Chevron Left
Back to Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
2,062 ratings
435 reviews

About the Course

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required....

Top reviews

PD
Nov 26, 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD
Dec 4, 2016

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 428 Reviews for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

By jyothsna p

Jun 22, 2020

Nice course , a little boring though.

By Juan U G C

Feb 4, 2021

Good, but i feel it too superficial.

By Khan Z A

Aug 5, 2020

learned a lot from the course.

By Cameron S

Apr 11, 2017

Nice and informative

By Christine E

May 17, 2020

Very interesting!

By Glaide W

Oct 10, 2020

Good classes

By Alexandra K M

Mar 6, 2019

I't was good

By Peter R

Jan 3, 2017

Excellent.

By MARISOL P V

Oct 4, 2017

Great!

By Charudatta J

Jun 26, 2020

nice

By DINESH K K

Jun 14, 2020

good

By Battina D G

May 10, 2020

GOOD

By Katie S

Sep 14, 2020

This course was great--really wish it was a bit longer and went through more information. While the course information was good, there is a problem with peer reviews in this course. I found obvious plagiarism and/or a complete misunderstanding of the assignment every week in my peers so something needs to happen with the assignments--in one week I flagged over 4 of my peers. Maybe instructors need to select various images not found online that the students review? Something at least...

By Samantha F

Apr 5, 2019

This course provided a solid foundation in graphic design - though limited to a Western history. Today it seems as though Bauhaus-influenced minimalism is an all-encompassing design approach. As a new designer, it would have been beneficial to understand alternative or reactionary approaches (maximalism is a new design buzzword, for example) and traditions from outside the USA/Western Europe schools of design - especially as these are difficult things to research independently.

By Sami L

Dec 6, 2016

The course being concentrated exclusively on the design ideas of United States, it's quite literally "some ideas from the history of graphic design". Some of the choices for the contents of the course were, from the continental point of view, rather odd, though that did not make them any less interesting. As a summary: the course was interesting enough to be passed through.

By Bhavna S

May 22, 2017

I found this course very interesting and intensive. There is so much history to understand, interpret and re-contextualise as a designer.

By Luis H

Jul 3, 2016

A nice introductory course.

However, I found the latter half of the course too skewed towards the USA.

By Dmitrii P

Apr 9, 2017

Week 4 - too much of materials, and test questions does not match the text

By Sebastian J M G

Aug 13, 2020

I dont like how classmates grade the work, even if its a good one

By arshla j

Sep 24, 2016

Informative and sometimes fascinating.

By Gary D G

Jun 7, 2020

To many videos and reading

By Erick A R A d l S

Feb 24, 2018

The course is very light.

By Tarun V M

May 1, 2020

purty gud

By Mi Z

Aug 2, 2018

This course is really dry and I feel what I learned in the videos are not necessarily connected with the assignments. This is the 3rd course under Graphic Design certificate and is my least favorite one.The ones about fundamentals of Graphic Design and Typography are both really helpful, but not this one.

By Ala'a N E

Oct 2, 2019

This course wasn't interesting at all, nor assignments. Please try to enhance the way of presenting the theoretical information.