Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
18,579 ratings

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

MH

Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

OI

Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

Filter by:

4751 - 4775 of 5,606 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By CRISTIANE F F D S

Jun 6, 2020

The course didactics it is very good ;however, it is not easy for beginners the exercises are difficult to understand for those who do not have a good english base .

By José A N M

Feb 10, 2016

Great class. Some slides show awful colors. I think that could be improved. Also professional transition betwixt slides could give the course a more "polished" look.

By Somaia H E

Mar 29, 2020

one of the most amazing courses as I've learned a lot . I did not face any problems understanding the teacher or the info. Thank you so much for your great efforts.

By Akshay N S

Jun 1, 2020

I was an awesome course. Week 1 and week 2 was the most helpful. But, I found week 3' and week 4's contents to be given more time than it should be actually given.

By Ariel H

Oct 25, 2015

This course is really useful, clear and well-organized.

It is not only teaching me how to use punctuation correctly, also developing my logical thinking in English.

By Ena X

Nov 11, 2015

A very good review on punctuation and tense. However, I think the course is a little too simple. I hope that the class could cover more grammar topics in depth.

By Annabe M

Jul 20, 2020

Content in this course is explained very well and gives one the motivation to learn many skills in a very short time. The quizzes are short and easy to complete.

By Hsu L

Oct 25, 2020

I like this course; it has helped me to obtain a clearer picture of English sentences. I also like that it provides many exercises and useful online resources.

By Julia S

May 2, 2022

This course gave me a clear understanding of punctuation, transitions, parallel structures etc. I have revised tense forms as well. That was a good practise.

By Fernanda L

Sep 4, 2020

When I studied English, I didn't give too much attention to puntuation, and this course emphasizes on that. Also, it gives you a complete verb tenses' review.

By Paúl C

Mar 4, 2018

I enjoyed this course. In order to plan the next step, however, I would like to see a video explaining how all the courses in the Specialization fit together.

By Majesty W F

Jan 7, 2016

I have learned a lot with this course! It's like you are really attending a class, and socializing everyday with your classmates. I really had fun. Thank you!

By Thisumi W

May 20, 2020

It was useful to identify my mistakes when using grammar. And i love the way of exercises. But sometimes repeating the same thing. totally I love this course

By Ekaterina

May 22, 2017

It was a very useful class for me. A lot of topics, in which I was confused, were clarified during the course. However, not all punctuation rules were given.

By Virginie M

Apr 15, 2017

I am glad to have learn and understood better what was covered in this class. I think there would have been opportunity to explore grammar even more, deeper.

By MINQI C

Jul 14, 2019

I think for the homework part could be more challenge, and some of the exercise pages could not be opened. Overall, it is a great course, and I recommended.

By Estefania G M

May 21, 2020

I decided to enroll in this course, and it has been a great experience. Definitely, this course met my expectations, and set my knowledge to keep learning.

By Fairouz

Feb 6, 2016

Very simple and easy to follow instructions. The lessons, exercises, and peer reviews are all interesting. I learned so much from this module. Thank you!

By Abhishek R

Jun 28, 2022

It really helpful course with new information about writing and about punctuations. I am glad that I got this great chance to learn from here. Thankyou!

By M J

Mar 13, 2021

I thought I would write more, but in reality, we learn here how to use comma or how to think about good writing. In any case, it is helpful for writing.

By Earlina A

Jan 28, 2021

This course is perfect for persons who work and has a busy lifestyle. It enables you to learn at your own pace without the pressure of rigid time limes

By Jessica A R

Jun 19, 2020

Although the course was too easy for my level, I still liked it. The videos were short and relevant, and the instructor knows how to keep you engaged.

By serge

Dec 7, 2015

It si a great course! The minor comment, combining the subject of variety of sentences with commas and parallel structures could be a bit overloading.

By Alejandro V

Jan 13, 2023

Taking into account the amount of resources and the qulity of them, the material of the course is old-fashion. All the content looks old and boring.

By Zachary S

Mar 27, 2018

Great course. I definitely learned a lot. If you have a good grasp on grammar, a lot of this should be review. Overall, a lot of useful information.