Chevron Left
Back to Global Health at the Human-Animal-Ecosystem Interface

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Global Health at the Human-Animal-Ecosystem Interface by University of Geneva

4.7
stars
235 ratings
78 reviews

About the Course

The University of Geneva, Institute Pasteur, University of Montreal and Centre Virchow-Villermé/University Paris Descartes welcome you to this MOOC on "Global Health at the Human-Animal-Ecosystem Interface"! Over the next 8 weeks, you will explore and learn about some of the major and current Global Health Challenges at the Human-Animal-Ecosystem Interface: zoonotic emerging infections (e.g. Ebola, Nipah, MERS, Avian Influenza), antimicrobial resistance, neglected tropical diseases (e.g. rabies, leishmaniasis, zoonotic TB), snakebite and other human-animal conflicts etc. You will learn new concepts from the field of epidemiology, social anthropology, disease ecology, veterinary sciences, global health policy etc. and approaches such as One Health, Eco-Health and Planetary Health. Also, you will learn about innovative tools and frameworks used to study and tackle some of these Global Health challenges of the Sustainable Development Goals era. This MOOC proposes you a dynamic, international and interdisciplinary programme based on the One Health approach (human-animal-environmental dimensions) and involving more than 30 top experts from more than 20 academic and research institutions and international organisations based in Geneva, Paris, Montreal and the world. Policy makers from the World Health Organisation, clinicians from the University Hospitals of Geneva, epidemiologists from Institut Pasteur etc. will share with you their knowledge and experiences all along this MOOC. Video-lectures have been filmed in different parts of the world and settings (from the field to the lab and office) and will be combined with the latest open readings and interactive activities in the discussion forum, video-conferences etc. This MOOC keeps evolving and enriching actively over time and two new sections on "Health Benefits at the Human-Animal-Ecosystem Interface" and "Management of Ecosystems under Global Changes: Implication for Human Health" have been added in May 2018. This latter section was developed in close collaboration with experts from World Health Organisation and the Convention on Biological Diversity and is introduced by Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, WHO Director-General. The development of this MOOC was led by Dr. Rafael Ruiz de Castañeda, Dr. Isabelle Bolon and Prof. Antoine Flahault from the Institute of Global Health of the University of Geneva. The list of instructors is completed by Prof. Arnaud Fontanet (Institut Pasteur) and Prof. André Ravel (Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, University of Montreal). Watch our teaser here and let’s get started! https://youtu.be/WT7-cC21uLU?list=PLnZ (with subtitles in French and in Chinese)...

Top reviews

SK
Mar 19, 2021

I has covered a wide range of topics. it effectively demonstrated the links between the many actors on the global scale. It is important to keep building on these linkages to improve world health.

MM
May 1, 2020

The contents are informative in every possible ways as they cover numerous sectors. Instructors are spontaneous with excellent way of delivery. Overall this course is useful.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 78 Reviews for Global Health at the Human-Animal-Ecosystem Interface

By Stuart K

Mar 19, 2021

I has covered a wide range of topics. it effectively demonstrated the links between the many actors on the global scale. It is important to keep building on these linkages to improve world health.

By Moutuza M

May 2, 2020

The contents are informative in every possible ways as they cover numerous sectors. Instructors are spontaneous with excellent way of delivery. Overall this course is useful.

By Dieudonne M D

Oct 4, 2019

Very interesting course that involve different areas. I Just started and already amazed with the content. Excited to finish quickly and learn a lot. Keep that job up.

By Pedro A G B

Apr 6, 2021

An excellent course with multiple tools to understand how works the relationship between Human-Animal and Ecosystem, and how we can help to improve the global health.

By Nicole K

Jun 20, 2017

Extremely informative, and very unique in that this MOOC incorporated many diverse experts - experts who work both inside and outside the field - into the curriculum!

By Nerea G B

Jun 13, 2017

excellent course! Highly recommended for students and professionals. Very interesting and entertaining videos and lectures. Congratulations for the organizers

By Samuel O

Sep 7, 2020

It was a wonderful course engaging, very productive. i wish I could access a certificate for it .

It greatly improved my knowledge on many aspects.

By victor c

Sep 11, 2018

Great course and very interested in pursuing more than this certificate.

It is 100% for me. The emphasis on one health makes it great piece.

By Niranjan B

Jul 11, 2020

This course was very informative and interesting. All the instructors are highly knowledgeable and interesting. Enjoyed doing this course.

By Sandra O

Dec 27, 2018

Excellent course! Didactic, wide range of topics, synthetic, combining on-field experts and policy makers. Congratulations and thanks!

By Stephanie M

May 23, 2020

Amazing class! A great opportunity to hear from experts on the field and the class is well maintained and updated to current issues.

By Mohammad V I P

Nov 17, 2017

Even I experience some obstacles when I try to complete this course, I am very happy when I got more knowledge from this course.

By Estevam G L H

Jul 20, 2020

Excepcionalmente completo e bem feito. Recomendo para todos que querem uma visão realmente ampla do conceito de Saúde Global

By Paolo D T S

Dec 18, 2019

Not only very informative and educational, but through many graphical components also entertaining, which keeps you going!

By Saida A

May 18, 2018

The course is awesome! I can recommend it to the students and professionals from all the scientific fields.

By Rory O

Mar 6, 2018

Fantastic! Made it easy to understand the complex issues. Inspirational too! Makes want to work for the UN.

By Gerwin N B

Aug 2, 2020

I have learned a lot from this course and it opened my mind to more greater possibilities. Thank you!

By Sia M

Oct 17, 2020

Definitely, this is one of the best available online courses about One Health. Don't miss it!!

By Anna T

Aug 29, 2017

It was difficult but I am learning new things the way so it increased my understanding

By JOHN Q

Jan 5, 2018

What a wonderful course! Thanks to the folks who worked on presenting it! Dr Quincy

By Alexandra P

May 15, 2017

Fantastic course, I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in the subject.

By Alejandro P R

Jun 18, 2020

Great course! I found it very useful and interesting. Thanks for offering it! :D

By Yan C

Feb 11, 2019

Fantastic course with great speakers and important themes. Highly recommended.

By Alyssa M N

Nov 23, 2020

very informative, thank you very much for this great opportunity to learn

By Agathe N

Nov 6, 2020

I would highly recommend this course! Very well made and very topical!