Chevron Left
Back to A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment by Indian School of Business

4.8
stars
5,408 ratings
1,942 reviews

About the Course

What are the determinants of a happy and fulfilling life? This is surely one of life’s biggest questions, and a question that has interested many of our ancestors. Buddha famously gave up his kingdom in search of happiness. Several Greek philosophers (from Aristotle to Epicurus and Plato to Socrates) had their own views on what it takes to be happy. And of course, we all have our own theories about happiness too. How valid are our theories? Until recently, if you wished for an answer to this question, you would've been forced to base it on discussions with spiritual leaders. Or, if you were lucky, you could've based it on late-night (and perhaps intoxicant-fueled) conversations with friends and family. Happily, all that has changed now. Over the past decade-and-a-half, scientists have gotten into the act big time. We now have a pretty good idea of what it takes to lead a happy and fulfilling life. This course, based on the award-winning class offered both at the Indian School of Business and at the McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin, developed by Prof. Raj Raghunathan (aka "Dr. Happy-smarts") draws content from a variety of fields, including psychology, neuroscience, and behavioral decision theory to offer a tested and practical recipe for leading a life of happiness and fulfillment. Although not mandatory, reading Prof. Raj's forthcoming book, titled If you're so smart, why aren't you happy? can help you review and assimilate the material covered in this book at your leisure. For Coursera learners alone, the hardcover version of the book is available for a deep discount of 50%, plus shipping and handling. You can order the hardcover for 50% off by writing to Aaron at: Aaron@800ceoread.com. Please mention that you are a student of the "coursera happiness course" in your email. The course will feature guest appearances by several well-known thought leaders, including: - Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational and, soon to be released, Irrationally Yours), - Ed Diener (“Dr. Happiness”), - Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (author of Flow), By taking this course, you will discover the answers to questions such as: - Why aren’t the smart-and-the-successful as happy as they could—or should—be - What are the “7 Deadly Happiness Sins” that even the smart and the successful commit?, and - What are the “7 Habits of the Highly Happy” and how can you implement them in your life? By the end of the course, I expect students who have been diligent with the lectures and exercises to not just gain a deeper understanding of the science of happiness, but to also be significantly happier....

Top reviews

JP
Jul 23, 2020

I like this course a lot. I got some clarity on things I already know. The teacher Raj is the best part of this course. I love his approach and how he interacts with students. I recommend this course!

CR
Apr 23, 2018

Excellent course, Professor Raj is great. I found it very helpful to see what types of personality traits I have that may contribute to my happiness level and possible approaches to dealing with them.

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 1,928 Reviews for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

By Caitlin M

Jun 25, 2021

fantastic course, learning a lot. engaging and entertaining teacher. amazing guest speakers! highly recommend!

By Narasinga P P

Aug 13, 2020

I love the subject, course, teacher and all the sessions.

My Happiness Level Improved, I felt Happy and Healthy

By Jonathan R

Jul 31, 2016

Outstanding, practical course that provides clear lessons, tactics to self-evaluate and improve our happiness.

By Courtney A

Oct 30, 2015

LOVE this course! Am going to suggest to all my students and clients that they take this course!

Nurse Courtney

By Sharad O

Jun 2, 2020

Awesome course. Really enjoyed the entire session. Must enroll everyone to identify the happiness within you.

By William L

Jul 17, 2017

I highly recommend this course, even if you're the happiest person on earth, it will help one way or another.

By Hari I

Feb 6, 2017

I am very thrilled with this course.. Professor Raj is amazing and overall I find the course very meaningful.

By Nesim B

Nov 11, 2016

Best course i have taken for personal development. Now i can be happier and share that with people around me.

By Deleted A

Apr 24, 2016

A great eye opener for my life , family , but tests your observing power . Concept of mindfulness is also new

By Bill R

Nov 17, 2015

Outstanding course! I have recommended it to several people and even tried to bribe my daughter to take it...

By Suparna S

May 23, 2020

It is an excellent course to understand the concept of happiness and I really liked the lectures of prof Raj

By MYRNA R L

Apr 12, 2017

Excellent course, very interesting content.

A great opportunity to learn about happiness in a different way.

By Pedro H

Sep 20, 2016

Very helpful! I think it should be mandatory for people with high roles in society.

Congrats for your course!

By Thomas C

Mar 2, 2016

Awesome professor.

He presents everything in a wonderful way and it is an amazing topic with great research.

By Dmitry Z

Oct 13, 2015

One of the best courses I've ever taken on any subject. It changed my life and I can't stop raving about it.

By wond d

Aug 26, 2015

Excellent course. I have learned practical, applicable, meaningful skill that I can apply to improve my life

By Raquel P

Aug 24, 2015

I really enjoyed the class. I just felt that the topic of the last week was very hard to grasp and explain.

By Camila J Q A

Sep 2, 2020

Excelente!, te ayuda a mejorar bastante como persona si estas dispuesto a eso y a pulir ciertas habilidades

By Shamina G

Aug 16, 2020

Very very satisfied with the humungous effort put in by the time... Truckload of information

Thank you👌👍

By Laguette C

Mar 4, 2018

Great class. Easy to follow. Real good quality. Thank you so much for this material. It's a lesson for life

By Deleted A

Dec 22, 2017

I have gained a lot of insight and tools to lead a happy life and I am very grateful for this, so thank you

By Deeksha A

Aug 2, 2016

Amazing...and extremely helpful...a big thanku to everyone who helped in making this course available :) :)

By Michael G A

Feb 19, 2016

This a fantastic class, it has changed my outlook on many facets of life and has been thoroughly enjoyable!

By Yara C

Feb 10, 2016

My favorite course ever! I think everyone should spend 6 weeks studying this! It can benefit EVERYONE!!! =D

By Prof S S

Sep 8, 2020

Great ,learn small small things in just an amazing way,even it help me to relax also in various conditions