Chevron Left
Back to Hacking Exercise For Health. The surprising new science of fitness.

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Hacking Exercise For Health. The surprising new science of fitness. by McMaster University

4.7
stars
688 ratings
218 reviews

About the Course

Renowned exercise physiologists Martin Gibala and Stuart Phillips of McMaster University teach the surprising new science of cardio fitness and strength-building—and then provide you with hacks to get fit and strong (and healthy!) in less time than you ever thought possible. What’s the right mix of exercise between cardio and strength? How do you know if you’re working out hard enough? What’s better, heavy or light weights? These questions and more are addressed through a course designed to provide even the most inexperienced of exercisers the tools you need to design time-efficient workouts that can be done virtually anywhere, from your own home to a city park or even at your workplace. Marty and Stu are good friends and colleagues who just happen to be two of the world’s most passionate scholars in the science of fitness. They aim to entertain you while they’re describing the relationship between exercise and health. Marty is a pioneer in the field of interval training, the technique of varying your workout intensity to get fit faster than anyone ever thought possible. Stu’s studies proved that lifting lighter weights can be a highly effective strength-building technique—plus he’s a leading expert in dietary protein and muscle. In Hacking Exercise for Health, you’ll follow Marty and Stu as they teach you the basics about the way your body boosts its fitness and strength. Next, they’ll apply that theory, providing you with a series of do-anywhere workouts and, most importantly, teaching you what you need to know to design your own sessions. Filled with inspirational practical tips, fun quizzes, interactive community participation and assignments designed to help you remember your lessons, Hacking Exercise for Health will give you the tools and techniques to incorporate exercise into your life, no matter how busy you are....

Top reviews

SA

Nov 29, 2020

Great Course, I really enjoyed this journey of four weeks, but still, I would like to have a suggestion regarding the food structure that I need to follow to achieve a maximum of my desired output.

JB

Nov 26, 2019

I found the information very useful and enlightening. Even if I have been exercising continually for a very long time, you can always learn new things to improve or be more productive.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 218 Reviews for Hacking Exercise For Health. The surprising new science of fitness.

By Ali F K

May 30, 2020

Fantastic

By Najamus S

Oct 20, 2019

LOVED IT

By Gourav D

Oct 14, 2019

awesome

By Md. R Q S

Sep 11, 2020

great

By Zubaida I

Dec 13, 2021

good

By Rashid T

Mar 3, 2021

gjhh

By Muhammed C Ş

Nov 30, 2020

Epic

By GLORIYA V

Aug 21, 2020

Good

By GAURAV A

Jul 7, 2020

good

By NARAYANASAMY. K

Jun 9, 2020

GOOD

By Emayamsavitha

Apr 28, 2020

Gud

By Udaya N

Feb 12, 2020

It has been quite fascinating to learn the few hacks on the science of exercises. The Instructors are very knowledgeable and presented the facts in a very simple fashion easy to understand with fun

I have been doing regular exercise since last 4 years and monitoring also. The course has opened up my thinking to go beyond just walking and include strength and cardio respiratory fitness in my routine

I thoroughly enjoyed learning through the course and happy to recommend this to my friends

By Joseph E A A

Sep 21, 2020

Really enjoyed the course and learned a lot. Just felt like the final exam could be improved. One of the questions should have started with "Which" rather "What". Also felt one or two questions which asked for "not true" statements need to be reviewed. Again I may be totally wrong. I hope the two can post more courses on exercise and health. Appreciated their humor and their capacity to explain things briefly and clearly.

By Stephanie D

Apr 15, 2020

Great course with a lot of really good information. I wish there was a better sound balance between the opening music and the professors voices, because I often got got blasted by the opening music because the volume was set so I could hear the professors. I also find it a little frustrating that the course doesn't count as completed because I can't submit the final exam without paying for a certificate.

By Susan I

Dec 24, 2019

It was a good review of what many current exercisers might already know. The videos were fun, the activities good, and the use of proof really helped strengthen the information (like what I did there?). I wasn't a fan of uploading videos or tweeting, but that wasn't graded so no worries.

By Ramnath S K

Jul 1, 2021

L​oved the fact-filled fun lectures with supporting resources. Provides practical insights into "HACKS for EXERCISES" across age and gender. I learned a lot. Anyone interested in getting into physical fitness -- this course opens the doors.

By Harris A

Jun 5, 2022

I​t's a great course for beginners, provies most of the important information without being overwehelming. It can help lay the foundation of your training, and help you become more efficient with workouts.

By TIMOTHY H

Feb 8, 2022

Both professors were excellent, would have given 5 stars if it were not consistent audio issues making it difficult to make out all of what was said during lecturers. Recommend.

By Wendi W

Nov 20, 2020

I learned some ideas to use so that even if busy there is no excuse not to squeeze in some exercise, no matter your level of fitness.

The instructors are funny and engaging.

By Paula A C G

Jun 14, 2020

Es un curso bastante informativo y didáctico, sin embargo, me habría gustado profundizar en el ejercicio de fuerza y la importancia de la carga progresiva, etc

By SEAH Y Y

Jan 6, 2021

Interesting views shared on the science of fitness. Would be better if more details can be shared on promoting muscle growth vs muscle toning.

By Justin D

May 1, 2020

The instructors make the information very accessible and interesting. Good introductory level course to the basics of exercise.

By Shiwei Z

Oct 5, 2020

Most about motivating you to exercise, but also contains some important theories. Informative and useful for me.

By Paul A L

Feb 25, 2021

Kill the loud intro to each video. Once is enough. Otherwise good content, well presented, trickey final quiz.