Chevron Left
Back to Politics and Economics of International Energy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Politics and Economics of International Energy by Sciences Po

4.7
987 ratings
237 reviews

About the Course

Energy issues have always been important in international relations, but in recent years may have become even more important than in the past due to the widespread awareness of existing limits to energy sources and negative climate impacts. The course discusses global trends in energy consumption and production, various available scenarios for potential developments in the coming decades, the availability of oil reserves and the evolution of the oil industry. It then discusses natural gas and highlights the differences between oil and gas. It will also discuss renewable energy sources, nuclear energy and EU energy policy. The course aims at providing students whose main interest is in international relations a background on energy resources, technology and economic realities to allow them to correctly interpret the political impact of current developments. It also aims at providing students, who already have a technical background in energy science or engineering, with the broad global view of energy issues that will allow them to better understand the social, economic and political impact of their technical knowledge. ABOUT THE INSTRUCTOR : Giacomo Luciani Scientific Advisor for the Master in International Energy at the Paris School of International Affairs (PSIA) Sciences Po, Giacomo Luciani is also Adjunct Professor at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva and Director of the Executive Master in International Oil and Gas Leadership. For the period 2010-13 he was appointed Princeton University Global Scholar, attached to the Woodrow Wilson School and the Department of Near Eastern Studies. His research focuses on the political economy of the Middle East and North Africa and on global energy issues. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND : The course requires no special scientific, mathematical or economic background; all key concepts are clearly and elementarily explained. It is expected that it will be of interest to undergraduate and graduate students in schools where an equivalent course is not offered (this being the case for the vast majority of schools). USPC Sorbonne Paris Cité Supported by Université Sorbonne Paris Cité IDEX Investissements d'Avenir Funded by Investissements d'Avenir - 'ANR. Info : Course content : Licence Creative Commons BY NC SA...

Top reviews

DP

Sep 11, 2016

Excellent delivery.\n\nFantastic external sources with clear and precise explanations from a graphical viewpoint.\n\nGreat range of industry expertise and professionals within the appropriate fields.

RJ

Aug 03, 2017

With this course I have been able to better understand the role of energy in the development of the countries, and in a clear and simple way I have managed to understand how renewable energies work.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 232 Reviews for Politics and Economics of International Energy

By Juliana C

May 23, 2018

Very interesting course, although you might research for updated data and current situation (since the course was created few years back).

By Chantal R

Oct 22, 2017

Excellent course. I found the information to be from a wide variety of reputable sources.

By Stéphane P

Sep 11, 2017

great. very interesting A updated course could be even better.

By Javier E

Jan 15, 2018

Mr Luciani is a great lecturer. Moreover, information furnished shows an interesting variety and flavor on the topic.

Best Regards

By Valentin W

Sep 12, 2017

Excellent introduction to a complicated topic. As energy is one of the most important topics of international relations, taking this course also allows for a larger understanding of current geopolitical conflicts.

By Мусин Д Р

Oct 10, 2017

Very interesting course:)

By Lionel P

Mar 28, 2018

Good introduction to politics and economics of international energy

By Gabriel L

Jul 22, 2018

It was one of the best course I ever had! It helped me to widely understand the dynamics related to geopolitics, strategies and tactics decided by states to achieve results in the energy sector. On the other hand, it gave me a good range of specific knowledge regarding different resources and types of technologies used.

By Ayas S

Sep 12, 2018

This course was truly amazing with all the interview and resources discussed and in discussing the fundamentals of energy systems, economics and policies. I highly recommend taking it and a lot of thanks to the staff behind it.

By mohammadamin_nejat

Sep 21, 2018

Thank you Giacomo luciani I learned allot of things of you furthermore I believe that this course was the best course about energy.

By Mukul P

Aug 17, 2018

Loved the course. It got a bit technical, and being from India, I wasn't too keen on understanding the European Policies. But, apart from that, very enlightening experience. Have already recommended it to a few people.

By Mauricio V

Nov 12, 2018

Excellent course, i was wondering if there is a possibility to become this course into a specialization. I learned a lot of issues about politics and economics that I didn't know.

By ALBERTO R F M

Sep 23, 2018

the discussions with professors of the department where very informative

By Charles B

May 10, 2019

Simple and straight the point, it totally deserves an update !

By Mustapha M

Apr 26, 2019

Thank you for this very passionate and rewarding course!

By SHUBHRANSHU S

Jun 20, 2019

The course gave very interesting perspectives, both technological & geopolitical, about energy worldwide. It has fuelled my appetite to explore more about various facets of energy domain.

By Cassandra O

Jun 27, 2019

The content of the course was rich and very relevant

By Stefan R

May 25, 2019

I loved the course. Very detailed, but gave an overall view of the different energy supplies, and international relations which come with it.

I recommend this course to everybody who has even the slightest interest of energy supply!

By Gianluca G

May 16, 2019

Very well structured and taught MOOC. Highly interesting and provides a very good introduction to Politics and Economics of International Energy. The guest interviews were an adequate supplement to the video lectures. The only drawback is that some of the external links to videos and articles didn't work. Overall, highly recommendable!

By Teodora C

May 17, 2019

Very insightful! Technical when needed, but always accessible.

By Zulfiqar A

May 19, 2019

One of the best course you can take online in the field of International Energy.

The course is very thorough, it covers most of the aspects of International energy. Specifically, you get to know more of the European energy market and its dynamics.

Highly recommended for those who want an insight into global energy markets, more specific to European markets.

By eliana a

Jun 11, 2019

Excellent course. I learnt so much about other kind of energy sources, Geopolitics and trading

By Asylzhan

Aug 06, 2019

:)

By Samantha C M M

May 08, 2019

This course is great! I think it recapitulates the most important aspects of how energy works internationally in a well-structured course which is easy to follow and enjoyable.

I would definitely recommend it to people who are introducing themselves on the subject.

By Sweta K B

Aug 23, 2019

Wonderful Course and well structured. Talks in depth about the various energy forms that we have globally.