Chevron Left
Back to Politics and Economics of International Energy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Politics and Economics of International Energy by Sciences Po

4.7
981 ratings
235 reviews

About the Course

Energy issues have always been important in international relations, but in recent years may have become even more important than in the past due to the widespread awareness of existing limits to energy sources and negative climate impacts. The course discusses global trends in energy consumption and production, various available scenarios for potential developments in the coming decades, the availability of oil reserves and the evolution of the oil industry. It then discusses natural gas and highlights the differences between oil and gas. It will also discuss renewable energy sources, nuclear energy and EU energy policy. The course aims at providing students whose main interest is in international relations a background on energy resources, technology and economic realities to allow them to correctly interpret the political impact of current developments. It also aims at providing students, who already have a technical background in energy science or engineering, with the broad global view of energy issues that will allow them to better understand the social, economic and political impact of their technical knowledge. ABOUT THE INSTRUCTOR : Giacomo Luciani Scientific Advisor for the Master in International Energy at the Paris School of International Affairs (PSIA) Sciences Po, Giacomo Luciani is also Adjunct Professor at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva and Director of the Executive Master in International Oil and Gas Leadership. For the period 2010-13 he was appointed Princeton University Global Scholar, attached to the Woodrow Wilson School and the Department of Near Eastern Studies. His research focuses on the political economy of the Middle East and North Africa and on global energy issues. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND : The course requires no special scientific, mathematical or economic background; all key concepts are clearly and elementarily explained. It is expected that it will be of interest to undergraduate and graduate students in schools where an equivalent course is not offered (this being the case for the vast majority of schools). USPC Sorbonne Paris Cité Supported by Université Sorbonne Paris Cité IDEX Investissements d'Avenir Funded by Investissements d'Avenir - 'ANR. Info : Course content : Licence Creative Commons BY NC SA...

Top reviews

DP

Sep 11, 2016

Excellent delivery.\n\nFantastic external sources with clear and precise explanations from a graphical viewpoint.\n\nGreat range of industry expertise and professionals within the appropriate fields.

RJ

Aug 03, 2017

With this course I have been able to better understand the role of energy in the development of the countries, and in a clear and simple way I have managed to understand how renewable energies work.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 230 Reviews for Politics and Economics of International Energy

By Sabera P

Dec 26, 2017

Fantastic course. I have worked in the oil and gas sector but this course enlightened me so much more about energy. I have a much higher appreciation for energy policies, subsidies and the like. Well worth the time.

By Huw T

Feb 09, 2017

Absolutely wonderful. I learned a huge amount and Giacomo was a very friendly and helpful teacher.

By Thomas D W

Feb 04, 2017

This course was awesome! I love energy and the economics of energy and I still learnt so much! :)

By Lucian B

Mar 07, 2017

Very good course for persons interested in the energy sector, explaining the basic facts surrounding energy sources. Could do with more insight in how the energy prices are computed and how they are influenced by lots of factors

By Liangliang X

Sep 27, 2016

Very informative course. The lecturer has profound knowledge about energy and politics not only in EU but also around the globe! Highly recommend it!

By Pedro B A

Jul 05, 2018

A very comprehensive, relevant and up to date course. Well done!

By Antoine D

Aug 02, 2017

Super interesting course, I realy enjoy it, thanks Giacomo and all Sciences Po staff.

By Siddartha R K

May 20, 2017

I love this course

By Moath A

Jul 08, 2016

I have amazing overview about the subjected course, thank you

By Maxime L

Jul 28, 2016

Great course Useful information, especially in the oil and gas sector.

By Andrius Z

Jul 25, 2017

very interesting introduction course on energy economics and politics.

By Amnuaysak T

Oct 15, 2017

Professor Giacomo LUCIANI is very knowledgeable in this field and he has ability to present the topics in an easy and understandable way. We learnt this course with full understanding of the course content.

The course content is very good. It covers the basic topics that one should know about the issue so that they can use it being the stepping stone to search for deeper and specific relevant information/knowledge.

Thank you very much for your contribution.

By Romel E T J

Aug 03, 2017

With this course I have been able to better understand the role of energy in the development of the countries, and in a clear and simple way I have managed to understand how renewable energies work.

By Nething

Aug 28, 2016

This MOOC is a great introduction to International Energy, with all the necessary basics to understand the field.

By Enrique A

Jun 20, 2017

Very organized, instructive and well presented course. Excellent base for people who want to go deeper in any of the topics of the class. Highly recommended.

By Ines W

May 30, 2016

It is very interesting. I gain a fundamental understanding of different resources of energy sources and linkages to world economy

By Erh-yun H

Sep 14, 2017

It was such a good course.

By Rohan S

Jan 26, 2017

Excellent materal and examples

By Balachander C

Sep 07, 2017

Extremely interesting course. Was glued to the course. Finished the course in 2 weeks. Because this was so interesting.

By Marinos C

Nov 25, 2016

Excellent course. Especially in understanding the gas politics in Europe. I would recommend that more ephasis is given on the politics of oil as well.

By Javier D G G

May 31, 2017

Excellent content

By Jérôme A

Oct 21, 2017

The course is very interesting and accessible. Anyone can follow it and learn a lot from an unbiased source with different point of views.

By Paul M

Nov 13, 2016

Excellent snapshot of today energy market and future orientation

By David P

Sep 11, 2016

Excellent delivery.

Fantastic external sources with clear and precise explanations from a graphical viewpoint.

Great range of industry expertise and professionals within the appropriate fields.

By Luis N

Aug 18, 2016

Excellent course.