Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Go

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Go by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
1,510 ratings
390 reviews

About the Course

Learn the basics of Go, an open source programming language originally developed by a team at Google and enhanced by many contributors from the open source community. This course is designed for individuals with previous programming experience using such languages as C, Python, or Java, and covers the fundamental elements of Go. Topics include data types, protocols, formats, and writing code that incorporates RFCs and JSON. Most importantly, you’ll have a chance to practice writing Go programs and receive feedback from your peers. Upon completing this course, you'll be able to implement simple Go programs, which will prepare you for subsequent study at a more advanced level....

Top reviews

JP
Apr 4, 2020

Great intro. If you already know the basics, you probably don't need this course though. Not much of a deep dive, more of a "skim the surface" type course. Week 4 on IO was the most beneficial for me.

AN
Oct 23, 2020

Very detailed, nice introduction to golang's basic concepts. Might need to google to find better ways to handle some requirements of the assignments, but overall a cool programming language to learn.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 386 Reviews for Getting Started with Go

By Adam G

Jun 16, 2020

Great course - videos straightforward (and dare I say, endearing - the professor has a sense of humor and conversational ease that's often rare with this kind of technical material). Helped me to accelerate my curiosity about Go.

By Mohammed T M

Apr 29, 2020

The instructor was very precise with all the explanations and definitions. The assignments were a bit difficult, some typos in 'maps' section and less code examples, other than these things the course was really good!

By Alejandro A

Sep 11, 2020

Great course and very well explained, also the instructor enter into details of basic data structures, memory management, pointers, etc. Which helps a lot to understand correctly the topics that he's talking about.

By karan s

Oct 1, 2018

I really encourage you to take this course if you want to understand golang. I have watched couple of course on pluralsight, youtube, and other blogs. But professor Lan Harris is really a knowledgeable professor.

By Bas D

Feb 2, 2020

Great introduction to the Go programming language. Great teacher, easy to follow along. Programming challenges are challenging enough, don’t expect to breeze through them after skimming the videos and slides.

By Linda M K

Apr 6, 2021

Excellent.

I'd like for assignments to be clear about which packages are intended for each assignment. (I was struggling trying to not use bufio package, since this pkg was never mentioned in the course)

By Pranav S T

Jun 13, 2020

It is a great course with all basics covered. I recommend you have prior programming knowledge. But if you don' t have, still you can take this course as all basics are covered. It is full worth course.

By Andrew N

Oct 23, 2020

Very detailed, nice introduction to golang's basic concepts. Might need to google to find better ways to handle some requirements of the assignments, but overall a cool programming language to learn.

By arman n

Mar 14, 2021

I thank Professor Ian Harris for her excellent knowledge.

And thank you to the coursera for providing this good course.

This course was great and helped me a lot.

I wish success to the coursera team.

By SAJID A

Mar 5, 2021

A very good course for intermediate GO learners. I won't recommend this course to absolute beginners, It will be very helpful if you learn some basics of the GO language before taking the course

By Pedro B B

Jan 30, 2021

Nice fundamentals of the Go programming language. By the end of the course you'll be able to write functions that use basic variables, slices, structs, maps, functions, JSON, et cetera. Thanks!

By Thanadon B

Jun 20, 2020

This course contains full detail of basic programming for Golang. The assignment seems very challenged for beginners. I would suggest someone who wants to learn Golang. This course is helpful.

By Miguel P N

Jun 4, 2020

Great specialization! Professor Harris not only explain the constructs of Go extremely well but also provides some foundations on software development that every developer should have.

By Tanner O

Apr 11, 2019

Extremely well paced explanation of Go and its unique properties over other languages. A great start to learning about the Go language for anyone with basic knowledge of programming.

By Kyle B

Jan 19, 2019

Amazing how much of a difference good teaching makes. The content is really well explained and easy to follow. I understand not only Go but all software languages much better now.

By Devon E

Nov 8, 2019

Excellent course - well explained, and the exercises complement the lessons really well, requiring you to do some of your own research to build on what you've been taught. Great.

By Ravi P V

Jul 8, 2020

Assignments are challenging !!! Enjoyed it !!! Would definitely like more in-depth introduction on the documentation in Go Lang and also more clear directions on the assignments

By Emilio C

Oct 10, 2019

An excellent introduction to the world of Go. The professor is very good to explain, the videos are concise and go straight to the point to allow you to get down to work in Go.

By Gourav S

Jun 27, 2020

It's an excellent course to start with Go Programming language. I had experience in C and Python before. The professor was excellent. The basics are now entirely clear for me.

By Matthew C L

Jun 1, 2020

Very well written, exercises are well thought out. Definitely worth taking if you want to get into go programming language and have a little computer science background.

By Jean-Baptiste M

May 17, 2020

A good introduction to Go in a general way. I recommend this course if you would like to learn a new language but not if you don't know any other programming language

By Justin E

Oct 19, 2019

Was easy to follow and I like that it assumes you had some programming already. I would like to see maybe more detail on why GO does slices with length and capacity.

By samuel o

Feb 13, 2021

This is my very first completed course on Coursera. This was possible because the instructor was great. I recommend this for anyone looking to become familar with Go

By Neetish P

Sep 18, 2018

I have done other courses on Golang from the internet. However, I was looking for a course with assignments and quizzes and this one was quite useful in that respect

By Gautam B

Jun 11, 2020

Great Course. Goes over the fundamentals of Go and was easy for me to transition into coming from a Python background. I enjoyed Professor Harris's teaching style.