Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
18,579 ratings

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

MH

Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

OI

Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

Filter by:

4726 - 4750 of 5,606 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By R. D H

Mar 20, 2020

Instructions and actions in some of the practices are neither intuitive nor are they clear. It appears that some are written with the assumption that a student has taken the class before.

By Nidhi D

Aug 9, 2020

It was a great experience to go through this course. It gave me more insight into the sentence making. I really learned the use of commas and other punctuation, really enjoyed the course.

By Paola S

Mar 1, 2017

In my opinion, it was a good course because it was well structured, understandable and easy to follow. Even tough I found it useful, I would like to find more content on english grammar.

By Lita W

Sep 2, 2021

Yes, I completed the course, but I don't feel totally confident that I know all of the content. For example, I need more help with parallel structure and comma use in complex sentences.

By Nguyen D K

Jun 21, 2020

The course is great with basic knowledge about the grammar and punctuation.

However, it is quite difficult to do the exercise (some files are good, the others have to be done in Firefox)

By BEGIN

Jan 18, 2016

I recommend this class to anyone willing to know how to punctuate and use correct tenses in English. The grammar rules are clearly explained and illustrated with many helpful examples.

By Lucas A

Apr 20, 2021

Excelent course, in a lesson the participant must upload a file, I believe it's a simple err.

Some information couldn't be open using Microsoft Edge.

The others componets are excelents!

By Pankti S

Mar 3, 2021

Best course for quick revision n grammar rules and usage. It is also perfect for a new learner to have some knowledge. The exercises and assignments add some more value o the course.

By Ji K

May 18, 2016

The course is quite informative and useful. However, I think the charge of 60e is too high since the skills introduced are both elementary and limited. 10e would be a proper price.

By ALMA T T R

Jul 9, 2022

Me gustó mucho este curso, sin embargo algunos links no abrieron correctamente, sería deseable poder corregir este detalle. Gracias y felicidades al equipo por el diseño del curso

By melody s

Dec 22, 2020

My first online course with Coursera was a great experience.

Refreshingly, I was able to re-learn the placing of punctuations, as well as, using the correct sentence structures.

By Girish K

Oct 2, 2015

The course was short and to the point which helped me understanding the use of punctuations specially Comma and semi colon and different types of sentence structures and variety.

By Karen

Oct 17, 2020

The content of the course is excellent; however, the course would be more beneficial if the instructors would provide feedback to the students as opposed to only peer feedback.

By Deleted A

Jul 10, 2020

The coure is amazing and really helpful! However, not everybody has Firefox, and it is hard to download on the internet, so they may miss the opportunities to take some quizes.

By Menna k s M

Dec 6, 2022

I benfited a lot from this course ,and I wish all learners start with this course. I like this experiment in coursera .I hope all learners take their courses from coursera ❤

By Akshat S

Mar 27, 2016

The course is apt for the people who are adept at speaking and amateur in writing. The course definitely improved the way I frame and put out my sentences for readers to read.

By Abdul K

Jun 12, 2020

I'm very glad to this course, but I suffered to open the links as I'm a mobile user.

I request Coursera to work on that issue;provide the links which can be open in phone,too.

By Chiku a

Aug 23, 2020

It was well categorized and objectified course with proper assessment test. It was great to interact a few of the people from all over the world. Thank you MOOC and Coursera

By Erin L

Feb 27, 2016

A simple introduction to grammar and punctuation that is well laid out and easy to understand. I explored this course as a refresher, and it served that purpose quite well!

By Laura B

Oct 20, 2020

Me encantó! Lo único que no me gustó es que algunos ejercicios dependan de tener firefox en la computadora. Creo que deberían estar disponibles para todos los navegadores.

By Yang Z

Nov 21, 2015

This course is very useful as It covers the essentials of English grammar. It's help me out of the explosion of grammar rules by presenting them in a combinatorial manner.

By Kurapati P

Jun 14, 2020

when i started this course , i dont know much about conjuctions,transitions,parallel sentence formation ;however, now i am able to understand those grammer punctuations

By Julie S

May 27, 2017

This was an excellent review of previous grammar courses I have taken, covering information that will be useful in continuing with the Academic Writing specialization.

By Y H

Jan 5, 2016

Good enough for students who know a little about English writing, but it is a little too easy for international students who have already begun their study in America.

By Deleted A

Mar 19, 2020

Mostly basic stuff. This is well structured and easy to follow and understand. However, if you are looking for advance grammar and punctuation course, this is not it.