Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Google Kubernetes Engine

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Google Kubernetes Engine by Google Cloud

4.5
stars
3,135 ratings
653 reviews

About the Course

This course equips students to containerize workloads in Docker containers, deploy them to Kubernetes clusters provided by Google Kubernetes Engine, and scale those workloads to handle increased traffic. Students also learn how to continuously deploy new code in a Kubernetes cluster to provide application updates. * Introduce concepts regarding containers and Docker. * Understand basics of Kubernetes. * Understand deploying to Kubernetes. * Create a continuous delivery pipeline. >>> By enrolling in this course you agree to the Qwiklabs Terms of Service as set out in the FAQ and located at: https://qwiklabs.com/terms_of_service <<<...

Top reviews

NP
May 6, 2018

The course can help deep understanding docker and learn about google Kubernetes that amazing product from google help deploy software or web app ,scaling, and management of containerized applications.

SB
Dec 12, 2020

I already learnt GKE from Qwiklabs courses. But there are new things that I learnt now, like Architecture of K8s, Edge presence of GCP (GKE), Still there are things that can be taught about Anthos.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 652 Reviews for Getting Started with Google Kubernetes Engine

By Jeongwon

Mar 27, 2019

Good

By JUNGTEAK L

Mar 24, 2019

nice

By Jinjun S

Feb 28, 2018

Good

By Jinuk S

Aug 11, 2019

수고링

By SongChiOh

Mar 23, 2019

thx

By 제한재

Aug 10, 2019

By KimHJ

Mar 24, 2019

d

By Albert C

Mar 2, 2020

The fact that you have the option in the labs to not only "follow the line" and execute the commands described, but also execute whatever you want and use Linux CLI knowledge was fun.

However I think there is an issue with the last lab, the one with Spinnaker, while using helm to install Spinnaker, it returns a time out error. After that, when trying to clean everything to start over, I received a version mismatch for helm client-server sides; upgraded and tried again but the time out error remained.

By John M

Feb 18, 2019

This is a great introduction course to Kubernetes on GKE. It provides some great step-by-step labs to help you get started with GKE. The videos are easy to follow and well done. The only complaint I have is there are some repos that you clone that give you a perfect setup for success. It doesn't explain in detail how a yaml is created, what those magic configurations actually do. I wish it also covered connection to google cloud sql from docker in kubernetes with Nginx. That would be AWESOME. :-)

By Michael P

Jun 20, 2018

Generally a good introduction to Kubernetes. The text spoken on the videos is not 100% accurate, but you get the idea. To seriously study Kubernetes Engine, you need more, e.g. read the docs and play around. The labs don't really teach latest best practices in my opinion, so don't copy past the solutions (e.g. Jenkins pipeline) for your real world project without further studies. The course material could also use some copy editing. Disclaimer: I had some previous knowledge of Kubernetes.

By Richard H

Sep 21, 2018

The labs were helpful enough that the course overall was pretty informative. But the videos/lectures were really bad. Most of them gave the impression that the lecturer was seeing these slides for the first time as he was presenting them; there were several instances where it seemed like he was stumbling through the content to the point where what he was saying wasn't even logically equivalent to the material in the slides themselves.

By Bobby D

Jan 10, 2019

Overall, the course was helpful for an initial overview/introduction of Kubernetes. That being said, I thought the technical speaker in the videos was not always clear in his explanations. The labs were indeed useful, but some of the commands used in the labs need to be updated. In my opinion, the "Continuous Deployment with Jenkins" lab was the worst content, with at least one incorrect/broken command, and should be rewritten.

By Prafulla S K

Mar 10, 2018

Liked the emphasis on using cloud shell and not the console. Liked the fact that the instructions point out the use of templating inside the kubectl commands. Some instructions were misleading in the labs and some were just missing. But, a very good learning overall. I feel confident that I can take this learning and apply it to my work project, and in the process educate my colleagues and impress the bosses. :)

By Marcio S d S

Dec 14, 2018

Gostei muito do curso por apresentar de forma clara as vantagens de se utilizar Kubernetes. Talvez seria interessante ter alguns outros pequenos apps que fossem mais simples e práticos para se desenvolver, ainda mais para quem está iniciando nesta área. De qualquer forma o curso é muito bom e acredito que deve ser mais divulgado para que pessoas interessadas possam ter contato com este ambiente.

