Chevron Left
Back to Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Hadoop Platform and Application Framework by University of California San Diego

4.0
stars
3,202 ratings
750 reviews

About the Course

This course is for novice programmers or business people who would like to understand the core tools used to wrangle and analyze big data. With no prior experience, you will have the opportunity to walk through hands-on examples with Hadoop and Spark frameworks, two of the most common in the industry. You will be comfortable explaining the specific components and basic processes of the Hadoop architecture, software stack, and execution environment. In the assignments you will be guided in how data scientists apply the important concepts and techniques such as Map-Reduce that are used to solve fundamental problems in big data. You'll feel empowered to have conversations about big data and the data analysis process....

Top reviews

GM
Jan 31, 2016

I'm forced to give 5 stars. I don't want to have a certification on a poor quality course (another coursera mistake). This material needs tremendous amount of work to get finished and revised.

NP
May 15, 2020

Learned about Hadoop Ecosystem, limitations of map-reduce approach and Spark as a solution to overcome some of limitations.Thanks for giving me the opportunity to participate in this MOOC.

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 732 Reviews for Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

By bilel b R

Mar 25, 2016

While the first course was promising with acceptable materials, it was under the Coursera standards (I have about 4 years of Coursera MOOC). However, the second course is really under expectation, there is no support for the course (in general case there is a pdf with the video) and the other point, it seems that the creators do not read/seen what the other contributors had done/said.

By Raymond M

Jul 28, 2018

The course directions were not clear and when i asked questions on the discussion board no one answered. Also it asked me to submit an id but when i tried to submit it took me to another page that had no options for submitting. There is no place to email to ask how to submit my id. Hence it does not work and you cannot ask any questions because there is no one to ask questions to.

By Abhishek V

Dec 30, 2015

Very Bad Design Course!!

I want to do assignment related to mapreduce. It is saying to check first assignment of wordcount in big data course. When I try to recall the concept I learned 2 month back I cannot access that. Finally I am ending with droping this course and specialization. The worst course I attend on coursera. First time disappointed.

By Manuel E C T

Feb 22, 2016

Too vague, many things have not been well explained. Sometimes quizzes are hard compared to the explained materials; assignments are not also explained appropiately. Think also San Diego Supercomputing Centre should provide resources for more realistic assignments rather than providing a virtual machine that needs high local resources.

By Ron M

Feb 28, 2016

Poor instructors at best. Python skill is a pre-requisite for this course. Spark and MapReduce modules lack the big picture overview for students to understand and later apply their knowledge in the real world. Tech knowledge and skill mean nothing if it cannot be applied in the real world. Poor delivery and execution.

By Jannic C

Apr 8, 2019

the contents are great but the maintance of the material is sloppy. Many input files wont work, without the forums (where other users and not the instructors help) there would be no way to get ANYTHING running this course. Very unfortunate. Quite disappointing that coursera lets USD rip of their customers

By Markus B

Mar 17, 2016

While there are some assignments around features of HDFS, Spark or MapReduce, they only touch the very basic concepts and even then some of them are explained rather poorly. Furthermore, the whole 1st week is almost a repetition of the first course. In general, the course lacks technical depth.

By Alvaro

Feb 18, 2016

Lectures are very bad explained, ambiguous definitions, leading to very hard quizzes.

Also some exercises have python syntax errors which for me it's not a problem since I have a background as python developer but it surely has been a pain for people without programming experience.

By Denis P

Mar 8, 2016

Very poor quality of both video luctures and exercises: knowledge required to complete tasks often not related to lectures or overall average skillset.

Lots of tecnical issues with software needed to complete course.

No help from TAs at all, students only helped by other students.

By Tian Y

Apr 19, 2016

Very bad design. The instructor is nervous and not well prepared. The contents are very redundant, they keep repeating the general definitions but neither go deeply inside nor provide some application examples. I regret to take this course and waste time and money.

By Mladen M

Nov 6, 2015

Too much introduction, not enough content and information.

The entire first course and the first half of this course should have been shortened to maybe 1, 2 weeks max of this course.

Not enough lectures in one week, only trivial examples and assignments included.

By 李炳良

Sep 14, 2020

DON'T ENROLL!

Outdated material, the virtual machine is very buggy, and the teacher in this course really changed my mind about UCSD.

I mean, I'm not a native speaker, and I still feel the second professor speak so slow even I turned on 2* speed.

By Diego F R

Mar 19, 2016

There's no way to complete the course if you don't have previous coding experience (and they DO NOT mention it before, actually, they say you don't need it). The staff also do not help to complete the assignments. The lectures are poor as well.

By Gabriele V

May 10, 2017

The course is generally low on content. Professor in week 2 keeps repeating the same things of week 1 without adding much. The need to install a VM with significant hardware requirements makes it hard to complete the programming assignments.

By Robert M

Nov 18, 2015

Very confusing assignments, course overlaps with the following course, and there are no mentors to provide guidance. Also, knowledge of python is mandatory, even though the course description says otherwise. Overall, a terrible experience.

By Ana C

Apr 26, 2016

One can see this is a task the department has got, it's a have to and not I like to do. One can notice that the teacher does not really care about their teaching. The course is inconex. Bad hand-ons. Feels more as a seminar than a course

By Igor P

Jan 23, 2016

avoid like the plague.

this whole specialization is a mess. super short videos with no details whatsoever.

easy exercises that teach you nothing and don't make you practice or acquire any skill.

lots of mistakes in quizzes.

shallow.

By Anwar

Jan 17, 2016

Course material and delivery is very very poor. There are better, much better, material available in youtube for free... Also check other Data science courses here, esp the one by john hopkins. That is a good one...

By Paulo M C

Jan 10, 2016

I have an Ubuntu machine and found it difficult to install Cloudera's QuickStart VM. Very little help found on the web as well. Please, provide some documentation as to how one can install this software. Thanks!

By Henry D N H

Nov 2, 2015

Yo pensaba que siendo este un curso de Hadoop, estaríamos frente a la computadora todo el rato. Pero solo toqué mi computadora dos veces con comandos que no sabía para que servían. Pésimo curso, no recomendado.

By Huo S ( T

Nov 4, 2017

I was not able to get through the coding part of the assignment. I had some experience in SQL and R but it was still hard to try to figure it out. Debugging in the Hadoop environment was not very easy.

By Akanksha S

Jul 3, 2017

Very abstract, fails to engage within the first few lectures, AND MOST IMPORTANTLY : no explanation of the technical terms used. If I knew those terms, I wouldn't be taking a course in the first place!

By Nghia H

Dec 5, 2015

Terrible presentation of content. Badly written instruction making assignments needlessly harder. Zero engagement to help learners solve logistic problems such as running & submitting assignments.

By Herve

Mar 7, 2016

test questions too often not aligned to course content.

exercises required much more programming than advertised.

exercises too often poorly designed, written and constructed. do better.

By Ji W

Aug 6, 2016

Not recommend to attend this class. Instructors just speak the hadoop relevant concepts on the slides word by word. Very boring. You'd better to download the slides and read through it.