Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
18,054 ratings
5,495 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

MH

Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

OI

Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

Filter by:

4576 - 4600 of 5,470 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Maria F G G

Nov 21, 2018

I found this course very helpful. I didn't know the 99% of the information before taking this course. I highly recommend Grammar and punctuation for all whom need to improve their writting skills in a easy and understandable way.

By Sarah N

Feb 2, 2016

This was a very well done course with many different ways to practice the skills being taught. There are a few bugs in the assignment section, particularly in week 4, that impacted students' ability to review one anothers' work.

By Hiba U U

Jul 31, 2020

The course has been very useful in writing sentences correctly and using different forms of sentences. Although fluent in english speaking I was weak in grammer. This helped me a lot to get through and gain information.

By Rahmatullah H

Sep 24, 2016

The course is well explained and covers the topic nicely, however, a prior knowledge of grammar and punctuation is required. The instructor has clear pronunciation and a smile on her face that makes learning enjoyable.

By rushell

Nov 2, 2016

I found it to be enjoyable, the teacher lectures where well understood and I also enjoyed the test. I had enough information that also helped me to take down notes. I have recommended few of my friends. Thank you all.

By Ralph-Jordie

Jan 30, 2016

I enjoyed this course very much. However, I miss feedback!

Maybe it's because I did the free course and did not pay. But, sometimes I still don't understand why I did something wrong.

As an introduction this is perfect.

By Domingo V

Jan 17, 2016

Excellent course to refresh the English Grammar and its Punctuation. An overview to students who want to understand the fundamentals of the English Language and utilize the content as a reference for upcoming studies.

By Keval V

Jul 25, 2020

Course is very good but there are few things I want UCI to improve. Include discussion forums, update those practice links since they are outdated and not working and finally, I wanted last week to be more elobrated.

By Saveer S S

Nov 24, 2015

Hello,

The overall content or education on English grammar was good. It made me to correct lot of things which I used to find difficult or project it wrong. Thank you for educating me correctly. Appreciate your work.

By MEGAVATH A

May 12, 2020

It was an good experience by learning this course ..it will help in my career ..and also for others ..thank you the instructor who explained very easy way to understand all grammar andpunctuation ...good course ...

By Mohamed M

Jul 2, 2020

I liked this course, but it required some explanation. To be more accurate, the last week in the course needs more effort to look perfect. However, I have learned a lot from the instructor, and she added me much.

By Fernanda B d S

Jun 24, 2016

I liked very much this course. I had forgot many of these grammatical rules, so it was really good for me. As in any other language, English is not easy, you have to practice daily, even that be just a little bit.

By Ashwag A

Jul 16, 2020

I love it ,thank you so much for your information.

I just want to comment a bout one thing, I couldn't open some links during the course, by the way , I am using laptop so I think the problem is technical problem

By Nahida Y

Jul 20, 2020

Thank you, Coursera, for this beautiful platform of enhancing our knowledge and understanding. This was the first course that I completed. I am glad to say that it was a great help to extend my understanding.

By Gabriela L F

Jan 6, 2016

Great course for students who need to polish their English or refresh some grammar and punctuation. I'm a teacher of ESL, and I got new sources to explain punctuation, conjunctions and tenses to my students.

By shajib a

Oct 3, 2020

this course is very organized and helpful. I learned many important things, indeed. In addition, writing is always a tricky part for me, but now I am confident that I will do good, after doing this course.

By Jose L H P

Jun 4, 2020

I liked it, you will get an introduction to grammar rules with a focus on punctuation. I had expected more writing practice. In a couple of weeks, I might sign up for the next level of this specialization.

By Indranil S

Sep 24, 2020

The course is well structured. It focuses on the key aspects which one needs to learn and focus on for improving his/ her English writing skills. The focus on verb and tenses can be a bit more extensive.

By Shamiela M

Dec 26, 2019

On week 4, one of the assignments did not allow us to write in answers directly and had to save it as a word document etc. This was very inconvenient. I hope you change this requirement in other courses!

By Jessica M C

Oct 27, 2016

This course provided the basics in English grammar and punctuation. The lecturer gives a lot of good examples and provides the learners with enough opportunities to practice whatever is being discussed.

By jefferson a

Jan 22, 2016

it was a great course, it helped me a lot reviewing my English grammar. I appreciate for everything and I will recommend this course to everyone who wants to write better the English language. Thanks

By Blue C R

May 21, 2020

This is the perfect course for either people who want a refresher on grammar and punctuation or for people who speak english as a second language and were never taught sentence structuring in school.

By Devika R

May 24, 2020

I am really satisfied with this course. With the help of this course , I have improved my English writing skills. I have learned a lot of new things, and I am really glad that I took up this course.

By Yufan L

Jan 16, 2016

The terminology is likely to be difficult for ESLs, and the guidance is likely too easy for native speakers.

Spent most of the time on 2.0x speed and multitasking because it wasn't nuanced enough.

By Gomer J L

Jun 8, 2020

This is my first time in Coursera, and I am amazingly impressed by this toolkit. However, some features for the commas and sentence variety practice test did not pop up. I hope it can be fixed.