Chevron Left
Back to A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment by Indian School of Business

4.8
stars
5,376 ratings
1,937 reviews

About the Course

What are the determinants of a happy and fulfilling life? This is surely one of life’s biggest questions, and a question that has interested many of our ancestors. Buddha famously gave up his kingdom in search of happiness. Several Greek philosophers (from Aristotle to Epicurus and Plato to Socrates) had their own views on what it takes to be happy. And of course, we all have our own theories about happiness too. How valid are our theories? Until recently, if you wished for an answer to this question, you would've been forced to base it on discussions with spiritual leaders. Or, if you were lucky, you could've based it on late-night (and perhaps intoxicant-fueled) conversations with friends and family. Happily, all that has changed now. Over the past decade-and-a-half, scientists have gotten into the act big time. We now have a pretty good idea of what it takes to lead a happy and fulfilling life. This course, based on the award-winning class offered both at the Indian School of Business and at the McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin, developed by Prof. Raj Raghunathan (aka "Dr. Happy-smarts") draws content from a variety of fields, including psychology, neuroscience, and behavioral decision theory to offer a tested and practical recipe for leading a life of happiness and fulfillment. Although not mandatory, reading Prof. Raj's forthcoming book, titled If you're so smart, why aren't you happy? can help you review and assimilate the material covered in this book at your leisure. For Coursera learners alone, the hardcover version of the book is available for a deep discount of 50%, plus shipping and handling. You can order the hardcover for 50% off by writing to Aaron at: Aaron@800ceoread.com. Please mention that you are a student of the "coursera happiness course" in your email. The course will feature guest appearances by several well-known thought leaders, including: - Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational and, soon to be released, Irrationally Yours), - Ed Diener (“Dr. Happiness”), - Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (author of Flow), By taking this course, you will discover the answers to questions such as: - Why aren’t the smart-and-the-successful as happy as they could—or should—be - What are the “7 Deadly Happiness Sins” that even the smart and the successful commit?, and - What are the “7 Habits of the Highly Happy” and how can you implement them in your life? By the end of the course, I expect students who have been diligent with the lectures and exercises to not just gain a deeper understanding of the science of happiness, but to also be significantly happier....

Top reviews

JP
Jul 23, 2020

I like this course a lot. I got some clarity on things I already know. The teacher Raj is the best part of this course. I love his approach and how he interacts with students. I recommend this course!

CR
Apr 23, 2018

Excellent course, Professor Raj is great. I found it very helpful to see what types of personality traits I have that may contribute to my happiness level and possible approaches to dealing with them.

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 1,923 Reviews for A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

By Sai T R

Mar 28, 2017

This is one course which I strongly recommend for everyone irrespective of their cultural and educational background

By Nicole C R M

Jun 23, 2016

Extremely well taught, excellent supply of materials and very good collaborators.

A must enroll class for everybody!

By magdalena P

Feb 1, 2016

Lots of food for thought served in a very enjoyable manner. I learned a lot about the scientific theas about myself.

By Sarah J

Dec 11, 2015

This is such an insightful course, and provides many fun yet practical exercises on ways to increase your happiness.

By Sandra E S

Dec 8, 2015

Extremely interesting and engaging. Take this for yourself, and you will find that you come closer to a happier you.

By Annick D

Sep 2, 2015

This course has made me be more thankful of the people around me and wanting to contribute to society in a good way.

By vikas r

Jun 15, 2020

One of fantastic course i did. Thanks to Prof Raj and Coursera team to make this happen.

Pro Raj is simply awesome !

By Rfa M

Nov 30, 2016

Sencillo y motivador, cuestiones obvias que no tomamos en cuenta, y lo mejor: es fácil de aplicar a la vida diaria.

By Pamela M G

Oct 22, 2015

I love this course, professor Raj is so dinamic anad this course has truly changed my life in a very possitive way.

By Lynn N

Oct 22, 2020

I totally enjoyed this course. Professor Raj was both witty and charismatic. A lot of information was given out.

By Daniel O

Aug 29, 2020

Amazing course which will give you a extraordinary value to improve your happiness level with practice activities.

By Sayantan M

Aug 22, 2020

Great Course.

Thanks, Dr. Rajagopal Sir

"Unforgettable knowledge by an unforgettable man"

Keep it up. God bless you.

By Mahendra C

May 2, 2020

It eliminates many myths of happiness. Every youth shall understand the concepts though to lead life meaningfully.

By Chin L

Nov 20, 2019

Excellent course with lots of scientifically-backed studies delivered in a way that you can internalize and apply.

By Suellen G

May 26, 2021

Fiquei muito satisfeita em fazer este curso, pois me abriu a mente para algumas questões que nunca havia pensado.

By Jose R

Sep 7, 2017

Increible descubrimiento de herramientas para ser feliz y tener una mejor calidad de vida. Gracias por tanta luz.

By Caroline A

Jun 29, 2016

Most interesting, compact, comprehensive and a real life saver. A Million thanks to Prof. Raj and the whole Team!

By Anurag K

Apr 2, 2016

Excellent course..everyone should try it once and I am sure there will be improvement in the happiness levels..:)

By Elana H

Aug 11, 2015

Exceptional instructor. Arguments based in sound science. Presentation a bit hokey at times, but all in good fun.

By Dr. P S

May 29, 2020

Marvelous course, awesome contents seems truly remain connected with Prof. RAJ during the entire course. Thnx...

By Arshiya Z A

Mar 1, 2016

Extremely helpful and informative. The benefits of this course is going to stay with me for the rest of my life.

By Wes H

Jan 22, 2016

Thorough, well structured, engaging, entertaining, and fun. Every lecture has a proper APA Style reference list.

By Adriana A E

Apr 4, 2021

It's an excellent course, I loved every moment and I learned a lot of things that can be used in my daily life.

By Mohamed H

Dec 22, 2015

excellent course, it combines the scientific basis of happiness as well as the practical tactics to pursuit it.

By VIRENDRA G

Nov 13, 2015

Excellent. Program is highly add value to personalty, improve thinking abilities and bring life into happiness.