Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Go

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Go by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
1,566 ratings
397 reviews

About the Course

Learn the basics of Go, an open source programming language originally developed by a team at Google and enhanced by many contributors from the open source community. This course is designed for individuals with previous programming experience using such languages as C, Python, or Java, and covers the fundamental elements of Go. Topics include data types, protocols, formats, and writing code that incorporates RFCs and JSON. Most importantly, you’ll have a chance to practice writing Go programs and receive feedback from your peers. Upon completing this course, you'll be able to implement simple Go programs, which will prepare you for subsequent study at a more advanced level....

Top reviews

JP
Apr 4, 2020

Great intro. If you already know the basics, you probably don't need this course though. Not much of a deep dive, more of a "skim the surface" type course. Week 4 on IO was the most beneficial for me.

AN
Oct 23, 2020

Very detailed, nice introduction to golang's basic concepts. Might need to google to find better ways to handle some requirements of the assignments, but overall a cool programming language to learn.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 393 Reviews for Getting Started with Go

By Muminur R

May 5, 2020

A great course for learning Go. The explanation of Professor Ian Harris is precise and clear. Loved the course.

By Dmitrii B

Apr 23, 2020

Really novice level, but good explanatory and nice speaker, easy to listen. Some topics can be shorten in half.

By Brian L

Jun 24, 2020

Concepts like slices should be given more air time to help course takers better understand the data structure.

By Jhonatan Z

Jul 5, 2020

Nice material and also the instructor has a lot of knowledge everything he explains is natural in his words.

By pseudocoder k

May 7, 2021

Easy to follow and have a byte of information. I am more excited to take other courses from Ian. Thank you!

By Anubhav K S

Sep 20, 2020

Awesome and easy to learn and understand

Thanks to teacher and Coursera for this program and this platform

By Michael W

Feb 12, 2019

Great teacher! Very useful information for people with knowledge of other languages trying to jump into Go

By Vidhan G

Aug 15, 2020

Good course for beginners in go programming , teaches some of the most basic stuff in a detailed manner!!

By Iziren O

Sep 28, 2018

Excellent Course! Having actual exercises in the Go language has helped me fortify my skills in Golang.

By Paul A

Nov 22, 2018

Muy buen curso, comienza con conceptos básicos antes de meterse de lleno a la programación con Golang

By Lionel M

Feb 17, 2021

Sometimes had to google certain things to complete assignments, but overall good introduction to Go.

By KTоТо N

May 22, 2020

Great course! My thanks to the Mr. Ian Harris! Thanks to him and UCI and coursera for this course!

By Shiewhun

Sep 23, 2020

Enjoyed it. And I really like the teacher's style and exercises and the peer-review opportunities

By Bryan C

Apr 12, 2021

Very satisfied. Lecturer explain the features and details very well and understandable easily.

By Indra T C

Jan 17, 2019

Good kick starter for GoLang beginners.

Prequisite: Python or Java knowledge is recommended.

By Asi Z

Oct 10, 2020

great course, the assignments complete the online video lecture to give the "full picture "

By Jochen M

Jan 18, 2020

Nice and neat attempt for intruducing Go with consise and compact material. Good to follow.

By Camilo T B

Jul 7, 2020

Great course to understand all the basics. The videos are short and are well explained.

By Diogo M

Jan 14, 2019

Great course/instructor. Looking forward to take the other courses related to this one.

By Robin Z

Mar 18, 2019

Very good introduction to Go! I am an experienced C developer and I didn't get bored.

By Sai N G

Mar 13, 2021

Best course I have even gone through with utmost interactive sessions and quiz tests

By Katharina K

Feb 25, 2021

This course deepened my understanding of Go and made me feel confident in my skills.

By Ramana M

Jun 1, 2020

Prof. Harris was lucid and provided great insights into the Go programming language.

By Damilola O

May 27, 2019

I learnt a lot of the intricate basics that i most definitely would have overlooked.

By Sebastian G V

Apr 27, 2020

Well explained. Could go faster but I think it's a good introduction for beginners.