Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
18,120 ratings
5,509 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

OI

Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

MH

Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

Filter by:

4676 - 4700 of 5,485 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Soha E

Nov 12, 2015

It's a short and concise course for all learners and teachers of the English language. I've recommended it to my fellow ESL instructors.

Thank you.

By Steven M

Oct 18, 2015

Excellent course! You can make it even better with concise handouts for every lesson which highlights all the main points for personal future use.

By Deleted A

May 17, 2020

I really want to appreciate all the teachers and Coursera management for such a plate form to provide knowledge and enlightenment beyond borders.

By Elizabeth S

Jun 29, 2016

Very helpful course. I liked a lot. Although I would prefer for some quizzes not to be locked unless paid.

Thank you for sharing your knowledge.

E.

By Amrutlalr K

Aug 19, 2020

The excellent course I ever found to improve your basics in English. thanks to course era and the excellent team member of this particular class

By Abigail S

Jan 2, 2019

Very helpful for anyone who hasn't done many grammar courses; However, if you are familiar with grammar rules, then this might be rather boring.

By Bristi D

Sep 17, 2020

I got a chance to know some types of basic rules of grammar which i didn'tknow. The journey was good. You just need to be patient and confident

By Mohd B

Jun 28, 2020

This is the best course . I have ever seen before.I am very thankful to my professors of this course and also thankful my peers of this course.

By Ankur S

Mar 12, 2018

Course , that i throughout enjoyed and learned a lot from it. Only thing, I missed was it do not cover all of the topics ,but only few of them.

By maxwell t b

Dec 5, 2020

very resource full. It helped me fill a knowledge. I will definitely recommend the course to anyone who wants to learn grammar and punctuation

By Lavinia F

Dec 1, 2015

It is a very complete overview. It is very helpful for reviewing English grammar and punctuation. The additional resources are also very good.

By Afsan R

Jun 29, 2020

Good course . This course will help you to learned a lot about grammar and punctuation. And also how to use them in a sentence appropriately.

By Oğuz Ö

Jul 22, 2019

I loved that course. That taught me how to use punctuation correctly and use sentence variety in my essays. I am proud to complete the course

By Tinh N D

Aug 18, 2019

Some practices did not show up on my computer. There needs to be more examples for each point being presented and more additional resources.

By Tralandice H

Jun 29, 2017

I really liked the course. I thought the instructor could have used a little more excitement or enthusiasm in her delivery but that was it .

By Ludim E A

May 11, 2016

This was a very good class and helpful. I only had some issues with not being able to see some things on my app like the practice exercises.

By SHAJAN J P S

Apr 21, 2020

It's interesting. I am unsure if the feedbacks that I give or receive is correct. It would be helpful if someone moderates and verifies it.

By Robert E L

Feb 11, 2016

The course is good, but I think it will be even better if it covers more about the 16 tenses, more punctuation, and capitalization. Thanks!

By SiefElDin S

Feb 4, 2021

The course could use better form of assignments, more challenging or maybe something that actually helps reinforcing what we have learnt.

By Masaya I

Aug 13, 2020

If you take this course, you will be able to use commas effectively. In addition, you can know the steps when you write an English essay.

By Tatiane S D B

Mar 27, 2019

I would have bought the course, but it was very expensive for me. Because of this I didn't have acess to all content and I could't enjoy.

By Camilo J H

Dec 10, 2017

Good course. I would have liked to do more practice excersises since it is different to analyse sentences than to write my own sentences.

By Thảo L

Sep 15, 2020

The course is great and I improved a lot about the gaps in my English knowledge. However, the additional works sometimes don't work well

By José C E

Oct 29, 2015

Of the English grammar courses I've enrolled to, this is the easiest to understand, not to mention enjoyable.

Don't hesitate to enroll!

By Vikas R

Aug 10, 2017

i have learn a lot from this course. i have an excellent experience of this course.

really wonderful i don't have words to define it...