Chevron Left
Back to Guitar for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Guitar for Beginners by Berklee College of Music

4.8
stars
2,119 ratings
612 reviews

About the Course

Grasp the essentials needed to begin playing acoustic or electric guitar. You'll learn an easy approach to get you playing quickly, through a combination of exploring the instrument, performance technique, and basic music theory. For students who have long thought about picking up the acoustic or electric guitar, this course will provide an easy-access foundation that will get you playing. When first learning guitar, it is important to have the material presented in stages, in an enjoyable way that allows you to grasp the basics of the instrument and music. The course begins simply with the parts of the guitar, the names of the strings, tuning, and technique—whether finger-style or pick. It then explores the basics of music theory with such topics as scales, triads, power chords, and fingering and shapes. At the end of this course, students will understand the structure, parts, and accessories of the instrument, in addition to an understanding of its basic maintenance. Electric guitar players will learn the operation of their instrument along with basic options for amplification, effect pedals, and sounds. Students will also learn to develop correct technique and apply theory concepts to their playing. They will have the foundational knowledge necessary to pursue most intermediate guitar courses....

Top reviews

SM
Sep 11, 2020

If you want to learn guitar no matter which guitar you want to learn acoustic or electric if you are a beginner then quickly join this course it will really help you to upgrade your skills in guitar.

MH
Apr 4, 2020

This course was a brilliant experience. My special thanks to Thadeus Hoggart for his patient and well organized course. Highly recommended for all those who are planning to start playing the Guitar.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 609 Reviews for Guitar for Beginners

By Kale M G

May 7, 2020

I had fun and learned a lot of things during this course and will wish to continue further. Thank you!

By LeeAnn P

Oct 4, 2016

Had a great time participating in the class. I am happy I was able to upload samples and get feedback.

By Nicolás S

Mar 28, 2016

Buen curso, el compadre medio desanimado no mas, pero aprendí algunas cosas interesantes. Recomendable

By 罗昱

Dec 20, 2015

It is good to get started through this course. But the material could have been more clear.

By cyril r

Jan 7, 2016

Un cours très simple, sobre et efficace pour s'initier à la musique et à la guitare.

By vaishnavi c

Dec 20, 2015

this is the best class to lear guitar i have got lear guitar rally nicely thanx

By Marko I

Dec 1, 2016

Good course, but a bit too fast. Deadlines are too soon for the real begginers

By Aditya G

Jun 21, 2020

Good Course for beginners. The content is a bit too much for a beginner.

By Jesús Á J G

May 31, 2021

Un curso muy practico para quienes están empezando a tocar la guitarra

By Pulkit P

Jun 12, 2020

Great course to learn the basics of guitar and incur music sense.

By Asefeoluwa A

Apr 26, 2017

it is amazing for learning the very fundamentals of the guitar.

By Fausto M A F

Mar 21, 2016

This course is great, I learned a player, I never had played.

By samuel t r

Oct 17, 2015

This is just what it says it is...an intro to guitar. Enjoy!

By Gail E W

Aug 17, 2018

Great for the basics and becoming familiar with your guitar.

By ChenL

Oct 18, 2015

It's a useful course for me to learn guitar systematically.

By Sammi L

Sep 18, 2015

Interesting professor. I am learning and having a lot fun

By Abhigya S

Jun 15, 2019

A nice Starter for beginner guitarists. Thanks Coursera!

By Joseph P

Sep 28, 2016

Indeed a very useful course on Guitar. Thank you edX !

By Hallelujah M

May 8, 2020

thank you very much I really enjoyed the course

By k V

Oct 9, 2019

Awesome course packed with useful information !

By Benjamin K

Nov 24, 2015

It's great, but I wish there was more in it.

By Prateek S

Sep 17, 2015

concept clearing and building strong enough!

By Prasant C

Jun 7, 2020

nice coarse i gained a great experience.

By Damon F

Sep 24, 2016

课程感觉挺细致的,感觉进度太快,可能我没基础所以后面更不上了

By Eduardo G

Apr 15, 2016

Easy to follow for begginers.