Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
17,643 ratings
5,384 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

MH
Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

OI
Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

Filter by:

5276 - 5300 of 5,351 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Jiali W

Nov 14, 2018

有些地方还是不清楚,总是觉得很笼统

By husna's v

Oct 21, 2020

really amazing

By Fathima A Z P

Jun 15, 2020

Good course.

By Khalid Q

Aug 18, 2016

Good course.

By Khaing T T

Sep 26, 2020

good course

By Gehad E

Sep 14, 2020

Basic level

By RAJ S P

Aug 24, 2020

good enough

By Xin J

Jul 15, 2019

Too simple.

By Kateryna H

Sep 4, 2016

too simple(

By JingXiang M

Jun 14, 2020

Too easy.

By Rodrigo H

Jun 13, 2020

masomenos

By Rubayet A

Jun 13, 2020

great one

By Maram A A

May 14, 2020

Goog Work

By Hussein M

Apr 10, 2016

very nice

By Альона В

Apr 23, 2020

Too easy

By Pavan K

Mar 10, 2016

Good one

By Jen

Jan 4, 2016

helpful.

By MALAVIKA B E

Aug 28, 2020

Good👍

By sahithi k

Jun 8, 2020

Good

By kotagiri v

Jun 2, 2020

Good

By Girubarani M

Jun 23, 2020

No

By Mariano A T

Oct 13, 2020

-

By Dominika S

Jan 15, 2021

Little about me so you can maybe compare yourself or whatever..: I am not native speaker. English is my second language; however, I learned english only in elementary school and in high school I´ve had Deutsch. In English class I mostly recieved grade 3 - I guess that is C, so I was never really good... Then I become self-taught learnen, who has a trouble with proper grammar when writing, so I choose this course...

VIDEO: First few videos were good, but soon I started to loose my interest because it was all the same. Videos were white background with text and after watching several videos, you start to get bored. I also felt that the things we already learned were repeated just too much. Like It´s okay to repeat and say it, but some of the information were said almost in every video... For me this course could be half of the original duration time.

EXERCISES: I am not sure if it was only my feeling or not ... but it looked like exercises from 2010. Really, really old... Not to mention, I actually couldn´t open a lot of them! Since I could open some of them and some not, I don´t think it was mistake on my part.

ASSIGNMENTS: You needed to write 3-5 sentences according the topic. It was fine but your grades depends on others (beginners, intermediate, fluent...). Then you need to review around 3 assignments of your classmates and wait until yours will be reviewed by them. I got through this part fine. However! There were assignments that were like 15 days old, which is ridiculous to wait that long! I think the course could be a lot better with small improvement... You get automatically some classmates to review (what I noticed, it was max 3 days old) and in the same time there were assignments waiting waaay longer, but you need to go, find and click on those. I tried to review those first because none should wait that long! The oldest assignments should go first.

Do I regret this course? Not really but I think there are better ones. I learned something, but I feel like I wasted my time a little and that is not a good feeling. Also I don´t regret it mostly because I have coursera plus. I think if I paid only for this course, I would be dissapointed if not pissed of.

Would I recommend this course to my friends? No. The lectures are mostly about using comma. Just read few articles, make few exercises, and you will save a lot of your time and money.

Thanks, and sorry for the gramma mistakes. I am still learning.d

By Elisa F

Aug 19, 2018

I believe this course might be helpful for English learners who have not yet grasped more specific areas of the language (such as different types of sentences) and for natives who haven't had much writing advice throughout their lives. I did learn new things, but they were often presented in a monotone and vague way, with few exercises and a weak approach. Moreover, the editing of the videos was outdated, which, as shallow as it may sound, contributed to my disengagement with this course.

There were, however, useful tips and rules I was not aware of, mostly because I tend to apply my native language's punctuation practices to English. Those were certainly a delight to learn, and I'm happy to have had access to it. Even so, I still believe most of it could have been taught more quickly through articles than a whole university-level course.

By Kaylee L

Dec 23, 2020

While this course did explain the technical aspects of the grammar covered, the examples they gave for each lesson were awkwardly worded and not natural at all. This coming from one of the only natural born English speakers that was taking the class.