Chevron Left
Back to Guitar Scales and Chord Progressions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Guitar Scales and Chord Progressions by Berklee College of Music

4.7
stars
283 ratings
100 reviews

About the Course

You’ve got the guitar basics down: You can strum your guitar and play a few of your favorite songs, but you’re ready to take the tunes to the next level. In Guitar Scales and Chord Progressions you’ll expand your knowledge of scales, chord fingerings, and common chord progressions. You’ll also learn important skills for soloing, creating melodies, and adding depth and dimension to your guitar playing. This course is not only for the aspiring guitarist who has taken Berklee’s Guitar for Beginners, but also for guitarists who have let their six-string gather dust for too long, and want to brush up on techniques. Each lesson covers the four basic aspects you’ll need to sharpen your guitar chops: scales, arpeggios, chord progressions, and rhythm. Amanda’s practical approach to learning these important elements is fun and helps you to use what you’re learning and practicing in a real musical setting. You’ll improve your playing and creativity, whether it be as a singer-songwriter, a guitarist accompanying a singer, or a player in the band. By the end of this course, you’ll be more comfortable playing throughout the neck, and you’ll gain a better understanding of chord structure and how each chord relates to tonal centers or keys. You’ll also be able to solo and improvise by playing simple lead guitar lines based on the minor pentatonic scale. Whether your preference is for acoustic or electric, the curriculum is designed to turn you into a real guitarist....

Top reviews

MR

Aug 17, 2020

Excellent, very helpful, the instructor was fantastic, I learned a lot. Would appreciate more examples of putting it all together. I enjoyed the process, even with my busy schedule.

AG

Jun 28, 2020

A good course for a guitarist who knows its basics. The professor taught really well. The course content was also apt and carefully constructed. Overall a good course.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 102 Reviews for Guitar Scales and Chord Progressions

By JORGE A H A

Sep 27, 2020

Excelent

By Víctor

Apr 27, 2020

Amazing!

By Joaquim C

Apr 10, 2020

Amazing!

By JYOTIRMOY B

Jun 04, 2019

Helpful!

By Federico M R B

Oct 07, 2018

amazing

By John b

Sep 03, 2020

The course is well presented with sufficient basic content for this level. The course culminates in a piece of recorded work which is peer reviewed. Your reviewer is instructed to follow the stated rubric, awarding points for each category of the work. However, the ability of students varies widely on this course which can result in a miss-match between student and peer assessor. It would better if students ability levels were assessed and graded at the beginning of the course, for example, by completing a questionnaire. This could then be used to better match student level to assessor level at the peer review stage. Also where there's a disagreement of the final score, when asked by the student, the assessor should respond, justifying their assessment.

By Patrick M

May 11, 2020

Great class and just what I needed to start integrating triads into my playing more effectively. My only issue is that the final student submission is peer reviewed, but there were a range of skill levels taking the class, so I couldn't be sure who was rating my playing and from what level perspective. I know that these are large classes (and free), but it would've bro awesome if I could have known that the actual instructor (or designee) was providing review/notes. In any case, great class and great instructor.

By Samriddh S

Jul 16, 2020

It is a very thorough and great course that comes with lots of amazing information and tricks. However, one has to do lots and lots of outside research to understand a few intricacies involve, and that is perfectly fine !

I have reduced one star because I felt a need of written material to help me later. But this course is definitely amazing. Go for it !

By Aditya D

May 19, 2020

Teaches major and pentatonic scales, arpeggios, chord progression and 12 bar blues. Essential knowledge for beginners. Lectures are nice and easy to follow. Overall a great course for beginners.

By ian c

Jan 28, 2019

Good beginner/early intermediate course which touches on some typical chord progressions and arpeggios and the ionian major scale (but not inversions or other modes and scales)

By Esteban F

Jun 01, 2020

This course is good, the information is accurate and fun to play along. the excersises seems on the basic side. there could be a little bit more focus on the blues rhythms.

By Hrishikesh V J

Jul 27, 2020

it was an awesome experience learning with coursera. I have my fundamentals cleared about basics in guitar and I wish to pursue advanced leasons from the same

By Burton J

May 07, 2020

Definitely a great intro (or refresher) to guitar scales and chord progressions. Amanda does a great job with the lessons and making assignments clear!

By Mike M

Aug 08, 2020

Pretty good for novice guitar players, as well as some good practice tips and techniques for more advanced players. Really liked the instructor.

By Jean T

Jul 14, 2019

Good, interesting topic, but it does not go deep on anything so I was visiting Youtube after every time I finished a chapter in this course.

By JORGE L C

Aug 13, 2020

this course help you to developing more abilities for play chords in a structure song form, learning scales and arpeggios.

By LEONARDO D S F

Apr 12, 2020

Poderia explorar mais escalas como maiores, menores, arpejos tríades, arpejos tétrades. Mas para início está ótimo!

By Andrew M

May 15, 2020

A great introduction to scales and arpeggios for those who have often wondered , how do they do that?

By Fawaz A

Jun 26, 2020

i'd recommend thing as a great course for anyone who's just starting out

By Daniel D S

Dec 29, 2018

I wish there were more "scale" variation. Not just Arpeggios.

By Santiago Q

May 24, 2019

It was cool, but you could delve more in different topics

By Gerard

Dec 20, 2019

Very interesting for beginners.

By samil a

May 21, 2020

Good

By Noah V

Oct 23, 2020

This is a very beginner level course. If you're an intermediate or advanced player you're not going to get much out of it. Beginners will find it useful.

By AADHAV P 1

Jul 04, 2020

The course could've been more informative and covered more scales and chords.