Chevron Left
Back to A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment by Indian School of Business

4.8
stars
5,380 ratings
1,937 reviews

About the Course

What are the determinants of a happy and fulfilling life? This is surely one of life’s biggest questions, and a question that has interested many of our ancestors. Buddha famously gave up his kingdom in search of happiness. Several Greek philosophers (from Aristotle to Epicurus and Plato to Socrates) had their own views on what it takes to be happy. And of course, we all have our own theories about happiness too. How valid are our theories? Until recently, if you wished for an answer to this question, you would've been forced to base it on discussions with spiritual leaders. Or, if you were lucky, you could've based it on late-night (and perhaps intoxicant-fueled) conversations with friends and family. Happily, all that has changed now. Over the past decade-and-a-half, scientists have gotten into the act big time. We now have a pretty good idea of what it takes to lead a happy and fulfilling life. This course, based on the award-winning class offered both at the Indian School of Business and at the McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin, developed by Prof. Raj Raghunathan (aka "Dr. Happy-smarts") draws content from a variety of fields, including psychology, neuroscience, and behavioral decision theory to offer a tested and practical recipe for leading a life of happiness and fulfillment. Although not mandatory, reading Prof. Raj's forthcoming book, titled If you're so smart, why aren't you happy? can help you review and assimilate the material covered in this book at your leisure. For Coursera learners alone, the hardcover version of the book is available for a deep discount of 50%, plus shipping and handling. You can order the hardcover for 50% off by writing to Aaron at: Aaron@800ceoread.com. Please mention that you are a student of the "coursera happiness course" in your email. The course will feature guest appearances by several well-known thought leaders, including: - Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational and, soon to be released, Irrationally Yours), - Ed Diener (“Dr. Happiness”), - Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (author of Flow), By taking this course, you will discover the answers to questions such as: - Why aren’t the smart-and-the-successful as happy as they could—or should—be - What are the “7 Deadly Happiness Sins” that even the smart and the successful commit?, and - What are the “7 Habits of the Highly Happy” and how can you implement them in your life? By the end of the course, I expect students who have been diligent with the lectures and exercises to not just gain a deeper understanding of the science of happiness, but to also be significantly happier....

Top reviews

CR
Apr 23, 2018

Excellent course, Professor Raj is great. I found it very helpful to see what types of personality traits I have that may contribute to my happiness level and possible approaches to dealing with them.

JP
Jul 23, 2020

I like this course a lot. I got some clarity on things I already know. The teacher Raj is the best part of this course. I love his approach and how he interacts with students. I recommend this course!

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 1,923 Reviews for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

By Meena B S

May 25, 2019

Aloha!

Being a part of this study group has made me more concious of LIFE. At the end of it all what matters is Happiness.

By Nicola J

Jul 2, 2018

Excellent course giving guidance on the routes to happiness and what gets in the way of achieving and attaining happiness.

By David H

May 14, 2016

This course has helped transform my life. Evidence-based research on happiness has been powerful for me. Thank you kindly.

By Andrzej S

Feb 2, 2016

Pr Raj is the most happy man I have ever met! Very helpful course with many positive information to ennhance our hapiness!

By Magnus M

Aug 31, 2015

Dr. Rajagopal Raghunathan, the teacher, is a very compassionate and funny person, so it makes the course so much more fun.

By Avie N

Sep 28, 2020

An excellent course with deep insights and a tool set to continue on the journey of a life of happiness and fullfillment.

By Robert S

Mar 6, 2016

Great course. I have often wondered what was wrong with me. This course helped me to better understand myself and others.

By Berfin A

Sep 2, 2020

The teacher is very energetic and full of life, and the information he gives is just as valuable. I loved this course :)

By Nur E

Jun 10, 2020

Very good course and very good teacher. This course helped me a lot to gain an insight into happy life. Thank you Dr.Raj

By Juliane G

Feb 13, 2017

Very well researched, lots of practical applications and examples, explained thoroughly, highly engaging - great course!

By hetal d

Apr 20, 2020

Excellent Course. Congratulations Dr. Raj for designing quite useful course that teaches fundamental laws of happiness.

By Alexandra M

Feb 26, 2018

Es un curso que todos deberíamos tomar, está bien estructurado, academicamente impecable y muy provechoso para la vida.

By Kathy K

May 1, 2017

this was an enjoyable course with lessons that are applicable in everyday life and perspectives that change how we view

By Darya L

Feb 2, 2016

Great one! All information and tests are useful and practical. I am happy that I have opportunity to learn all these :)

By Josep G

Nov 25, 2015

Thank you. I am indeed happier. I am very grateful to professor Raj. You've changed my life! I needed just this course.

By Anisa B

Jun 5, 2020

Laughed at videos, nodded at many facts and also learned a lot! I really enjoyed it! Keep up the good work! Thank you!

By Oleksii Y

Jul 14, 2017

The course is genial! Prof. Raj and his team did a tremendous work! Strongly recommended to everybody!!! Thanks a lot!

By Irene C

Jan 1, 2016

Excellent course. A great combination of theory and practice. Very applicable in daily life. I'm very happy I took it!

By Madhuri S

Jul 19, 2020

By completing this course I now know how important it is to be happy and how to be happy by practicing few strategies

By Dhanashri P

May 9, 2020

Hello, the course was really nice, things I knew before but I have got confirmation over those parameters, thank you.

By Luciana L Q F

Aug 16, 2017

GREAT course. Congratulations, Teacher and Team! The course surprised me in the best way possible! THANK YOU so much!

By Prudence R

Jul 22, 2017

Este curso ha cambiado mi forma de ver la vida, es altamente recomendable, ojalá todo el mundo se acercara a tomarlo.

By Christiane R

Oct 23, 2016

Overall great course!!! Very interesting and scientific content which is presented in an engaging and motivating way!

By Mariana G P J

Aug 23, 2015

Excelent course! I am really enjoying the topics and the videos! Please do more courses like this.

Mariana from Mexico

By MarcePena

Jun 18, 2018

Este es un gran curso: es dinámico, desafiante, exigente. El mayor desafío es aplicar diariamente todo lo aprendido.