Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Graph Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Graph Theory by University of California San Diego

4.5
stars
826 ratings
186 reviews

About the Course

We invite you to a fascinating journey into Graph Theory — an area which connects the elegance of painting and the rigor of mathematics; is simple, but not unsophisticated. Graph Theory gives us, both an easy way to pictorially represent many major mathematical results, and insights into the deep theories behind them. In this course, among other intriguing applications, we will see how GPS systems find shortest routes, how engineers design integrated circuits, how biologists assemble genomes, why a political map can always be colored using a few colors. We will study Ramsey Theory which proves that in a large system, complete disorder is impossible! By the end of the course, we will implement an algorithm which finds an optimal assignment of students to schools. This algorithm, developed by David Gale and Lloyd S. Shapley, was later recognized by the conferral of Nobel Prize in Economics. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students....

Top reviews

SU
Feb 27, 2019

Appreciate the structure and the explanations with examples. The practice tool before every lesson not makes it fun to learn but also sets the student in the context and can anticipate the concept.

RH
Nov 16, 2017

Was pretty fun and gave a good intro to graph theory. Definitely felt inspired to go deeper and understood the most basic proof ideas. The later lectures can spike in difficulty though. Very nice!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 183 Reviews for Introduction to Graph Theory

By Juliano P

Jan 2, 2021

This wasn't as good as the first 2 modules, but still very informative. Lots of practice exercises but I'd say less helpful than before, as some of them seemed very easy to provide any valuable insight. I still recommend this course for an introduction to graph theory.

By Farhan F A

Jun 18, 2020

The course content was fun but too many questions inside the lecture videos were annoying. Most of them were unnecessary and very easy. Especially the notes for mistakes. Mistakes do take place. But interrupting the class for mistakes is another mistake

By Daniel B

Apr 27, 2020

Most of the explanations of concepts were great. One professor has a tendency to force students to draw conclusions for the main point(s) he is making, or trails off verbally so that it's difficult to understand what the main point is.

By 김한아

Jan 12, 2021

Overall the course was designed very well and explained with care, but it would have been more enjoyable if more visual explanation in week 4 and 5. It was a bit difficult to understand compared to other weeks.

By matthew l

Feb 28, 2020

Great course. Only reason I give it 4 stars is because of the audio quality in week 1. It's very bad.

The same instructor that did the lectures in week 1, had drastically better audio quality in the later weeks.

By Shankhalika S

Jun 7, 2020

Week 5 was very confusing and not well curated. Please fix this.I had to lookup youtube videos to understand the concepts and that defeats the purpose of me taking the course on coursera

By Toxic

Jan 1, 2018

This course is interesting, and it is a good introduction. I like the first four weeks' courses, while I feel the last week's course is not clear presented, which changes the instructor.

By Wan H L

Mar 10, 2019

The lecturer well explained the course materials. But the assignments are too easy to complete, it does not tease your brain as exercise, and the week 5 is a bit hard to follow

By Akash V S

Jun 8, 2020

The course was excellent apart from the Ford Fulkerson Theorem in the last week where it was rather shabby and hasty. The Gale-Shapley Algorithm was fun however!

By Ved B

Aug 9, 2020

Though it is beginner level course some concepts are hard to grasp. Gives perfect introduction in graph theory. Useful for computer science subjects.

By Suji E M

Aug 16, 2020

It's a wonderful experience.Since Iam unaware of Python, I couldnot workout the problems. Otherwsie its a nice programme.

By Keenan B

Dec 30, 2019

This course was fun an informative, but wasn't as developed as the first two courses in this series. Still a great class

By Digvendra S T

Jun 24, 2020

Overall the course is good, however, you may face some difficulty in understanding last week instructor's voice.

By Joseph D

Nov 5, 2017

Alex Shen's manner of speaking is difficult to understand, but I enjoyed and learned from the material anyway.

By Mike T

Jun 29, 2018

would be good to have a few more algo questions, perhaps one submission per week?

By Denis D

Jul 21, 2019

Some parts could be clearer. Adding more examples would have gone a long way.

By ANUSHREE C 1

Apr 6, 2020

Very conceptual and everything was clear and easy to understand.

By David W

May 15, 2020

The content is good, but it needs more programming assignments.

By Shubham C

Jul 12, 2020

Last two weeks are little bit difficult to understand.

By Mayank A

Sep 5, 2020

really a great learning on graphs

By K A K

Jun 27, 2020

Graph Theory in its purest form.

By Thành N K

Sep 16, 2019

very useful and so hard

By Nikhil Y

Apr 29, 2020

just amazing course!!

By Prajul G

Jun 4, 2020

Great Course

By D V S S R

Mar 16, 2019

NICE COURSE