Chevron Left
Back to The Sustainable Development Goals – A global, transdisciplinary vision for the future

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Sustainable Development Goals – A global, transdisciplinary vision for the future by University of Copenhagen

4.8
stars
3,489 ratings
890 reviews

About the Course

In 2015, the UN launched the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Adopted by 193 member states, the goals represent an important international step in setting humanity on a trajectory towards sustainable development. Within this course, you will get a historical overview of how sustainability has been understood, as well as a thorough introduction to the SDGs – what they are, how progress can be measured, and how the SDGs are relevant for the management of the global systems supporting humanity. The course will examine how various societal actors are responding to and implementing the SDGs. While all of the SDGs are essential to sustainable development, SDG 13, Climate Action, is usually perceived as the most urgent in terms of the need for a swift implementation on a global scale. Therefore, particular focus is given to this SDG. Through the course, you will gain up-to-date knowledge of the current understanding of human impacts on the Earth at the planetary level. Progress towards establishing global management of human interactions with the climate system within the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) is also discussed. The course is designed and taught by Professor Katherine Richardson, who is a member of the 15-person panel appointed by the UN General Secretary in 2016 to write the 2019 Global Sustainable Development Report. In each lecture, Katherine interviews experts who provide insights relevant to the topic at hand....

Top reviews

JM
Jul 18, 2020

Thank you for offering this course (The Sustainable Development Goals-A global transdisciplinary vision for the future). I have passed it but I am not sure how can i get the certificate at this stage.

JJ
Jul 15, 2020

I loved it, ver interesting and relevant information to the situation we face nowadays! Everyone should take this course to understand that we must evolve as a society to have a better world for all.

Filter by:

801 - 825 of 892 Reviews for The Sustainable Development Goals – A global, transdisciplinary vision for the future

By Hazuki M

Apr 19, 2020

It was very informative and right on spot for learning the essentials and getting the overall understanding of SDGs. I highly recommend to all.

By Efua N

Apr 17, 2020

This course helps you to fully understand the SDGs and their importance. And the role each individual has to play to make the SDGs a reality

By Пухтий А О

Jan 1, 2020

It was really nice, I love this feature with invited experts in every lecture, but as for me, I need more concreted facts about every goal.

By Olabisi, B C

Jun 26, 2020

Gained so insight on the course. Very interesting. I paid for the certificate, kindly acknowledge and issue the certificate.

Many thanks

By LAKSHMI T

Jul 17, 2020

A very well structured and informative course on SDGs. The discussions with experts for each module was especially intersting. Thanks

By Jorge M A R

Jun 14, 2019

A very good course however I would like to have more information about How to measure including How to compare progress for each goal

By Svetlozara S

Oct 19, 2020

It was a really nice course my only issues were that it was a bit disorganized and that the videos were too long to keep up with.

By Bo I

Jun 26, 2020

Giver en rigtig god forståelse for menneskehedens udfordringer og mulige løsninger på vores og vores efterkommeres udfordringer.

By Faisal B K V

Jul 10, 2020

Excellent presentation by the instructor made everything quite easy.

I understood the 17 S D Gs clearly.

Thanks a lot Coursera.

By Joanna Z

May 7, 2021

The course offers a very good introduction to the issue of sustainability. Its main asset is an interdisciplinary approach.

By Kanika K

May 7, 2020

The course format was good. The learning journey was interesting with videos, reading literature and discussion exercise.

By Rogozhkina A S

May 12, 2020

Basic theory course about sustainable development concept is really good!

Was curious to found about Doughnut economics.

By Gorana M

Apr 7, 2020

This class is great, but I think it would be better if it has a longer duration since it's loaded with so many details.

By Susmita K

Jun 17, 2021

it helped me gain indepth knowledge of sustainable develpopment goals along with leadership and economic understanding

By Labonya B

Aug 30, 2020

This course is really informative. But if instructor provide presentation slides, it'll be easy to understand more.

By Shajahan T

Feb 14, 2020

The best course about SDG for beginners! Simple and easily learnable. Additional reading materials are useful.

By MRS. S K

Jun 6, 2020

Very informative course that makes each one of us to know more about 17 sustainable development goals

By Avani K

Aug 1, 2020

it was a very insightful and helpful course and made me learn about the world around us a bit more

By Folke K

Sep 20, 2019

Very informative, good level of content and quizzes, not too easy, but not too challenging either.

By A S M Y B S

Apr 27, 2020

A brief yet sophisticated overview of Sustainable Development Goals. I enjoyed this course a lot

By Laura M

Jul 31, 2021

​Very insightful - amazing to learn how interconnected each of the goals and their targets are.

By Søren P S

Feb 16, 2020

Very well organized and relevant. Maybe some of the links and articles should soon be updated

By Dr. P K K

May 3, 2020

The course is very useful to know the current situation happening in and around our globe.

By Lisa O

Apr 9, 2021

Very insightful, delivered through a variety of mediums- very useful notes and materials

By Myriam O M

May 11, 2020

It requires some knowledge of sustainable development and history on ecological terms