian G

Jul 26, 2018

Pretty good, but very easy.

By Steephen

May 9, 2020

Good to start with.

By Raul R M

Jul 3, 2017

Good.

By Krishan

Jul 7, 2020

I insist there be added a few quizes on the reading material. It has been given no weightage at all.

This course seems like a compilation of perspectives on diplomacy-success,failures and the worth of trust, by various professors and a few luminaries.

More qualitative content can be added I feel, because the people who speak do not seem to be prepared and speak ad lib. This is however good since what then would come out would be from the deepest recesses of their valuable experiences and stuff. But this is a course on diplomacy. People must walk out of having become better at diplomatic skills.

A little focus has to be given to developing that.

A portion of international history would also be helpful since all speakers talk about so many important agreements yet there is no content available from the course on all that. Yeah we can google it out but I think there can be a more narrativity in the interview like environment that the course teacher creates for the interviewees.

Thank you for the compilation!

By Kollin R

Sep 30, 2016

The lectures were not very interesting or instructive. The reading materials were much more so. However, the assignments in the class were based much more on the lectures and on self-reflection than on the materials. I learned a little bit, and as such found the course worth the time I put into it, but I almost think one could get through this course with little difficulty without reading any of the written materials, and thus derive very little benefit from it. I would encourage the makers of this course to do a significant revamping.

(In addition to greater incorporation and emphasis on the written materials, I think more real-life examples of diplomatic successes and failures would be a far more effective and entertaining use of the lecture time than the esoteric philosophising that seems to characterize it in this edition.)

By Koh X W

Dec 9, 2020

While I appreciated that there are many distinguished speakers that shared their unique insights every week, I find that it is rather conversational without much learning points for us. We are also graded based on peer review, and sometimes other classmates do not give the minimum feedback of 50 words and the review may also be uninformative and unproductive to learning, which is unhelpful to the essay we craft for every assignment. The topics are also rather entry-level and provided little insight about contemporary situation and the evolving issues surrounding diplomacy. Overall it lacks the depth, breadth and rigour that I would like to have experience in this course.

By SHASANK V

Jul 11, 2020

The course is average till the fifth module, the fifth module was too long with almost 15 short videos asking the same question " what is diplomacy according to them" and next question is what is successful and unsuccessful diplomacy. I can say is a very basic course and to be very straight i do not recommend this course.

They should remove the fifth module and add some interesting videos about diplomacy.

By Paula P

Jul 30, 2020

Extremadamente introductorio y mediocre. Cero participación de los docentes, todos hombres, quienes a lo más compartían un video de 5 minutos a la semana, lecturas desfasadas y absolutamente ninguna comunicación con docentes encargados. Recomendado para estudiantes de escuelas secundarias, mas no para profesionales tratando de incursionar en el campo de la diplomacia.

By Donovon K

Jun 9, 2017

Although the interviews were interesting, I had expected much more from this course. It was not academically rigorous at all and I can't say I learned very much at all at the end of the course.

By SC H

Oct 10, 2016

Not as advanced as other Coursera courses, this course if for participants who do not have any background in international relations and diplomacy. Wish they would have made it more advanced.

By Jonathan G

Sep 23, 2017

This course was long, tedious and boring. Although some aspects were interesting, a lot of it was redundant. Way too many written assignments.

By Joe S

Feb 3, 2021

Very little information shared

By Mi N

Sep 1, 2020

I do not want to sound mean, the interviews were interesting but the course did not feel engaging for me, I felt like doing it because it was short and I already had started, but it does not get deeper in any subject, the reading are too long or the link doesn't work...

By Ellen W

Sep 15, 2020

Very poor course, nothing to learn from here. It virtually doesn't contain any videos and only contain some suggested readings which are too academic and difficult to understand without previous background.

By Nick T

Oct 22, 2021

Lecturer puts little effort in structuring or even providing educational materials. Few articles written by the wise does not cut the cheese.

By P V M

May 19, 2020

It was really wonderful .I had a wonderful experience and learned more about the global diplomacy and it's functions and many more

By SUNDAY O

Sep 21, 2019

Very fantastic course related to my field of International Relations