Chevron Left
Back to Hardware Security

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Hardware Security by University of Maryland, College Park

4.1
362 ratings
69 reviews

About the Course

In this course, we will study security and trust from the hardware perspective. Upon completing the course, students will understand the vulnerabilities in current digital system design flow and the physical attacks to these systems. They will learn that security starts from hardware design and be familiar with the tools and skills to build secure and trusted hardware....

Top reviews

FK

Aug 03, 2019

Great course, very helpful. The content is well organised and you need to have all the require knowledge, otherwise you won't get it.

SR

Jun 27, 2019

the course is very useful and the content of the course is helpful to learn about hardware security

Filter by:

51 - 67 of 67 Reviews for Hardware Security

By Rajat R N

Oct 19, 2019

The transcripts should be refined more in order to avoid errors.

By Bastien T

Oct 31, 2018

I'm very disappointed by this course...I got lured in by the good reviews but I don't share them and I'll explain why.

Some might argue that Coursera is probably not a good medium to learn such technical skills. However Cryptography 1 (for example) is very technical and is still an amazing course, so I think there is a lot of room for improvement for Hardware Security.

At the end of the course I felt like the course was a pile of name-dropping of a lot of concepts with very vague and high-level explanations, but no more than that.

There are some exceptions, a few parts are well covered but overall I feel that the agenda is too big so for each concept only the surface is scratched.

There are a few technical issues too that make the experience quite bad. The first 3 weeks are recorded at a very low volume (fortunately fixed in the last 3 weeks). The 6th week is a mess: the videos aren't in the proper order and one of them stops abruptly. And I don't mean to offend anyone, but as a non-native speaker (I come from Europe) it's very hard to understand the teacher's accent...

By Ricardo L C T

Aug 07, 2018

Very low quality of video recorded. Many mistakes and should be recorded again. material out of order. simple read of presentation and no material of course available to download. Instructor demonstrate knowledge but with no teaching skills.

By Valerio M

Aug 08, 2018

Not many practical examples.

The teacher has a poor diction and even the subtitles are often wrong, so it's hard to understand.

By jorge

Feb 18, 2017

foreign accent is totally ok, but very poor presentation skills by lecturer. material should be refreshed some already outdated

By Mahmoud H

May 28, 2018

presenter was not good enough, with his mono tone presentations, and also poor quality in the presentation over all

By David P

Nov 16, 2017

This course is strangely organized and require knowledges that we usually don't see in a classic computer science cursus. Moreover, the teacher accent is really hard to understand for non english native and makes the whole a bit painful to be followed.

By Łukasz D

May 16, 2017

Only two stars because of poor quality of videos.

By Mikael C

Nov 22, 2017

Simple or hard concepts are explain in the same amount of time.

By Elias R

Aug 21, 2019

The course has no active instructors and was not updated for at least three years.

By Dan T

Feb 14, 2019

The course is awful, let's be honest. Complete waste of money. There's no recommended reading and the content is not easy to understand by itself, due to it being poorly put together.I wish I could get a refund, but cancelling will have to do.

By Brett K

Jul 19, 2016

The quality of the slides, video, and presentation in this course is much lower than those offered by this Speciality or coursera in general. Very disappointed in this.

By Philippe A

Dec 23, 2016

The most boring course i have ever done in my life... Soporific course, Content interesting, but professor is just reading slides, with reading mistakes every 2-3 words. I would not recommend this course at all.

By Suhaib O

Dec 21, 2016

Poor presentation skills (mostly reading slides)

Unclear and inconsistent in what pre-requisite knowledge is needed for the course (in one place he assumes one does not know digital logic, but then later he assumes you know hardware languages, fpga design, etc.).

Was a waste of time, shame on Coursera that pre-requisite knowledge was removed from the site.

By alireza r

May 29, 2017

very boring. Just reading from slides.

By Chris Z

Jul 26, 2016

The material used for this course is so old that makes me feel I'm taking a course in the 90's. The narration is very dull and therefore hard to follow. Really disappointing.

By Deleted A

Nov 29, 2016

Very slow paced and boring. The instructor is not good at teaching.