Chevron Left
Back to Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Hadoop Platform and Application Framework by University of California San Diego

4.0
stars
3,202 ratings
750 reviews

About the Course

This course is for novice programmers or business people who would like to understand the core tools used to wrangle and analyze big data. With no prior experience, you will have the opportunity to walk through hands-on examples with Hadoop and Spark frameworks, two of the most common in the industry. You will be comfortable explaining the specific components and basic processes of the Hadoop architecture, software stack, and execution environment. In the assignments you will be guided in how data scientists apply the important concepts and techniques such as Map-Reduce that are used to solve fundamental problems in big data. You'll feel empowered to have conversations about big data and the data analysis process....

Top reviews

GM
Jan 31, 2016

I'm forced to give 5 stars. I don't want to have a certification on a poor quality course (another coursera mistake). This material needs tremendous amount of work to get finished and revised.

NP
May 15, 2020

Learned about Hadoop Ecosystem, limitations of map-reduce approach and Spark as a solution to overcome some of limitations.Thanks for giving me the opportunity to participate in this MOOC.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 732 Reviews for Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

By René O G

Oct 27, 2015

Only offers a superficial introduction. The slides seem onorganized and clatted with text. Videos are way to short and furhter pointers for deeper learning are missing as a whole.

By Vincent

Nov 22, 2015

Teachers aren't engaging. They just read the slides, without explaining anything. They aren't active on the forum so we cannot ask questions...

Quizzes are also full of errors...

By Óscar P

Sep 7, 2016

I'm very disappointed about this course and the full specialization. The level for the videos and the exercises is quite low and I regret have invested my money on that.

By Robert P M

Oct 21, 2015

Very poor course. Poor lecture quality (audio), poor material coverage and the interactive material was basically going through the Cloudera tutorial.

By Sam S

May 8, 2016

No responsible person to answer the problem facing in discussion of assignment.

Many learner stuck in the same point but not been solved

By Jason F

Feb 12, 2016

Wasted too much time with this class! Instructions are terrible. Very frustrating trying to figure it out. Don't recommend this course.

By CHIEN-CHEN C

Jan 30, 2016

One of the professor just read the slide with no further explanations...I can just read the slide by myself, no need to pay $79 for it.

By Utkarsh S

Apr 6, 2016

the assignments do not clarify, what exactly is required.

for beginers there needs to be more step oriented explanation of assignments

By Dmitrii S

Nov 9, 2015

Not worth it. It is just 1-2 hours of tutorials/bad quality presentations. All of information in this course can be easily googled.

By Roozbeh S

Mar 31, 2016

The instructors just review everything so fast. They don't intend to teach you something they just want to review their knowledge.

By Rob R

Nov 21, 2015

This is a very poorly led course. The instruction is not insightful and the exercises are basically just copy/paste activities.

By Flint W

Apr 22, 2016

i wanted to learn the material; i ended up with poor slides, presenters who read the slides, assignments that don't add value.

By Rachel B B

Apr 14, 2020

Hard to understand professor, they don't look confident at all, it seems to me they are just reading prompts screen. Big pass

By Amir N

Jun 28, 2016

I hated instructors and the hands on with python was very bad. I suffered a lot and this could have been done much easier.

By HUMBERTO D C

Dec 17, 2015

Labs have inaccurate and insufficient instructions, tests are ambiguous and include material not covered in the videos.

By Mario L

May 9, 2016

Poor content, very complicated to follow, no industry examples, no feedback from tutors, a waste of time and money.

By Arun K

Jan 24, 2016

Worst course i have taken in Coursera. Just theory, theory and theory... some stupid assignments that has no value.

By Tony B

Oct 5, 2016

The Cloudera VM is a big part of the problem. Hadoop and Spark are powerful, but the GUIs give it training wheels.

By Enrique R

Dec 12, 2015

If I can't upload my assignments , I can't contact with a teacher and I am evaluated what kind of course is this.

By Sankalp j

Jun 28, 2016

It's better to read a text book than enrolling in this course. The instructor just reads through the slides

By Yuanfeng M

Dec 19, 2015

Horrible Course , not suitable for non-experts at all.

Yet , ironically , it claims to target at non-experts

By SHAKTI S M

Nov 15, 2015

Very poor quality videos and lectures. HIghly non-friendly techniques. Learning scope is not good.

By Mitali V

May 8, 2016

this course sucks! The worst i have come across. i wish the stars had ratings in negative too

By Hui-Chih S

May 7, 2016

Not friendly for a beginner to learn in this course!

I'm very regretful to pay for this course.

By David H M

Jan 4, 2016

I have tried several times to start this course but every time I found it extremely boring.