By Jasmeet S B

Aug 22, 2020

Very High Level Introduction to The Use case and Hands On Practical Lab Allowed Me to Experience and Learn How The World Of Cloud Computing Operates With the Knowledge Of the Fundamentals of Container,use case of Kubernetes engine and its Application like Jenkins It Well Help Me to Prioritize Cloud Over anY other Technology as It Offers Continuous Integration and Delivery.

By George J

Feb 10, 2018

Concise. Lecture material a little rushed, occasionally being read off slides. Labs are useful, although need to focus on understanding what each of the commands (and all the prepared code) is doing. Ran into errors with Jenkins authorization and realized that restarting a lab is difficult, so important to ensure you're following instructions carefully.

By Kartik P K

Sep 2, 2018

Some of the labs were pretty amazing and I learnt a lot of amazing things, but also some were exceptionally hard to understand like the last lab which talked about deploying to jenkins which I found to be hard to understand and I think I might have to go through the lab again after some research into it by myself first. Anyway the course was worth it.

By Patricio S A

Jun 1, 2018

It would be perfect. But I had permissions problems in last lab

Error from server (Forbidden): clusterrolebindings.rbac.authorization.k8s.io is forbidden: User "google495114_student@qwiklabs.net" cannot create clusterrolebindings.rbac.authorization.k8s.io at the cluster scope: Required "container.clusterRoleBindings.create" permission.

By James T

Mar 16, 2018

Quite good in becoming familiar with Google Kubernetes Engine. I would suggest trying not to make it obvious that the instructor is reading as they are presenting.

The steps in the labs were spot on.

Sometimes it can be beneficial to learn from mistakes or own experimentation as long as the students have somewhere to go if they need help.

By Dmitriy M

May 27, 2019

It's a good high-level overview of what Kubernetes is and how you can use it to setup CI/CD and blue-green deployment process. This course information is not enough and supplementary self-study will be required if you'd like to start using Kubernetes. There was one issue with with a final lab in which I wasn't able to install Helm.

By Alan T

Oct 5, 2020

Excellent Overview of GKE with practical labs.

Would have wanted to see more around GKE networking and storage, even if a lot of this is abstracted away inside the GKE Master (managed by Google).

The labs on deployment are also very detailed, and possibly difficult to follow if you're either new to Jenkins or Spinnaker.

By Gary F P

Oct 7, 2019

There were a few issues with quiklabs but otherwise a really good course. I sort of wish the labs spent more time on what the commands were actually doing. but i get that theres some setup required thats not a part of the course content. might be better if that was scripted then if its not going to get elaborated on.

By IOANNIS P

Sep 1, 2018

Covers a lot of ground and gives valuable insight, IMHO the only drawback is that is targeted to Google Cloud, so the examples would need significant effort to be reproduced in other environment i.e AWS, Azure or Minicube.

I also have to mention the very good support, while I needed it, been stuck in one of the labs.

By Mostafa T H

Aug 24, 2020

The labs are great, but in many stages the instruction ask only for blind obedience instead of trying to explain what is actually happening. I think this would be useful if you already know Kubernetes, CI-CD, Jenkins, or Spinnaker and you just want to see how to use these tools within the Google Cloud Platform.

By Rafael S O

Jul 28, 2018

De modo geral o curso é muito bom, intuitivo e as perguntas fazem sentido.

Porém infelizmente não consegui concluir o lab no último módulo, o que para mim era o mais importante por se tratar de uma configuração de ambiente que ocorre muito no mundo real.

Se não fosse isso, seria 5 estrelas sem dúvidas.

Obrigado.