Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
16,989 ratings
5,192 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

MH
Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

OI
Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

Filter by:

5101 - 5125 of 5,143 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Immanuel R

Jun 12, 2020

It is good, but still needs an improvement. It should be able to train the students in their profession

By Хакимов А Г

Dec 10, 2020

Курс не о чем. Пройти его очень легко, а знаний никаких не прибавилось.

By Christian S B

Jul 24, 2018

None of the practice exercises worked.

By Yuliia M

May 18, 2017

Extremely boring and not really useful

By deng x

Jan 25, 2016

Great and free.

By Feraydoon N

Oct 24, 2016

satisfactory

By Olga L

Apr 12, 2020

too easy

By VIMIT V

Jul 10, 2020

Good

By Mohamed J

Mar 12, 2016

good

By Vic B

Sep 22, 2018

This course has been very frustrating. I have posted but have not received any peer reviews. I am auditing the course so I don't expect a certificate, but to not be able to have quizzes marked is annoying.

Now in week 3 I am expected to change my online viewing platform part way through the course. These annoyances are such that I am withdrawing from this course and will look to another source for this information.

I have really enjoyed Coursera programs that I have taken in the past, so I hope this course is anomaly and not the norm for other courses.

By Sergi M

Dec 16, 2016

Le doy una estrella porque los cuestionarios están cerrados a no ser que pagues, así que eso de "todos los contenidos del curso gratis" es mentira. Y si es un error, tampoco responden.

Aun así el curso es muy interesante y muy útil de cara a mejorar nuestra redacción en inglés. Vale la pena realizarlo aunque no podamos saber los resultados de los test y por tanto no podremos cerrar el curso, una lástima.

By Shalin A

Jun 26, 2020

This is awesome. every thing is so amazing, but the one thing I didn't like is the people who are not american or understand English well don't understand what the teachers are saying. the next thing that I didn't like is the test can be done only three times and if we didn't pass in three times then we need to wait eight hours to re do the test. the test are also too hard.

THANK YOU

By Noemi H

May 28, 2020

I expected more from this course than what I can find on websites. It is disappointingly shallow. The course is very slow and fails to give a fuller picture. It is nothing like a university course should be. This sure doesn't help me become better at writing in English.

By Syed Y A

Aug 26, 2020

Nothing as I was expecting. Courses need to have more exercises rather than peer graded assignments. No one does the peer graded assignments properly which makes it a complete waste of time. Don't waste your money and time here.

By Brian C

Jan 4, 2020

Horrible subscription policy....

You stole my money....

How can you continuously extract money? Even I didn't take this course continuously. You should inform and stop the credit card billing... What the fuck worst policy!!!!

By EL-ALAMI W

Sep 14, 2020

Course is good, but even I got free enrollment, I can not pass any quiz because it's locked. They said we need to pay to could take exam, but I'am still student without scholarship and can't pay.

By Kerie

Sep 14, 2016

Really disappointed you have to pay to be able to do the quizzes. I thought the whole point of Coursera is to enhance our skills for free and chose to pay for a certificate if we wanted to.

By Florimar F

Jun 18, 2020

mal me siguen cobrando cuando ya termine el curso hasta el certificado ya lo tengo desde el abril 11 del 2020 y ya estamos a junio 18 2020 donde me siguen cobrando cada mes

By Ravindra P S

May 3, 2020

Great experience, but I am feeling the problem to receive certificate. You are asking for id verification. So I am giving you 1 star.

By Géssica D M F

Jun 12, 2020

O certificado não é carimbado então não posso usar em minha universidade, fiquei decepcionada, mas o conteúdo de aprendizagem é bom.

By Adriana C

Apr 24, 2021

extremely basic

peering review its nonsense

uneven proficiency of peers and Im not an expert te review other people work

By Pragga B

May 18, 2020

It's really very effective course for me.Thanks a lot to authority for giving me a scope to attain this kind of course

By M. I P A

Feb 16, 2016

i dont know why, but it's so frustrating that i have problem with this course. i can't start every quiz in week 4.

By Elnur J

Jun 2, 2020

İt is too simple, and it is too short that all course content can be finished in just one day.