Chevron Left
Back to Politics and Economics of International Energy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Politics and Economics of International Energy by Sciences Po

4.7
stars
1,203 ratings
310 reviews

About the Course

Energy issues have always been important in international relations, but in recent years may have become even more important than in the past due to the widespread awareness of existing limits to energy sources and negative climate impacts. The course discusses global trends in energy consumption and production, various available scenarios for potential developments in the coming decades, the availability of oil reserves and the evolution of the oil industry. It then discusses natural gas and highlights the differences between oil and gas. It will also discuss renewable energy sources, nuclear energy and EU energy policy. The course aims at providing students whose main interest is in international relations a background on energy resources, technology and economic realities to allow them to correctly interpret the political impact of current developments. It also aims at providing students, who already have a technical background in energy science or engineering, with the broad global view of energy issues that will allow them to better understand the social, economic and political impact of their technical knowledge. ABOUT THE INSTRUCTOR : Giacomo Luciani Scientific Advisor for the Master in International Energy at the Paris School of International Affairs (PSIA) Sciences Po, Giacomo Luciani is also Adjunct Professor at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva and Director of the Executive Master in International Oil and Gas Leadership. For the period 2010-13 he was appointed Princeton University Global Scholar, attached to the Woodrow Wilson School and the Department of Near Eastern Studies. His research focuses on the political economy of the Middle East and North Africa and on global energy issues. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND : The course requires no special scientific, mathematical or economic background; all key concepts are clearly and elementarily explained. It is expected that it will be of interest to undergraduate and graduate students in schools where an equivalent course is not offered (this being the case for the vast majority of schools). USPC Sorbonne Paris Cité Supported by Université Sorbonne Paris Cité IDEX Investissements d'Avenir Funded by Investissements d'Avenir - 'ANR. Info : Course content : Licence Creative Commons BY NC SA...

Top reviews

DP

Sep 11, 2016

Excellent delivery.\n\nFantastic external sources with clear and precise explanations from a graphical viewpoint.\n\nGreat range of industry expertise and professionals within the appropriate fields.

RJ

Aug 03, 2017

With this course I have been able to better understand the role of energy in the development of the countries, and in a clear and simple way I have managed to understand how renewable energies work.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 305 Reviews for Politics and Economics of International Energy

By Naveen B

Feb 28, 2018

it is simply an awesome course on energy sector. The various dynamics and geopolitics is explained in a beautiful way.

By Naman J

Jul 13, 2020

It was an amazing course! Loved it. Gives an insight into how the energy domain will look like in the coming decades.

By Addison L

Jan 31, 2019

Really fascinating and insightful in the global energy markets with economic and political explanations and insights.

By Ibrahim N

Apr 04, 2019

Very interesting and understandable course. I recommend this content for everybody who are interested in the topic.

By Channac G

Oct 16, 2016

Very good introduction to the stake of energy politics in our world. Very interesting speakers and clear courses.

By Nething

Aug 28, 2016

This MOOC is a great introduction to International Energy, with all the necessary basics to understand the field.

By Ken D

Mar 13, 2019

It's a very comprehensive course for someone interested in global economic and politics of international energy.

By Stefanos G S

Jun 10, 2017

Very interesting subject matter, great instructor and a broad explanation of the world of International Energy.

By Yasser R

Mar 24, 2017

Excellent overview of energy resources and the related economics and politics. Exactly what i was looking for!

By Carla M

Jul 28, 2017

J'ai trouvé le cours très bien fait, très bien expliqué et très intéressant. Je vais le mettre sur mon CV :)

By Sweta K B

Aug 23, 2019

Wonderful Course and well structured. Talks in depth about the various energy forms that we have globally.

By Danial S

May 17, 2020

It was the most interesting and the hardest course I have ever taken! I liked it very much! Thank you!

By Hagai

Jan 04, 2017

I enjoyed the way the instructor presented the material. Very easy to understand and informative.

Hagai

By Margarita P

Sep 25, 2016

The content is well presented and provides remarkable overview of current global politics of energy.

By Huw T

Feb 09, 2017

Absolutely wonderful. I learned a huge amount and Giacomo was a very friendly and helpful teacher.

By Thomas D W

Feb 04, 2017

This course was awesome! I love energy and the economics of energy and I still learnt so much! :)

By Emilio D L

Jun 22, 2020

Curso muy amplio que abarca de forma positivo varios tipos de energía junto a sus pros y contras

By ABHIMANUE A S

Jul 23, 2020

This has been a great exposure to the fundamentals and theories on International energy traits.

By AAYUSH B

May 29, 2020

Amazing course, especially for oil and energy enthusiasts. Thanks to Coursera and Sciences Po.

By eliana a

Jun 11, 2019

Excellent course. I learnt so much about other kind of energy sources, Geopolitics and trading

By Maria F

Oct 15, 2016

No only comprehensive and complete but also explanatory. Congratulations to professor Giacomo!

By Josh W

May 13, 2020

Excellent course - incredibly interesting and relevant, taught with great clarity. Thank you

By Maria K

Jan 14, 2017

Very informative, great mix of videos and additional reading, great choice/balance of topics

By Edouard B

Jan 19, 2020

This course gives a good understanding of the logics governing the energy sector, thank you

By Chantal R

Oct 22, 2017

Excellent course. I found the information to be from a wide variety of reputable sources.