Chevron Left
Back to The Sustainable Development Goals – A global, transdisciplinary vision for the future

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Sustainable Development Goals – A global, transdisciplinary vision for the future by University of Copenhagen

4.8
stars
2,769 ratings
732 reviews

About the Course

In 2015, the UN launched the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Adopted by 193 member states, the goals represent an important international step in setting humanity on a trajectory towards sustainable development. Within this course, you will get a historical overview of how sustainability has been understood, as well as a thorough introduction to the SDGs – what they are, how progress can be measured, and how the SDGs are relevant for the management of the global systems supporting humanity. The course will examine how various societal actors are responding to and implementing the SDGs. While all of the SDGs are essential to sustainable development, SDG 13, Climate Action, is usually perceived as the most urgent in terms of the need for a swift implementation on a global scale. Therefore, particular focus is given to this SDG. Through the course, you will gain up-to-date knowledge of the current understanding of human impacts on the Earth at the planetary level. Progress towards establishing global management of human interactions with the climate system within the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) is also discussed. The course is designed and taught by Professor Katherine Richardson, who is a member of the 15-person panel appointed by the UN General Secretary in 2016 to write the 2019 Global Sustainable Development Report. In each lecture, Katherine interviews experts who provide insights relevant to the topic at hand....

Top reviews

JM
Jul 18, 2020

Thank you for offering this course (The Sustainable Development Goals-A global transdisciplinary vision for the future). I have passed it but I am not sure how can i get the certificate at this stage.

JJ
Jul 15, 2020

I loved it, ver interesting and relevant information to the situation we face nowadays! Everyone should take this course to understand that we must evolve as a society to have a better world for all.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 727 Reviews for The Sustainable Development Goals – A global, transdisciplinary vision for the future

By STEPHANIE S

May 3, 2020

i am working in metal recycling industry over 15 years. thanks for this course to help me think and review my career again~ sustainable strategy - Do well make money & do good solve social & environmental problems.

By Noratiqah A

Jul 6, 2019

I have learnt so much from this course. The videos and delivery is clear and concise. Information especially the reading materials provided were interesting and makes me want to delve in more to understand the UNSDG.

By stephen s

Mar 13, 2019

A great overview and explanation of the SDG's. I particularly liked the interview format. Much preferred over strictly lecture. As well it pointed me towards some outstanding new resources such as doughnut economics.

By Rebekka A

Jun 8, 2018

This course has given me a great overview of the global goals and sustainability seen from different sceintific angles. I have learned a lot, and gotten many usefull articles, that I can use in the future. Thank You!

By Arun K R

Jun 9, 2020

Good insights and interesting facts and figures about SDG adoption and its need. The course is delivered in simple language and interaction with various experts are quite informative in multidimensional perspective.

By Matthieu B

Jan 18, 2019

Very enlightening course about the SDGs. Good insights about the interconnectedness of the SDGs; the need for considering both planetary boundaries AND social boundaries to achieve sustainable development for all.

By T. S K

Jun 22, 2020

This course will give a different perspective on how to see development. This course clarifies and shows insights on Inequality, Economics, Environment, Climate change, Resilience etc., Very structured learning.

By Ana V

Aug 24, 2019

It is a fantastic course, packed with useful and clear information only.

I loved it included so many interviews with experts that gave first hand opinion on the burning questions.

Enjoyed it very much. Thank you!

By P S N M

Apr 4, 2020

Really a good course indeed. Got a reasonably fair understanding of SDGs and its relevance and importance for the present world. Nice reading material and videos with good contents. A good course to pursue

By Yolandi B

Mar 31, 2020

This course is very insightful and helped me to overcome my bias regarding that sustainable development is not about humans, just to realise it is all about human welfare. Thank you for this wonderful course.

By Sofía A Z H

Oct 6, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, it was better than what I expected. It was amazingly interactive. Also, the readings and lectures were easy to follow, which helped me understand more profiundly the material.

By Aman Z

May 29, 2020

The course was simply amazing. So much of information in such concise form. It is very relevant to the day also. This course can help any and every individual to live as a better citizen on this planet.

By Lynn M W

Jan 29, 2020

I really enjoyed the course! The reading material and the videos have been interesting and informative. I understood which impact the implementation of the SDGs could have on our planet and for humanity

By Nuzhat N

Nov 26, 2020

This Course is excellently organized to give a clear overview of sustainable development. I enjoyed the course very much and learned a lot. I would recommend this course to everyone interested in SGDs.

By Sanjana R Y

May 19, 2020

I found the course to be very informative and covers a wide range of scenarios which i wouldn't have been able to comprehend just by reading a definition or the outline of the issue covered. Thank you.

By Jeremiah M

Jul 18, 2020

Thank you for offering this course (The Sustainable Development Goals-A global transdisciplinary vision for the future). I have passed it but I am not sure how can i get the certificate at this stage.

By Marta W

Apr 29, 2020

Well built course content, giving good, balanced overview of the SDGs their different aspects. Thorough and constructive approach. Recommended for anyone intrested in knowing more about the SDGs!

By Edwina-Liz S

Nov 18, 2020

The course contains a very interesting global view of the sustainable development goal that makes want to start finding solutions to reach these goals and reach sustainable economic development

By Мифтахутдинов Р И

May 4, 2020

Thanks a lot for this MOOC! Lectures as well as core readings are very interesting, though the course itself is very short, maybe it would be better so make this course lasting 4-5 weeks or so.

By Rohan M

May 28, 2020

It's great to learn the basics about the UN SDGs, the goals which will build a roadmap to the sustainable growth of the world, keeping climate change and other important factors in the center.

By Ervin J D P

Sep 16, 2020

Very insightful lecture based on the SDGs that will equip you with new perspectives on how the world should tackle sustainability and how the SDGs play a crucial role in development economics

By Juliana A K

May 3, 2020

A carefully designed course with very qualified faculty and guest lecturers who provided great insights. T Relevant course materials and the insights provided are great. I feel equipped to ta

By Lina N

Jun 8, 2020

It is a short and useful course on SDG. A lot of interesting interviews with distinguished guest from academic and business. Also reading materials adds many interesting views on the SDG.

By Inesa Z

Oct 28, 2020

Thanks for a very fundamental course on SDGs, scientific analysis of existing aproaches and a possibility to learn the positions of leading experts. It was bot useful and challenging!

By Rooschell M T

Nov 2, 2020

It helped me understand and open my mind to the world's problems and it has solutions and goals that we need to achieve with cooperation of every one. Thank you Professor Richardson!