Chevron Left
Back to The Global Financial Crisis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Global Financial Crisis by Yale University

4.8
stars
1,920 ratings
415 reviews

About the Course

Former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury Timothy F. Geithner and Professor Andrew Metrick survey the causes, events, policy responses, and aftermath of the recent global financial crisis....

Top reviews

TS

Apr 09, 2017

Great course indeed. I was following the materials and videos of the crisis for a long time and this course perfectly summarized everthing back by data analysis. Highly recommended to all enthusiasts.

RA

Sep 01, 2018

This course was excellent. The short yet crisp lectures have given me a fair perspective of what came before, during and to an extent after the GFC. I feel I will greatly benefit from this knowledge.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 408 Reviews for The Global Financial Crisis

By prakash k

Sep 19, 2018

Admire

By Xu Y

Jan 12, 2017

Great!

By Elsie F

Oct 25, 2016

Useful

By viki k

Apr 16, 2016

superb

By S L

Feb 22, 2016

great!

By Cara p

May 13, 2020

great

By Tegan Y

Aug 25, 2020

nice

By SAURABH D R

Jul 07, 2020

good

By Ehab A S

May 15, 2020

nice

By CHAMP N

May 11, 2020

Good

By Clément C

Nov 17, 2019

Top!

By Lahcene O M

Jan 22, 2018

wow

By mark k

May 14, 2020

V

By Andre F

Dec 05, 2016

E

By Anastasia Y

Feb 16, 2016

T

By Hector N

Jun 18, 2016

Very interesting course that provides a comprehensive, yet accessible, account of the global financial crisis as well as of its causes and consequences. Both Prof. Metrick and Mr. Geithner do a great job in explaining the materials using clear slides and easily understandable graphics and figures. The course setup is also clear and can easily be completed. The quizzes offer a good opportunity to keep track of the course contents (maybe extend them to 3-4 questions instead of just 2?). Perhaps a comprehensive final exam reviewing the materials of all prior weeks would be sensible, as one might have forgotten what topics were discussed in week 1 or 2 while learning the contents of week 11.

By Kostadin K

Mar 29, 2016

I didn't expected so clear explanations.

Well, my impression is that the instability still exists and this is in the circular dependencies that can exist in the new system. Once the mechanisms get fast enough the crisis may appear.

There is some parallel with computer systems. In the early days of the interconnected computers the problems were much similar. I hope I could write something until the end of the course.

I would like to have some more schematic explanation of the institutions and the flow of money and the other financial products. As well as some textbook references. It is a little bit complicated to the non-american to enter fluidly at least in the set of abbreviations.

By Anamaria T

Feb 21, 2016

I enjoyed the course very much. It was clear, it included the explanation of its basic concepts for anyone who was not familiar with everything, and it came with graphs that backed up many points argued. I certainly recommend it to anyone who wants to start understanding the global financial crisis. What I did not like were last 2 lessons by Secretary Geithner, which I found very general and in contract to the detailed slides of Professor Metrick. Nevertheless, this is a great course.

By Christian T

Nov 05, 2016

Very good, well-paced course. It will help you grasp the complexity of the structural issues that triggered the Global Financial Crisis, which rocked the world. I would suggest you complement it by reading some of the many books that have been written about it, say, "Too Big to Fail" (Andrew Ross Sorkin), "The Big Short" (Michael Lewis) and, of course, "Stress Test" (Timothy Geithner).

By Yih C E

Jan 13, 2017

Good and clear explanation on Global Financial Crisis by Prof. Metrick which was supplemented by the perspective of former Secretary of the Treasury Timothy Geithner. Prof. Metrick also gave a good overview into the ongoing Eurozone crisis. However discussion forum isn't too active probably due to fewer number of course participants.

By Akshita J

Jun 13, 2020

First of all, I would like to thank both the professors to make the topic understandable. The course is really helpful to understand what financial crisis actually does to a country and in order to combat it precautions a country can take especially in these times where there are high chances of occurring financial crisis again!

By Pete H

Feb 17, 2016

Very informative and engaging course. Very good lecture presentations by two leading subject matter experts. About the only drawback was the lack of teaching assistance interaction on the course discussion forums and maybe even an occasional drop in by one of the instructors from time to time.

By Rayan K

Dec 08, 2015

Despite working in financial industry, and having a very good understanding of the crisis. they way the course has been structured to disseminate the information gradually and structurally really appeals to me. I have learned things I did not know, and to me that is the

By Stefan D

Apr 13, 2016

This course gives an easy to understand and detailed look at what happened during the financial crises. The material is very detailed and contains charts, quotes from the time and some personal experiences.

By R L R K

Oct 08, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed being part of this course. The information and insights provided through this course into the Global Financial Crisis, has been invaluable.