Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
17,134 ratings
5,230 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

MH
Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

OI
Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

Filter by:

5026 - 5050 of 5,177 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Emily G

Jan 6, 2019

This course was informative and valuable although lacking in character and not particularly engaging. (a Ben-Stein-Bueller aura if you know what I mean). But if you have the patience and desire to really learn this stuff, it will suffice.

By Brandon L S

May 26, 2020

Very okay. I would have liked to see more video content and quizzes, rather than reading. This is a good review on the basics of grammar and punctuation, but I think you should already have some background in this before taking it.

By Estella

Mar 13, 2020

The course is conducted well. But it can be improved better. Some reading materials, however, is not that useful and some videos are useless... More useful tips can be put into this course, it is kind of easy...

By Takondwa N C

Mar 23, 2020

Some exercises were freezing up despite using firefox as recommended. Some long questions were not completely visible, as they slide cut them off. Otherwise, the sessions were beneficial in everyday writing.

By Bahareh K

Dec 23, 2016

It was great but I can't continue it because I am from Iran and living there too so I can't pay and enroll next courses :(

It was just like a great starter with no purpose for me.

By Kevin M V

Sep 2, 2020

Esta bien el curso, pero hay cosas que no explican del todo y muchos links externos para leer, no se motiva realmente al estudiante a escribir y que otros estudiantes corrijan.

By Valeriya N

Jan 19, 2016

The information was quite was good, but the practice and assignments were too easy. Thanks for providing full explanations and a set of in-video examples for every rule.

By Alicia B J

Mar 15, 2019

Algunas funciones no trabajan adecuadamente, envío mis tareas y no se registra, eso hace que no pueda avanzar. No existe un soporte que ayude a resolver los problemas.

By Deleted A

Aug 28, 2019

It provides essential information neither about punctuation nor about grammar. I would say it is too superficial. Advanced learners will not gain new knowledge.

By Jim O

Feb 22, 2018

Nice brush up on some long-lost grammar rules. Could have been a bit more challenging considering it was created by a University of California school.

By Gabriel B C

Jul 5, 2020

It could review some aspects from conditional sentences. In addition, there should be the option of doing the practice exercises in Safari or Chrome.

By Casandra M

Nov 4, 2019

I wish that the lessons could have gone a bit more in depth and have more abilities to give the students practice or interactions with instructors.

By Nilaakshi K

Mar 6, 2017

Although it should be simple enough, i found it hard to understand the material and sometimes, the videos would end without finishing the content.

By Kelly C

Feb 5, 2016

I couldn't finish it without purchasing it, in spite of active participation and high scores on all the assignments I had access to.

By Partha S

Nov 29, 2017

Great explanation of punctuation rules. However, upgrade costs too much given the amount of materials covered and their complexity.

By Preeti M

May 25, 2020

Lectures must be more interactive. The practice sheets must not be limited to Firefox users, it should function on Chrome as well.

By Mandeep K

Nov 8, 2015

I had a good time learning new things which are generally not told in your academics.

Thanks to UCI for offering it. Best wishes.

By Sophie B J

Sep 8, 2019

It was alright. Thought I would learn more than that, but I'm very thankful for learning about comma structure and so on.

By Mahmoud S

Apr 29, 2020

In my opinion, this course needs more space for English grammar, or make a new course for grammar only.

thank you

By Tasneem

Mar 10, 2021

Thanks, Coursera. I feel a hurdle in identifying tenses. Now, I am able to identify tenses in any sentence.

By Gertjan Y

Nov 14, 2020

The sentence examples are very unnatural. I can recognize only some of the sentences in any good reading.

By TPereira@etihad.ae

Jun 14, 2020

The practise tests were only compatible with firefox. In this day and age, very few people use firefox.

By Mohamed A

May 11, 2020

Thanks a lot for all things i already learned from this course. Really, l filtrate this to all people.

By Rahma G H

Dec 4, 2020

I do not like using firefox, and many exercises required using firefox browser. I hope to fix that

By Jayasri N

Jun 1, 2020

More detailed explanation is needed on the course, and if a teacher is available it would be good