Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
18,651 ratings

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

MH

Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

OI

Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

Filter by:

4701 - 4725 of 5,631 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Ioana

Oct 19, 2021

I liked the punctuation part as it was very helpful to me, but the grammar was presented too briefly to be useful. Also, it is the first course I've taken where the forum discussions weren't available to all learners, which was a surprise.

By Nima F

Apr 22, 2019

Great course on the basics of good grammar and Punctuation. I feel there is a lot more to grammar than what is provided; however, this is a great start for anyone looking to polish up on verb tenses, basic sentence structure and punctuation.

By Viviana R

Jul 10, 2020

I would be better if we can interchange comments with classmates when someone grades a task. Because, they can leave a message about the mistakes but you can't reply them. Which doesn't allow us to make feedback or ask them about the grade.

By Ellie K

Mar 19, 2016

Good course! Don't be leave the course if the pre-course test results suggest you may be too good for the course. The grammar part was a review for the most part, but the punctuation section taught me a good deal of the rules I didn't know.

By Johanna A M A

Oct 19, 2015

This course is simple and easy to follow. The lesson that had a great impact on me was about commas. When I learned about it's proper usage, I realized how long I'd been using commas in the wrong way! Thank you UC Irvine for this course! ;)

By Giulia D

Jan 2, 2016

I found this course very useful and instructive. I finally could learn some rules which my teachers were never able to clearly explain to me.

It is only a pity that I could not receive a certificate of attendance without paying the fee...

By Fariha S

Jun 30, 2020

It was fun learning however, the criteria should be strict when us learners are answering questions and not give us second chances to correct ourselves.

Secondly,

Would the certificate be useful if I want to apply outside my own country?

By BEYZANUR P

Mar 14, 2021

You should take this course. Because this course very useful for your essay writing and punctuation. Thanks for everything:) I gave four stars, because some exercises don't open. However, the rest of the course will be helpful for you.

By Moussa s

Nov 1, 2019

Well taking this course helps me a lot in my academic writing and it's full of knowledge. As you know am a writer and that course is really interesting and I gain skills on that. Now i feel comfortable and i enjoy writring. Thank a lot

By Danielle C

Jan 3, 2018

This was a great refresher course for me. It has been quite a few years since I studied grammar and punctuation, and I found that I had forgotten certain rules. My only problem was with some technical glitches. Otherwise, great course.

By Churamani P

Sep 22, 2015

The course focuses on some of the most important aspects of English grammar which are used frequently. Also, these are the topics where students tend to make mistakes. However, few additional topics could have been added to the course

By Safa B P

May 10, 2020

It was a good experience. Even though I'm an undergraduate student, these were some basic knowledge I was not completely aware of. I might have forgotten many rules. This helped me to strengthen my foundation. I do had a great time.

By Laurence C

May 30, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed and it helped me reconnect with some of the theories taught many many years ago. It took a few attempts in some parts.

there were some technical issues with some of the practice modules. I reported these. Thanks.

By Maria F G G

Nov 21, 2018

I found this course very helpful. I didn't know the 99% of the information before taking this course. I highly recommend Grammar and punctuation for all whom need to improve their writting skills in a easy and understandable way.

By Sarah N

Feb 2, 2016

This was a very well done course with many different ways to practice the skills being taught. There are a few bugs in the assignment section, particularly in week 4, that impacted students' ability to review one anothers' work.

By Hiba U U

Jul 31, 2020

The course has been very useful in writing sentences correctly and using different forms of sentences. Although fluent in english speaking I was weak in grammer. This helped me a lot to get through and gain information.

By Rahmat H

Sep 24, 2016

The course is well explained and covers the topic nicely, however, a prior knowledge of grammar and punctuation is required. The instructor has clear pronunciation and a smile on her face that makes learning enjoyable.

By rushell

Nov 2, 2016

I found it to be enjoyable, the teacher lectures where well understood and I also enjoyed the test. I had enough information that also helped me to take down notes. I have recommended few of my friends. Thank you all.

By Ralph-Jordie

Jan 30, 2016

I enjoyed this course very much. However, I miss feedback!

Maybe it's because I did the free course and did not pay. But, sometimes I still don't understand why I did something wrong.

As an introduction this is perfect.

By Domingo V

Jan 17, 2016

Excellent course to refresh the English Grammar and its Punctuation. An overview to students who want to understand the fundamentals of the English Language and utilize the content as a reference for upcoming studies.

By Keval V

Jul 25, 2020

Course is very good but there are few things I want UCI to improve. Include discussion forums, update those practice links since they are outdated and not working and finally, I wanted last week to be more elobrated.

By Saveer S S

Nov 24, 2015

Hello,

The overall content or education on English grammar was good. It made me to correct lot of things which I used to find difficult or project it wrong. Thank you for educating me correctly. Appreciate your work.

By MEGAVATH A

May 12, 2020

It was an good experience by learning this course ..it will help in my career ..and also for others ..thank you the instructor who explained very easy way to understand all grammar andpunctuation ...good course ...

By Mohamed M

Jul 2, 2020

I liked this course, but it required some explanation. To be more accurate, the last week in the course needs more effort to look perfect. However, I have learned a lot from the instructor, and she added me much.

By Fernanda B d S

Jun 24, 2016

I liked very much this course. I had forgot many of these grammatical rules, so it was really good for me. As in any other language, English is not easy, you have to practice daily, even that be just a little bit.