Chevron Left
Back to Politics and Economics of International Energy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Politics and Economics of International Energy by Sciences Po

4.7
stars
1,740 ratings

About the Course

Energy issues have always been important in international relations, but in recent years may have become even more important than in the past due to the widespread awareness of existing limits to energy sources and negative climate impacts. The course discusses global trends in energy consumption and production, various available scenarios for potential developments in the coming decades, the availability of oil reserves and the evolution of the oil industry. It then discusses natural gas and highlights the differences between oil and gas. It will also discuss renewable energy sources, nuclear energy and EU energy policy. The course aims at providing students whose main interest is in international relations a background on energy resources, technology and economic realities to allow them to correctly interpret the political impact of current developments. It also aims at providing students, who already have a technical background in energy science or engineering, with the broad global view of energy issues that will allow them to better understand the social, economic and political impact of their technical knowledge. ABOUT THE INSTRUCTOR : Giacomo Luciani Scientific Advisor for the Master in International Energy at the Paris School of International Affairs (PSIA) Sciences Po, Giacomo Luciani is also Adjunct Professor at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva and Director of the Executive Master in International Oil and Gas Leadership. For the period 2010-13 he was appointed Princeton University Global Scholar, attached to the Woodrow Wilson School and the Department of Near Eastern Studies. His research focuses on the political economy of the Middle East and North Africa and on global energy issues. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND : The course requires no special scientific, mathematical or economic background; all key concepts are clearly and elementarily explained. It is expected that it will be of interest to undergraduate and graduate students in schools where an equivalent course is not offered (this being the case for the vast majority of schools). USPC Sorbonne Paris Cité Supported by Université Sorbonne Paris Cité IDEX Investissements d'Avenir Funded by Investissements d'Avenir - 'ANR. Info : Course content : Licence Creative Commons BY NC SA...

Top reviews

DP

Sep 10, 2016

Excellent delivery.

Fantastic external sources with clear and precise explanations from a graphical viewpoint.

Great range of industry expertise and professionals within the appropriate fields.

TB

Jun 14, 2017

Very interesting course ! Very well explained but maybe needs updates on current news (even if it may be hard I acknowledge) !

Really well balanced between definitions, geopolitics and science.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 436 Reviews for Politics and Economics of International Energy

By Aymeric B

May 4, 2020

Excellent ! I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to learn the basics of economics, politics and geopolitics of energy as well as on energy transition and decarbonization.

By Lorena V D

Dec 8, 2022

Excellent course, totally recommended for people who wish to deepen their knowledge or have an introduction to the magister taught by this house of studies. 100% recommended!

By Mikhail S

Jul 30, 2017

The course provides clear helicopter view on the major features of the inernational energy industry, thus it worths to dive deep for those, who somehow conneted to the topic.

By ASEMOTA P

Nov 9, 2016

Excellent, it broaden my knowledge about the politics and economics of international energy. Bravo to team that bring this information together, and thanks to the teacher.

By Mehmet U G

Feb 9, 2022

The best online course I have ever taken. Not only I've learnt so many thing but also new point of views to change my opinion and give me insights on different subjects.

By Harine T

Dec 21, 2020

I found the course content highly enlightening, with respect to the intricate politics and policies entangled with the generation, transmission and consumption of energy.

By BURCU A

Mar 19, 2023

Thank you for all of these lessons, learning materials, helpful information.

I would highly recommend this course to everyone who interests the modern world politics.

By Khalil M A S

May 3, 2022

Very intensive and comperhensive information of energy strategy approached in modern advanced industries around the world. Strongly recommended for curious engineers!

By Lilya

Jul 21, 2023

Brilliant professor, extremely useful material, the way the material is given is very easy to understand. Enjoyed the course immensely. Thank you, Professor Luciani!

By Zayn A

Oct 24, 2020

Frankly speaking this is one of the best courses I've ever signed up in. I loved the instructor's way of teaching, it was very informative & exciting at some points.

By Jesus D S

Feb 15, 2021

Great course, a lot of remarkable information given, with graphs and charts very well explained, it is all you need to understand the nature of the energy market!

By Ashhar S

Jun 14, 2022

Extremely informative and an ideal place to start your journey towards understanding the politico-economic dynamics of Energy.

Very detailed. Remarkable content.

By Emil M

Apr 8, 2018

Comprehensive and well-structured course. It will help your understanding about the energy itself first, then move to the economic and political aspects of it.

By Micheal H

Mar 22, 2017

Really interesting course and gives a really good insight into a lot of the tensions in the energy market and why certain projects become politically charged.

By Enrique A

Jun 20, 2017

Very organized, instructive and well presented course. Excellent base for people who want to go deeper in any of the topics of the class. Highly recommended.

By Sébastien B

Oct 27, 2020

I really enjoyed the learning in this course that covers the complexity of the energy world in depth with valuable insights from international stakeholders.

By Mrinal J

Aug 25, 2020

The course is insightful and covers all aspects of energy. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to learn about the worldwide energy sector from scratch.

By Jameel J

Apr 9, 2023

It's an excellent starting resource for gaining a deep understanding of the complex interplay between energy, politics, and economics at the global level.

By Yanchao L

Jun 16, 2020

very useful in providing the big picture and basic knowledge regarding international energy dynamics in the context of development economics and politics

By Shivam M

Mar 31, 2019

The course is very well tailored. It covers very relevant topics of energy and geopolitics in a very interesting way. Its a must for anyone interested i

By Verena G

Jul 26, 2016

Excellent course that offers deep understanding of political structures of energy while being concise and enjoyable and with a very manageable workload.

By caroline

May 31, 2017

Great course with clear explanations, excellent study materials and give a very good insight in global economy of energies. Could only recommand it !!!

By Fikri Z M

Nov 17, 2021

This is a very excellent course. The topics discussed are really interesting. And I love how they are presented. Specific thanks to Professor Luciani!

By Marinos C

Nov 25, 2016

Excellent course. Especially in understanding the gas politics in Europe. I would recommend that more ephasis is given on the politics of oil as well.

By Diego G

Nov 11, 2016

Great, I learned a lot. I would totally recommend it. Now I have technical knowledge about energy sources, and critical assessment of energy policies.