Chevron Left
Back to A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment by Indian School of Business

4.8
stars
5,376 ratings
1,937 reviews

About the Course

What are the determinants of a happy and fulfilling life? This is surely one of life’s biggest questions, and a question that has interested many of our ancestors. Buddha famously gave up his kingdom in search of happiness. Several Greek philosophers (from Aristotle to Epicurus and Plato to Socrates) had their own views on what it takes to be happy. And of course, we all have our own theories about happiness too. How valid are our theories? Until recently, if you wished for an answer to this question, you would've been forced to base it on discussions with spiritual leaders. Or, if you were lucky, you could've based it on late-night (and perhaps intoxicant-fueled) conversations with friends and family. Happily, all that has changed now. Over the past decade-and-a-half, scientists have gotten into the act big time. We now have a pretty good idea of what it takes to lead a happy and fulfilling life. This course, based on the award-winning class offered both at the Indian School of Business and at the McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin, developed by Prof. Raj Raghunathan (aka "Dr. Happy-smarts") draws content from a variety of fields, including psychology, neuroscience, and behavioral decision theory to offer a tested and practical recipe for leading a life of happiness and fulfillment. Although not mandatory, reading Prof. Raj's forthcoming book, titled If you're so smart, why aren't you happy? can help you review and assimilate the material covered in this book at your leisure. For Coursera learners alone, the hardcover version of the book is available for a deep discount of 50%, plus shipping and handling. You can order the hardcover for 50% off by writing to Aaron at: Aaron@800ceoread.com. Please mention that you are a student of the "coursera happiness course" in your email. The course will feature guest appearances by several well-known thought leaders, including: - Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational and, soon to be released, Irrationally Yours), - Ed Diener (“Dr. Happiness”), - Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (author of Flow), By taking this course, you will discover the answers to questions such as: - Why aren’t the smart-and-the-successful as happy as they could—or should—be - What are the “7 Deadly Happiness Sins” that even the smart and the successful commit?, and - What are the “7 Habits of the Highly Happy” and how can you implement them in your life? By the end of the course, I expect students who have been diligent with the lectures and exercises to not just gain a deeper understanding of the science of happiness, but to also be significantly happier....

Top reviews

JP
Jul 23, 2020

I like this course a lot. I got some clarity on things I already know. The teacher Raj is the best part of this course. I love his approach and how he interacts with students. I recommend this course!

CR
Apr 23, 2018

Excellent course, Professor Raj is great. I found it very helpful to see what types of personality traits I have that may contribute to my happiness level and possible approaches to dealing with them.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 1,923 Reviews for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

By Manoj K M

Aug 4, 2020

I personally enjoyed the course, Thanks to professor Raj, I will definitely miss the classes. Thank you everyone behind the scene.

By sweta k s

Jun 30, 2020

I am too much satisfied with the course undertaken.Thanks for making me understand simple basics of life with positive approaches

By Carolyn H

Apr 21, 2019

Professor was inspiring and entertaining as he taught a lot of top scientific content. Very engaging. Would take the course again!

By Marinka V

Apr 12, 2018

This course puts a smile on your face every week. It is so much fun. Two great teachers. I really found this course life changing.

By Monica Z

Mar 3, 2017

I would apply for this course again and again. Wonderful experience. The best course ever taken! Congratulations to all the team!

By Laura D

Mar 29, 2016

This course really is amazing. It is helping me to understand a lot of thing and giving me a new perspective to make things better

By Dina S P

Jun 5, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. Videos were very clear and very informative, and Dr. Raj made every chapter fun to watch and read.

By Mariam A P

Sep 18, 2019

Very useful and never thought there where so many cientific studies to back everything you learn in this course. 100% recommended

By Mark M

Nov 30, 2015

Really lovely course. I learned a lot, and in addition the atmosphere and sense of community is overwhelmingly lovely! Thank you.

By Robert H

Mar 11, 2019

This course completely blew me away, clear, evidence based and with plenty of practical advice into the psychology of happiness.

By Monica R

Jun 2, 2021

Happiness is what you want it to be in your life now knowing how to let it in and use it properly makes it so much more joyful!

By Rajkumar G T

May 22, 2020

This is one of the best course of my life and in Coursera. I am saying thank to Dr. Raj sir, his team member, ISB and Coursera.

By lorena l s

Sep 3, 2017

This is an excellent course.

It made me reflect about my own paradigms and the believes that I had about success and hapiness.

By Laura S D V

Aug 14, 2015

Great course. It is so awesome that a concept such as happiness can be studied academically... and yield good results! :) 10/10

By Jean H

Oct 31, 2015

I loved this class. Learning about happiness was harder then it sounds. I loved all the science behind being happy. Thank YOU.

By Nguyen H M

Apr 7, 2020

Very eye-opening. Full of practical guides on happiness, with lots of scientific evidence. 5 stars. Recommended for everyone.

By Divyen S

Jan 11, 2017

Great Couse, really loved it because the topic is there which is not covered any where and even though we all seek happiness.

By Jingyan P

Jun 10, 2016

Thank you so much for offering this class on Coursera. I like the professor's teaching style and the class content very much.

By Alexandra

Dec 19, 2015

Just finished the first week and I have hope that I will see some improvments at the end of it, it seems to be very promising

By Julia C

Nov 24, 2015

It is fun, it is usefull, it is full of new knoledge (and I'm only on first week). It gives me inspiration and make me happy.

By Eduardo C J

Aug 16, 2015

Such a passionate professor, he slowly pushes you in the right direction trying his best to help you find your own happiness.

By Vanessa B

May 18, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, it is very interesting and it made me feel a mix of positive emotions. I totally recommend it!

By Francisco Q

Jul 20, 2017

Excellent course!! I really recommend it, will change your life.

Excelente curso!! Realmente lo recomiendo, cambiará tu vida.

By Kam L

Jul 6, 2021

An excellent overall summary of achieving the goal of happiness with details on practices to achieve and sustain happiness.

By Dr K R N

Apr 7, 2020

excellent course with an indepth overview of Happiness and pathway towards happiness

Every leader must undergo this course