Chevron Left
Back to Politics and Economics of International Energy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Politics and Economics of International Energy by Sciences Po

4.7
stars
1,738 ratings

About the Course

Energy issues have always been important in international relations, but in recent years may have become even more important than in the past due to the widespread awareness of existing limits to energy sources and negative climate impacts. The course discusses global trends in energy consumption and production, various available scenarios for potential developments in the coming decades, the availability of oil reserves and the evolution of the oil industry. It then discusses natural gas and highlights the differences between oil and gas. It will also discuss renewable energy sources, nuclear energy and EU energy policy. The course aims at providing students whose main interest is in international relations a background on energy resources, technology and economic realities to allow them to correctly interpret the political impact of current developments. It also aims at providing students, who already have a technical background in energy science or engineering, with the broad global view of energy issues that will allow them to better understand the social, economic and political impact of their technical knowledge. ABOUT THE INSTRUCTOR : Giacomo Luciani Scientific Advisor for the Master in International Energy at the Paris School of International Affairs (PSIA) Sciences Po, Giacomo Luciani is also Adjunct Professor at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva and Director of the Executive Master in International Oil and Gas Leadership. For the period 2010-13 he was appointed Princeton University Global Scholar, attached to the Woodrow Wilson School and the Department of Near Eastern Studies. His research focuses on the political economy of the Middle East and North Africa and on global energy issues. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND : The course requires no special scientific, mathematical or economic background; all key concepts are clearly and elementarily explained. It is expected that it will be of interest to undergraduate and graduate students in schools where an equivalent course is not offered (this being the case for the vast majority of schools). USPC Sorbonne Paris Cité Supported by Université Sorbonne Paris Cité IDEX Investissements d'Avenir Funded by Investissements d'Avenir - 'ANR. Info : Course content : Licence Creative Commons BY NC SA...

Top reviews

DP

Sep 10, 2016

Excellent delivery.

Fantastic external sources with clear and precise explanations from a graphical viewpoint.

Great range of industry expertise and professionals within the appropriate fields.

TB

Jun 14, 2017

Very interesting course ! Very well explained but maybe needs updates on current news (even if it may be hard I acknowledge) !

Really well balanced between definitions, geopolitics and science.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 436 Reviews for Politics and Economics of International Energy

By Kevin A Q M

May 8, 2016

I like this course. Very important for me. I want to be a energy international professional. Didactical videos, accurate data and correct assessments.

By Liangliang X

Sep 26, 2016

Very informative course. The lecturer has profound knowledge about energy and politics not only in EU but also around the globe! Highly recommend it!

By Fernanda C F

May 21, 2020

I was surprised by this course. The content is amazing and the lectures are current and didatic. I recommend it to everyone from the energy sector.

By Vincent M

Jul 3, 2017

Très complet, ce cours permet d'avoir une vision globale des enjeux économiques et politiques de l'Energie. Excellent enchaînement des thématiques.

By Shana C

Feb 9, 2024

Even though I took the course in 2024, many points are still very relevant today. I really appreciate the fact based approach of the instructor.

By Hanan N

Sep 18, 2021

Very good course, covering energy options comprehensively. Great and charismatic Professor, very clear in explaining the subjects interestingly

By albatoul y

May 17, 2020

This was a great experience, its my first online course. This course was very beneficial, I learned a great deal. Thank you for the opportunity.

By SANJAY K

Dec 14, 2021

Very informative and well wooven course giving fair idea of International Energy Scenario in the era of strive for low cost and green energy.

By Oscar H

Mar 5, 2024

Excalente curso, sin embargo debe ser actualizado ya que los escenarios actuales han cambiado mucho, sobre todo desde la guerra de Ucrania

By Juliana C

May 22, 2018

Very interesting course, although you might research for updated data and current situation (since the course was created few years back).

By Jérôme A

Oct 20, 2017

The course is very interesting and accessible. Anyone can follow it and learn a lot from an unbiased source with different point of views.

By lkalanda

Mar 31, 2023

great introductory course on energy, including different types of energy, their production methods, and geopolitics of energy as well

By Mauricio V

Aug 3, 2020

I truly enjoyed this class, it is broad and an excellent way to develop awareness on the potential required policies to decarbonize.

By Klingsheim

Oct 17, 2016

Very interesting course with nice presentations, discussions and examples! I recommend it to anyone interested in the Energy sector!

By Mohammad A N

Mar 5, 2021

Thank you Giacomo luciani I learned allot of things of you furthermore I believe that this course was the best course about energy.

By Javier E

Jan 15, 2018

Mr Luciani is a great lecturer. Moreover, information furnished shows an interesting variety and flavor on the topic.

Best Regards

By Ines S

May 30, 2016

It is very interesting. I gain a fundamental understanding of different resources of energy sources and linkages to world economy

By Yeldar R

Aug 27, 2022

I've spent couple of years on that course. It's extremely loaded and challenging. I've achieved the goals I've set during study.

By Hasler I I Y

May 6, 2020

Excellent course. The teacher explains very well the concepts, and the participation of guests in the lectures is very enriching

By Polly M

May 31, 2017

Fantastic course! Really interesting and informative. I found it easy to follow without much pressure on top of my regular work.

By Rob T

Feb 8, 2019

Very good course. As a relative newby to the sector it gave me the backbone I need for high level conversations with C-suite cl

By Dyna H

Dec 10, 2017

One of the best Mooc out there ! A lecturer that keeps you interested until the end and really useful information delivered !

By MARIA Y M C

Jun 26, 2021

Excelente, apredi mucho y reforce conocimientos, aunque me interesaría conocer como cambio todo a raíz de la pandemia actual

By Richa B

Jan 12, 2018

Very interesting course. Thanks to the professor, I could learn about different aspects of energy security especially on Gas

By nikhil v

May 29, 2017

great course covering right from basics to in-depth analysis of energy sector and how it affects the world as we know today