Chevron Left
Back to Hacking Exercise For Health. The surprising new science of fitness.

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Hacking Exercise For Health. The surprising new science of fitness. by McMaster University

4.7
stars
733 ratings

About the Course

Renowned exercise physiologists Martin Gibala and Stuart Phillips of McMaster University teach the surprising new science of cardio fitness and strength-building—and then provide you with hacks to get fit and strong (and healthy!) in less time than you ever thought possible. What’s the right mix of exercise between cardio and strength? How do you know if you’re working out hard enough? What’s better, heavy or light weights? These questions and more are addressed through a course designed to provide even the most inexperienced of exercisers the tools you need to design time-efficient workouts that can be done virtually anywhere, from your own home to a city park or even at your workplace. Marty and Stu are good friends and colleagues who just happen to be two of the world’s most passionate scholars in the science of fitness. They aim to entertain you while they’re describing the relationship between exercise and health. Marty is a pioneer in the field of interval training, the technique of varying your workout intensity to get fit faster than anyone ever thought possible. Stu’s studies proved that lifting lighter weights can be a highly effective strength-building technique—plus he’s a leading expert in dietary protein and muscle. In Hacking Exercise for Health, you’ll follow Marty and Stu as they teach you the basics about the way your body boosts its fitness and strength. Next, they’ll apply that theory, providing you with a series of do-anywhere workouts and, most importantly, teaching you what you need to know to design your own sessions. Filled with inspirational practical tips, fun quizzes, interactive community participation and assignments designed to help you remember your lessons, Hacking Exercise for Health will give you the tools and techniques to incorporate exercise into your life, no matter how busy you are....

Top reviews

SA

Nov 29, 2020

Great Course, I really enjoyed this journey of four weeks, but still, I would like to have a suggestion regarding the food structure that I need to follow to achieve a maximum of my desired output.

JB

Nov 26, 2019

I found the information very useful and enlightening. Even if I have been exercising continually for a very long time, you can always learn new things to improve or be more productive.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 236 Reviews for Hacking Exercise For Health. The surprising new science of fitness.

By Susan I

Dec 24, 2019

It was a good review of what many current exercisers might already know. The videos were fun, the activities good, and the use of proof really helped strengthen the information (like what I did there?). I wasn't a fan of uploading videos or tweeting, but that wasn't graded so no worries.

By Ramnath S K

Jul 1, 2021

Loved the fact-filled fun lectures with supporting resources. Provides practical insights into "HACKS for EXERCISES" across age and gender. I learned a lot. Anyone interested in getting into physical fitness -- this course opens the doors.

By Y C

Jan 9, 2023

Course is good. Videos could have been slightly longer. Requirement of Flip Grid assignments probably is bit difficult for lot of learners. Also some learners like me have voluntary minimal presence on social media.

By Harris A

Jun 5, 2022

It's a great course for beginners, provies most of the important information without being overwehelming. It can help lay the foundation of your training, and help you become more efficient with workouts.

By TIMOTHY H

Feb 8, 2022

Both professors were excellent, would have given 5 stars if it were not consistent audio issues making it difficult to make out all of what was said during lecturers. Recommend.

By Wendi W

Nov 20, 2020

I learned some ideas to use so that even if busy there is no excuse not to squeeze in some exercise, no matter your level of fitness.

The instructors are funny and engaging.

By Paula A C G

Jun 14, 2020

Es un curso bastante informativo y didáctico, sin embargo, me habría gustado profundizar en el ejercicio de fuerza y la importancia de la carga progresiva, etc

By SEAH Y Y

Jan 6, 2021

Interesting views shared on the science of fitness. Would be better if more details can be shared on promoting muscle growth vs muscle toning.

By Justin D

May 1, 2020

The instructors make the information very accessible and interesting. Good introductory level course to the basics of exercise.

By Shiwei Z

Oct 5, 2020

Most about motivating you to exercise, but also contains some important theories. Informative and useful for me.

By Paul A L

Feb 25, 2021

Kill the loud intro to each video. Once is enough. Otherwise good content, well presented, trickey final quiz.

By Michelle L

Mar 10, 2021

I enjoyed this course. I think having a weekly quiz would be helpful in addition to the final test.

By MrLowkeynz

Jan 5, 2020

Personable hosts who boil down scientific findings into easy to understand and actionable steps.

By SUDHANSHU R

Jul 3, 2020

its a nice course , we learn about how we can be fit without going to gym and lift heavy

By Georg A

Oct 26, 2019

Good course with a lot of theoretical background but also a lot of practical tricks.

By John J I

Nov 28, 2020

Overall good.

Some typos and functional abnormalities.

By Vani S

Jun 21, 2020

This course is all about getting the basics right.

By Leslie C

Mar 11, 2023

Professors are knowledgeable and fun!

By Suresh W

Jul 23, 2022

It was fund completing it.

By DLa S

Jul 12, 2022

one of the best course!

By Gemma R C

Oct 3, 2020

Really interesting.

By Vo H S

Aug 2, 2020

Thank you!

By Abdallah A A

Sep 16, 2020

good

By Smita K

May 20, 2020

NICE