Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
15,858 ratings
4,860 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

OI
Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

MH
Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

Filter by:

4676 - 4700 of 4,814 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Valeriya N

Jan 19, 2016

The information was quite was good, but the practice and assignments were too easy. Thanks for providing full explanations and a set of in-video examples for every rule.

By ALICIA B J

Mar 15, 2019

Algunas funciones no trabajan adecuadamente, envío mis tareas y no se registra, eso hace que no pueda avanzar. No existe un soporte que ayude a resolver los problemas.

By Deleted A

Aug 28, 2019

It provides essential information neither about punctuation nor about grammar. I would say it is too superficial. Advanced learners will not gain new knowledge.

By Jim O

Feb 22, 2018

Nice brush up on some long-lost grammar rules. Could have been a bit more challenging considering it was created by a University of California school.

By Gabriel B C

Jul 5, 2020

It could review some aspects from conditional sentences. In addition, there should be the option of doing the practice exercises in Safari or Chrome.

By Casandra M

Nov 4, 2019

I wish that the lessons could have gone a bit more in depth and have more abilities to give the students practice or interactions with instructors.

By Nilaakshi K

Mar 6, 2017

Although it should be simple enough, i found it hard to understand the material and sometimes, the videos would end without finishing the content.

By Kelly C

Feb 5, 2016

I couldn't finish it without purchasing it, in spite of active participation and high scores on all the assignments I had access to.

By Partha S

Nov 29, 2017

Great explanation of punctuation rules. However, upgrade costs too much given the amount of materials covered and their complexity.

By Preeti M

May 25, 2020

Lectures must be more interactive. The practice sheets must not be limited to Firefox users, it should function on Chrome as well.

By Mandeep K

Nov 8, 2015

I had a good time learning new things which are generally not told in your academics.

Thanks to UCI for offering it. Best wishes.

By Sophie B J

Sep 8, 2019

It was alright. Thought I would learn more than that, but I'm very thankful for learning about comma structure and so on.

By Mahmoud S

Apr 29, 2020

In my opinion, this course needs more space for English grammar, or make a new course for grammar only.

thank you

By Gertjan Y

Nov 14, 2020

The sentence examples are very unnatural. I can recognize only some of the sentences in any good reading.

By TPereira@etihad.ae

Jun 14, 2020

The practise tests were only compatible with firefox. In this day and age, very few people use firefox.

By Mohamed A

May 11, 2020

Thanks a lot for all things i already learned from this course. Really, l filtrate this to all people.

By Jayasri N

Jun 1, 2020

More detailed explanation is needed on the course, and if a teacher is available it would be good

By Phyu S

Apr 21, 2020

The examples and teaching videos are excellent. But, there should be more exercises for practice.

By Lee P

Oct 11, 2020

None of the practise links work in multiple browsers. Hard to think I’m getting my money worth.

By Ali W

Oct 16, 2017

The course doesn't cover some of the punctuations but overall its a great course to start with.

By Marcela B S

Mar 18, 2016

Acho bastante monótono e tradicional. Contudo, é explicado de modo simples e funcional.

By HARSH K S

May 31, 2020

The content was best but supporting supplementary reader doesn't worked at all.

By Elizabeth D

Jan 22, 2016

It was overall, alright. All of the group assignments killed it for me, though.

By Shubham

Jun 28, 2020

Most of the practise assignments didn't run either on Safari or on Chrome.

By Julia M

Aug 14, 2016

It was a good start, but I wish the assignments were a little bit harder.