Chevron Left
Back to Politics and Economics of International Energy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Politics and Economics of International Energy by Sciences Po

4.7
stars
1,389 ratings
354 reviews

About the Course

Energy issues have always been important in international relations, but in recent years may have become even more important than in the past due to the widespread awareness of existing limits to energy sources and negative climate impacts. The course discusses global trends in energy consumption and production, various available scenarios for potential developments in the coming decades, the availability of oil reserves and the evolution of the oil industry. It then discusses natural gas and highlights the differences between oil and gas. It will also discuss renewable energy sources, nuclear energy and EU energy policy. The course aims at providing students whose main interest is in international relations a background on energy resources, technology and economic realities to allow them to correctly interpret the political impact of current developments. It also aims at providing students, who already have a technical background in energy science or engineering, with the broad global view of energy issues that will allow them to better understand the social, economic and political impact of their technical knowledge. ABOUT THE INSTRUCTOR : Giacomo Luciani Scientific Advisor for the Master in International Energy at the Paris School of International Affairs (PSIA) Sciences Po, Giacomo Luciani is also Adjunct Professor at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva and Director of the Executive Master in International Oil and Gas Leadership. For the period 2010-13 he was appointed Princeton University Global Scholar, attached to the Woodrow Wilson School and the Department of Near Eastern Studies. His research focuses on the political economy of the Middle East and North Africa and on global energy issues. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND : The course requires no special scientific, mathematical or economic background; all key concepts are clearly and elementarily explained. It is expected that it will be of interest to undergraduate and graduate students in schools where an equivalent course is not offered (this being the case for the vast majority of schools). USPC Sorbonne Paris Cité Supported by Université Sorbonne Paris Cité IDEX Investissements d'Avenir Funded by Investissements d'Avenir - 'ANR. Info : Course content : Licence Creative Commons BY NC SA...

Top reviews

DP
Sep 10, 2016

Excellent delivery.\n\nFantastic external sources with clear and precise explanations from a graphical viewpoint.\n\nGreat range of industry expertise and professionals within the appropriate fields.

RJ
Aug 2, 2017

With this course I have been able to better understand the role of energy in the development of the countries, and in a clear and simple way I have managed to understand how renewable energies work.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 348 Reviews for Politics and Economics of International Energy

By Stefanos G S

Jun 10, 2017

Very interesting subject matter, great instructor and a broad explanation of the world of International Energy.

By Yasser R

Mar 24, 2017

Excellent overview of energy resources and the related economics and politics. Exactly what i was looking for!

By Carla M

Jul 28, 2017

J'ai trouvé le cours très bien fait, très bien expliqué et très intéressant. Je vais le mettre sur mon CV :)

By Lance A

Dec 1, 2020

Very educational and prof. Giacomo Luciani and other instructors are very willing to share their knowledge

By Sweta K B

Aug 23, 2019

Wonderful Course and well structured. Talks in depth about the various energy forms that we have globally.

By Gustavo G

Sep 8, 2020

What a great course! I enjoyed a lot and i´ve learned so much important things very useful for my career!

By Danial S

May 17, 2020

It was the most interesting and the hardest course I have ever taken! I liked it very much! Thank you!

By Hagai P

Jan 4, 2017

I enjoyed the way the instructor presented the material. Very easy to understand and informative.

Hagai

By Margarita P

Sep 25, 2016

The content is well presented and provides remarkable overview of current global politics of energy.

By Huw T

Feb 9, 2017

Absolutely wonderful. I learned a huge amount and Giacomo was a very friendly and helpful teacher.

By Thomas D W

Feb 3, 2017

This course was awesome! I love energy and the economics of energy and I still learnt so much! :)

By Mubarak I

Mar 16, 2021

Very enlightening and eye-opening to everyday energy issues, climate change and further studies.

By Emilio D

Jun 22, 2020

Curso muy amplio que abarca de forma positivo varios tipos de energía junto a sus pros y contras

By ABHIMANUE A S

Jul 23, 2020

This has been a great exposure to the fundamentals and theories on International energy traits.

By AAYUSH B

May 29, 2020

Amazing course, especially for oil and energy enthusiasts. Thanks to Coursera and Sciences Po.

By eliana a

Jun 11, 2019

Excellent course. I learnt so much about other kind of energy sources, Geopolitics and trading

By Maria F

Oct 15, 2016

No only comprehensive and complete but also explanatory. Congratulations to professor Giacomo!

By Josh W

May 13, 2020

Excellent course - incredibly interesting and relevant, taught with great clarity. Thank you

By Maria K

Jan 14, 2017

Very informative, great mix of videos and additional reading, great choice/balance of topics

By Edouard B

Jan 19, 2020

This course gives a good understanding of the logics governing the energy sector, thank you

By Chantal R

Oct 22, 2017

Excellent course. I found the information to be from a wide variety of reputable sources.

By Thomas d K h d K

Jul 8, 2017

Very interesting course for anyone who wishes to learn more about international energy!!

By Roberto B

Oct 26, 2020

Muy buen curso. Muy completo. Bien estructurado y con mucha claridad en los conceptos.

By Antoine D

Aug 2, 2017

Super interesting course, I realy enjoy it, thanks Giacomo and all Sciences Po staff.

By Anna R

Oct 24, 2020

A great overview for beginners in the energy sector! Thank you Professor Luciani!!