Chevron Left
Back to The Sustainable Development Goals – A global, transdisciplinary vision for the future

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Sustainable Development Goals – A global, transdisciplinary vision for the future by University of Copenhagen

4.8
stars
3,483 ratings
887 reviews

About the Course

In 2015, the UN launched the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Adopted by 193 member states, the goals represent an important international step in setting humanity on a trajectory towards sustainable development. Within this course, you will get a historical overview of how sustainability has been understood, as well as a thorough introduction to the SDGs – what they are, how progress can be measured, and how the SDGs are relevant for the management of the global systems supporting humanity. The course will examine how various societal actors are responding to and implementing the SDGs. While all of the SDGs are essential to sustainable development, SDG 13, Climate Action, is usually perceived as the most urgent in terms of the need for a swift implementation on a global scale. Therefore, particular focus is given to this SDG. Through the course, you will gain up-to-date knowledge of the current understanding of human impacts on the Earth at the planetary level. Progress towards establishing global management of human interactions with the climate system within the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) is also discussed. The course is designed and taught by Professor Katherine Richardson, who is a member of the 15-person panel appointed by the UN General Secretary in 2016 to write the 2019 Global Sustainable Development Report. In each lecture, Katherine interviews experts who provide insights relevant to the topic at hand....

Top reviews

JM
Jul 18, 2020

Thank you for offering this course (The Sustainable Development Goals-A global transdisciplinary vision for the future). I have passed it but I am not sure how can i get the certificate at this stage.

JJ
Jul 15, 2020

I loved it, ver interesting and relevant information to the situation we face nowadays! Everyone should take this course to understand that we must evolve as a society to have a better world for all.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 887 Reviews for The Sustainable Development Goals – A global, transdisciplinary vision for the future

By YAMINI P

Aug 24, 2020

Good

By Vimonisha.a

Jul 29, 2020

good

By Mrunal K

Jul 27, 2020

good

By HARISH B

Jul 20, 2020

Good

By Md W R

Jul 14, 2020

Nice

By Ann A J

Jun 23, 2020

Good

By Sangeetha.B

Jun 5, 2020

GOOD

By Vijay.I A

Oct 21, 2020

Gud

By obielue m

Mar 1, 2021

A+

By MRS. J B G S V

Jun 30, 2020

OK

By Afia A S

Jul 4, 2021

By Matthew B

Nov 17, 2020

i

By Ксения Б

May 19, 2020

I

By Matthew J A

Feb 15, 2021

I thought it was a very good course. While specific in its focus on the UN SDGs I think that is what gave this course its strength. There material was extensive and the sources were excellent, it is definitely material I saved and will look back on as I continue my Sustainability learning journey. I think the course really opened my mind and eyes to the amount of work from very different areas of industry that is being down and the amount of resources that are available. It definitely gave me ideas and has encouraged me to continue learning. I found the interviews were excellent and made the content more interesting especially the ones with people from industry. The reading material was strong as well. My only complaint and I don't think it was the fact that I am a slower learning I actually think I am a dedicated and more honest learner is that the time estimates I found underestimated if you truthfully want to fully understand and absorb the content.

By Non J

Apr 15, 2020

I loved the course and found it covered a lot of ground - and the experts interviewed gave the course good credibility. My only criticisms/areas for improvement would be - a link to / update on the OXFAM Donugth framework paper as it is from 2012 - a more recent update relating to that would have been useful. Also, from a functionality perspective - it's great you can highlight and take notes from videos but if you want to take notes from readings you have to do it OUTSIDE of Coursera - an inbuilt notes tool would be useful to keep all your learnings in one place.

By Pauline P

Jan 20, 2020

Ce cours est court et intense, permet de se familiariser avec le Programme 2030 et donne accès à des ressources très utiles pour approfondir si on le souhaite. Les intervenants sont divers, spécialisés et bien informés. L'anglais est fluide et les explications sont claires.

Par contre il faut comprendre que c'est un cours d'introduction, assez superficiel (même si on part parfois dans les technicités), qui amène plus de questions (ou de leçon de morale) que de réponses concrètes.

By David J H

Sep 27, 2021

A​ great course for exploring the ideas of Sustainable Goals. Very much a beginner approach although some of the readings are a bit lengthy. Don't skip the Kate Raworth lecture at the end which is truly excellent. More quiz material would help as would more discussion that was not optional. Quizzes alone are not really sufficient for community engagement. Nevertheless I would most certainly recommend this course to all interested in a global future.

By Samwel M M

May 31, 2020

The course is detailed,cutting age information and well delivered . However some links have been disabled and needs to be looked into.

It also needs to be up dated .Lastly considering the rigorous content of the course, the units covered and marks scored should be reflected on the certificate. This will be be better confirmation to employers and peers of the skills and knowledge acquired.

By Anna L K

Feb 5, 2019

I find this course to be very relevant and engaging. The theories and different perspectives on the SDGs helped a lot in forming my own opinion and have motivated me to learn more about my role in sustainable development. However, I wish that the course would stress the urgency of action even more be more critical towards the role of governments, businesses and consumer behavior.

By Atit S

Dec 30, 2019

Very Informative course on the SDGs.

The best part was that the goals were explained from the basic level comprising of all the international protocols that took place and what are the key facets that will affect the progress of Sustainable Development Goals.

Special mention about Christian Grimes for being an amazing lecturer; taking us through the course in an insightful manner.

By Anthony C

Aug 26, 2021

I enjoyed learning about the Sustainable Development Goals and their significance to creating a world where we live within our means while also eradicating inequality. It gave an excellent grounding in these important goals. My only reservation was in some of the information being very dated and it would be better if it was updated to current information.

By Maria K

Jul 15, 2018

The Sustainable Development Goals - A global, transdisciplinary vision for the future is a wonderful course for anyone who wants to have an overview of the 2030 Agenda and the SDGs. Moreover, the course could have more examples from other countries as well of how they manage to get or not done their national goals within the spectrum of the SDGs.

By David S

Jan 14, 2019

I have a much deeper understanding of the SDGs, was surprised on the major impact of agriculture on climate change and hope to see Doughnut Economics take hold in my life-time. I recommend this lesson to anyone whom wants to learn about the relationships that our planet and human kind must come to terms with.

By Sapna B

Mar 8, 2021

The course is a great introduction to the SDG's and its importance; however the underlining factor that many are not speaking of is the role of finance and the access to finance if a country is to meet all 17 goals. Are the superpowers and developed countries doing their part to attain these goals???

By Angenie K

Sep 7, 2020

This was a great course which helped me to better the SDGs and global sustainability issues currently being grappled with. A good way to have a better understanding of major issues which we may not be experiencing personally. Really enjoyed the variety of interviewees.