Chevron Left
Back to A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment by Indian School of Business

4.8
stars
5,298 ratings
1,911 reviews

About the Course

What are the determinants of a happy and fulfilling life? This is surely one of life’s biggest questions, and a question that has interested many of our ancestors. Buddha famously gave up his kingdom in search of happiness. Several Greek philosophers (from Aristotle to Epicurus and Plato to Socrates) had their own views on what it takes to be happy. And of course, we all have our own theories about happiness too. How valid are our theories? Until recently, if you wished for an answer to this question, you would've been forced to base it on discussions with spiritual leaders. Or, if you were lucky, you could've based it on late-night (and perhaps intoxicant-fueled) conversations with friends and family. Happily, all that has changed now. Over the past decade-and-a-half, scientists have gotten into the act big time. We now have a pretty good idea of what it takes to lead a happy and fulfilling life. This course, based on the award-winning class offered both at the Indian School of Business and at the McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin, developed by Prof. Raj Raghunathan (aka "Dr. Happy-smarts") draws content from a variety of fields, including psychology, neuroscience, and behavioral decision theory to offer a tested and practical recipe for leading a life of happiness and fulfillment. Although not mandatory, reading Prof. Raj's forthcoming book, titled If you're so smart, why aren't you happy? can help you review and assimilate the material covered in this book at your leisure. For Coursera learners alone, the hardcover version of the book is available for a deep discount of 50%, plus shipping and handling. You can order the hardcover for 50% off by writing to Aaron at: Aaron@800ceoread.com. Please mention that you are a student of the "coursera happiness course" in your email. The course will feature guest appearances by several well-known thought leaders, including: - Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational and, soon to be released, Irrationally Yours), - Ed Diener (“Dr. Happiness”), - Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (author of Flow), By taking this course, you will discover the answers to questions such as: - Why aren’t the smart-and-the-successful as happy as they could—or should—be - What are the “7 Deadly Happiness Sins” that even the smart and the successful commit?, and - What are the “7 Habits of the Highly Happy” and how can you implement them in your life? By the end of the course, I expect students who have been diligent with the lectures and exercises to not just gain a deeper understanding of the science of happiness, but to also be significantly happier....

Top reviews

CR
Apr 23, 2018

Excellent course, Professor Raj is great. I found it very helpful to see what types of personality traits I have that may contribute to my happiness level and possible approaches to dealing with them.

LS
Jan 23, 2017

This course is a joy! I cannot recommend it highly enough. Practical advice based on long-term research, interviews with worldwide experts on the topics discussed, and a fabulous professor. So great!

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 1,893 Reviews for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

By Betty-Fleur P

Aug 9, 2016

Raj, is super pleasant it was so nice to spend some time in his happiness univers. He spot our bad habits and recommend simple change of mindset to get back on track to happiness path.

By Karen R L

Feb 3, 2016

Very Practical stuff. Definitely not woo woo. Already things I have learned have changed my way of looking at experiences. As a bonus, the material makes great family conversations.

By Mayur G N

Jul 18, 2020

The course was excellent. I love the way the instructors in the course have guided and explained through this course. I also have to mention the quiz and activities was very good too.

By Ray T

Jun 22, 2020

An interesting course which opened up doors for me to learn more about the habits that can help improve happiness levels and why I should prioritize Happiness instead of pursuing it.

By Lena M

Sep 17, 2015

I was skeptical about the concept. But once you get into the course, it becomes addictive and certainly makes a lot of sense and positive impact on the way we look/consider happiness

By Laura S

May 14, 2020

I enjoyed the course very much, it is super interesting and I appreciated the scientific approach to happiness that really helps to understand how to pursue it. Thank you Prof. Raj!

By THITIRAT B L

Oct 23, 2015

Please take this course! :) I recommended to everybody.

A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment or "life appreciation" which is very useful for everybody to live in the social world. :)

By Imran K

Jun 19, 2020

Loved this Course I never thought it will be so amazing......thanks to Cousersa Team for this

and Special Thanks to mentor Rajagopal Raghunathan for his thoughts and teaching....<3

By Yogesh B

Aug 25, 2016

This course is intended to provide the concepts of Happiness what it is and how we relate to it. Prof Raj is amazing at explaining all this in details yet in common man simplicity.

By Seiji R B

Mar 2, 2016

In addition of the very relevant content, all the materials and videos are of very high quality.

Além do tema ser muito relevante, todo o material e os vídeos são de alta qualidade.

By Laurel L

Dec 28, 2015

It isn't rocket science... but this is an informative, fun, upbeat course ... useful to practitioners, educators, and anyone that works with people... plus just good fun self-help!

By Anuradha R

Dec 15, 2020

Great course for bringing positivity into life, enhancing productivity and overall happiness. I was able to learn a lot through this course and change my lifestyle for the better.

By Rohit K

Jun 14, 2020

This course is definitely a very exciting one, and made more so by the way Prof Raj has taken the lessons.

Its got great learning, excellent research and is of great value overall.

By Chintan S

Sep 28, 2015

This is one of the finest course I have taken on Coursera. I know what "Happiness" is and how to be happy all the time. I loved the 'Mindfulness" videos, they were simply amazing

By Monika S

Sep 1, 2020

Wonderful course left me with a sense of calmness and abundance.Hope to have a great world wide community of the course spreading the love and affection with mindfulness within.

By María d l T S C

Mar 30, 2020

The course is very entertaining, even very well structured and I have improved some of my skills to be happy and learned to control some of the sins that decreased my happiness.

By Dörte H

Dec 8, 2017

Very interesting an catchy. Good impulses. Filled with results of studies. Especially catchy: take away the "wooo" of mindfulness and meditation.

Already recommended to a friend.

By Cecilia R

Oct 17, 2017

Un curso absolutamente genial, más que recomendado. Si eres disciplinado y de mente abierta, vas a lograr de verdad una vida más feliz y plena. Gracias por este curso Coursera!

By Rahul B

May 6, 2020

Such a good course for the Indian Institute of business was really overwhelming. Instructor was very knowledgeable and information and his wisdom shared was really beneficial.

By fleur j

May 7, 2017

The course is very good structured and come across very well. I have learned a lot from this course and I will use the learned skills in my daily life. Keep up the great work!

By Trevor H

Sep 1, 2016

This is a great course. Students learn a lot about themselves and others that helps build lasting happiness through internal control and building strong healthy relationships.

By Saliya A S

Jul 3, 2021

Thank you Prof. Raj and the entire team for this wonderful course. This course is very much effective for boosting happiness as well as gaining knowledge regarding happiness.

By Saurabh K S

Sep 15, 2015

A must take course for anyone who is seeking to understand and enhance their Happiness Index. Professor Raj is awesome and i love every single minute of his wonderful classes

By Sue C

Sep 2, 2015

A course everyone should follow ...for your own happiness!

Truly a great course, significantly research-based, well articulated, fun and entertaining while also very thorough.

By César A Q S

Jun 19, 2020

Un curso que definitivamente cambia la forma de vivir y la perspectiva de ver los eventos del día a día. Más que un curso, es una introducción a una nueva filosofía de vida.