Chevron Left
Back to A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment by Indian School of Business

4.8
stars
5,342 ratings
1,928 reviews

About the Course

What are the determinants of a happy and fulfilling life? This is surely one of life’s biggest questions, and a question that has interested many of our ancestors. Buddha famously gave up his kingdom in search of happiness. Several Greek philosophers (from Aristotle to Epicurus and Plato to Socrates) had their own views on what it takes to be happy. And of course, we all have our own theories about happiness too. How valid are our theories? Until recently, if you wished for an answer to this question, you would've been forced to base it on discussions with spiritual leaders. Or, if you were lucky, you could've based it on late-night (and perhaps intoxicant-fueled) conversations with friends and family. Happily, all that has changed now. Over the past decade-and-a-half, scientists have gotten into the act big time. We now have a pretty good idea of what it takes to lead a happy and fulfilling life. This course, based on the award-winning class offered both at the Indian School of Business and at the McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin, developed by Prof. Raj Raghunathan (aka "Dr. Happy-smarts") draws content from a variety of fields, including psychology, neuroscience, and behavioral decision theory to offer a tested and practical recipe for leading a life of happiness and fulfillment. Although not mandatory, reading Prof. Raj's forthcoming book, titled If you're so smart, why aren't you happy? can help you review and assimilate the material covered in this book at your leisure. For Coursera learners alone, the hardcover version of the book is available for a deep discount of 50%, plus shipping and handling. You can order the hardcover for 50% off by writing to Aaron at: Aaron@800ceoread.com. Please mention that you are a student of the "coursera happiness course" in your email. The course will feature guest appearances by several well-known thought leaders, including: - Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational and, soon to be released, Irrationally Yours), - Ed Diener (“Dr. Happiness”), - Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (author of Flow), By taking this course, you will discover the answers to questions such as: - Why aren’t the smart-and-the-successful as happy as they could—or should—be - What are the “7 Deadly Happiness Sins” that even the smart and the successful commit?, and - What are the “7 Habits of the Highly Happy” and how can you implement them in your life? By the end of the course, I expect students who have been diligent with the lectures and exercises to not just gain a deeper understanding of the science of happiness, but to also be significantly happier....

Top reviews

CR
Apr 23, 2018

Excellent course, Professor Raj is great. I found it very helpful to see what types of personality traits I have that may contribute to my happiness level and possible approaches to dealing with them.

JP
Jul 23, 2020

I like this course a lot. I got some clarity on things I already know. The teacher Raj is the best part of this course. I love his approach and how he interacts with students. I recommend this course!

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 1,916 Reviews for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

By Arvind M

Mar 12, 2021

Absolutely fantastic, it was a once in life experience for me and the professor touched everyone's heart becoming like a brother to the students !

By Alexa M

Jul 24, 2016

This is an amazing course; absolutely well structured, very insightful, completely useful and inspiring! It has the potential to change your life.

By Adisesha R

Mar 24, 2016

Its an amazing course, I recommend everyone to take this course. Its just not any other course, it's happy course :-). A Life of Happiness to all.

By shubhada a b

May 26, 2021

Very nice & refreshing Course. The professor is also very well explained & made the students's life happy by changing the direction of thinking.

By Nayara N S

May 18, 2020

The course is good because it brings grounded research facts about happiness, which is a concept that is so subjective, personal, and individual.

By Maria M

Feb 25, 2020

A great lot of insights and practices to apply in real life. All supported by lots of research for those who need more proof to believe it works!

By Bhuma P

Jun 22, 2021

Loved this course and presentation. Prof Raj Raghunathan was so engaging and all the evidence-based facts were so overwhelming. Great one to do!

By Akriti J

Jun 6, 2020

I loved this course. I learned alot of things and also i have realised alot of things.This course has changed the way i think in a positive way.

By WRITTIK J

Apr 24, 2020

Great crouse and Raj sir is awesome. Great teaching style and a valuable content and excercise. Thanks of ALOHAF..team for such a great course.

By Aloke V

Jan 8, 2016

Excellent course because it is so simply & clearly presented by Prof Raj.. who brings his enthusiasm across well in the videos.. highly recommen

By Deleted A

Sep 29, 2015

Nice course by the ISB (Indian School of Business). Proud to be an Indian. Thanks to all those who helped in making this course.

Santoshchandra

By Emanuela

Aug 25, 2017

The course is an exiting travel through happiness discovery. Teacher is such enthusiastic, clear, logic and easy to understandI am loving it!

By Sumor S

Feb 18, 2017

Loving this course ! i wish it had been part of my undergraduate experience 20 years ago… I may have a had a really different outcome! lol

By artur b

Aug 20, 2015

If you will participate in this course with your full attention and honesty this can help you to find more happiness in life than you expect.

By IRINA S

Dec 30, 2020

Great, smartly put, well presented course that stays in your mind forever! Many thanks to Professor Raj! Irina Sztukowski (www.artirina.com)

By rosemaryhibbertfoy@yahoo.com.au

Sep 14, 2020

Really enjoyed the course.

Very appropriate for 2020 due to the turmoil globally related to Covid19.

Thank you.

Rosemary Hibbert-Foy (Louisson)

By Ravinder R K

May 14, 2020

This is an amazing course -with great content . the References and experts in one platform was great . Thank Prof Raj for an excellent Curse

By Karla S

Oct 20, 2015

Extremely informative research and findings. I'm loving this class. He delivers his lectures in a very uplifting, charismatic, engaging way.

By Vasiliki B

Aug 23, 2018

The best and most fulfilling course I have ever attended with constant feedback and communication after the end of the course. Well done!!!

By Mohit C

Dec 23, 2015

Excellent course on whats important in life. Have ordered the book too. Should be a good read.

Shall recommend the course to a lot of them.

By Hemaxi M

Dec 15, 2016

Loved the enthusiastic professor Raj. Thank you for being so contagious throughout the course for being happy and spreading the happiness.

By Daniel M

Jun 13, 2016

Excelent course! It helped me to be happy again!!

P.S. I'd lke to help translate this course to spanish so more people can benefit from it!

By Liubov K

Mar 12, 2016

If you need a true inspiration to improve yourself, go for it!

Thank you, Raj! You have made a real difference in my attitude towards life!

By James M

Feb 15, 2016

Muy buen curso, esta muy bien realizado, con excelente documentacion y ejercicios para seguir ampliando el aprendizaje. Lo recomiendo 100%