Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
17,775 ratings
5,413 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

OI
Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

MH
Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

Filter by:

4676 - 4700 of 5,384 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Fahmida H

May 3, 2020

I like the course materials, but I think it will be great if there are more practice sentences and quizzes.

By Deleted A

Mar 15, 2019

I didnt expect the understanding and learning, that I had when I started the course online. Thank you Team.

By Lan X

Jan 12, 2016

This course is a good review of what I have learnt before, and it clears out some confusions. Quite useful.

By shayesteh s

Apr 9, 2021

The course was practical and to the point; however, creativity and fun assignments are the things missing.

By Joaquín S

Nov 28, 2020

Está muy bueno y bien explicado, lastima que algunas practicas no cargan, por lo tanto no se pueden hacer.

By Megumi T

Jan 27, 2020

The explanation is simple, so that you can understand the rules of punctuation easily through this course.

By Hanyan Z

Oct 26, 2020

It was a very useful course, and I learned how to use punctuation and how to create variety of sentences.

By Carolina H

Jan 2, 2016

This course is very comprehensive, especially if you want to learn where to put commas in your sentences!

By Frank R S A

Nov 28, 2020

I learnt many rules that I did not know at this point. Thanks for this short lesson but very productive.

By Alif R

Apr 19, 2020

The quiz sections was not that much easy, needed some terrible focusing and complete idea on the topics.

By Karolína P

Aug 11, 2019

Content was very well structured and helpful. However, multiple external practice resources didn't work.

By Amin k

Feb 11, 2016

It's a good course, and it has a good structure to push student forward to improve their writing skills.

By Bhargav G

Oct 24, 2015

simple and effective tips on the writing, I have learnt few rules which i can use in my regular writing.

By German A R

Oct 18, 2015

It's a really good course when you are trying to understand more of the grammar and improve your writing

By Agnisikha S M

Nov 16, 2021

This course is good ,but if it provides more practice worksheet that would be more useful for learners.

By Chandni

Jun 30, 2020

It's a very good course. I suggest everyone to learn from this online course, it's very helpful for me.

By Bashaer

Apr 1, 2017

Every thing was good ,but I wish if the English teacher corrected my assignment and gave me a feedback.

By Mike A

Nov 30, 2020

There seems to be some information missing from the lessons. I'm not sure how to, or where to find it.

By chace

Feb 24, 2018

Very good! But I think it's more suitable for high school students, as the course's content is simple.

By Celso O

Dec 3, 2015

It was my first Coursera course. Exceeded my expectations with the way how the lessons were explained.

By Jayanth S

Dec 26, 2018

this is a very good course, I was able to learn a lot about the sentence structure, and punctuations.

By CARMEN G B M

Jul 8, 2020

I really like to take this course, but I would have liked to do a reminder at the end of the course.

By Mohamed M A

Jan 16, 2018

needs more example's and need to explained it more

but it's great course i know too much thank you <3

By Junaid A

Jul 28, 2017

Very good course for the beginners,especially those who remind tenses and basic punctuation's rules.

By Anell-Claris P

Jun 6, 2021

I recommend doing this course. Effective and relevant material and assessments. Very easy to follow