Chevron Left
Back to Medical Technology and Evaluation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Medical Technology and Evaluation by University of Minnesota

4.5
stars
225 ratings
56 reviews

About the Course

Innovations in medical technologies are one of the leading areas of economic growth in the world. Whether new technologies take the form of pharmaceutical, medical device, biotechnology, information technology of some combination of these innovations, the opportunities for both private enterprise and social welfare are substantial. However, these innovations are not without cost, and require reimbursement from either a privately or publicly financed health care delivery system to enter the marketplace. This course aims to provide knowledge of the concepts, data, and methodology required to critically evaluate new medical technologies in order to secure financial investment, reimbursement, and regulatory compliance objectives, such as FDA approval. The course is designed to provide understanding of the analytic tools needed to evaluate medical technologies. After completing this course, students will have the skills needed to: - Understand the reimbursement systems financing medical technology use. - Understand the role of government and regulatory agencies in the development and use of new medical technologies. - Identify a population to be served by a medical technology. - Use health care data to evaluate a medical technology. - Perform cost/benefit and cost/effectiveness analysis of a new technology....

Top reviews

BG
Oct 4, 2018

This course is a great tool to learn basics about health technology if you want to begin in this field. Thank you for the information, it was well explained and organized. I enjoyed my learning.

DH
Aug 13, 2019

Extremely valuable content. I have seen very few places where so much information about Medical Technology development and regulation was provided in such a compact and well-organized place.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 53 Reviews for Medical Technology and Evaluation

By Vidhya L k

Aug 18, 2020

Medical technology and evaluation in this course come under the specialization of healthcare market place specialization..I gained knowledge about the medical technology

By Angel C

Sep 13, 2020

An excellent course, I learned a lot and I know that I can apply it to my work field, excellent work.

By ALISA C D

Sep 3, 2020

Very insightful and informative Course I must say!

By Thales G S

Aug 5, 2020

Awesome material, great videos and activities

By SERGIO L C V

Nov 16, 2020

excellent information, very important topics

By Erica F

Aug 24, 2020

This course was great learning experience.

By Daniel T

Sep 3, 2018

The concepts of economic evaluation in healthcare are well presented.

People without any knowledge in health economics might find this quite heavy. Once you patiently digest them all, they are very helpful in understanding what economic evaluation is trying to achieve.

By Jackson V S

Nov 15, 2016

One of the most interesting courses of the specialization. Unfortunately, delivery is still in need of improvement. At least there was some good discussion around the slides, and not all slides were read verbatim. Interesting project at the end!

By Tanmay K

Nov 13, 2020

Good content. But, I expected this course to be about technical analysis of medical technology rather than just cost, benefit, or effectivity analysis.

By Mariia

Nov 15, 2016

Interesting course with really useful information. Learning of course is easy because of many examples offered by teacher.

By António P

Jun 21, 2016

Good content, engaging assignments and valuable points that allow the students to better understand all indicated points.

By Joshua V

Mar 19, 2018

Pretty good I though there was a bit to much overlap with Course 3, and I thought the assignment was a bit nebulous

By Arnold J S

Jul 7, 2020

First couple of weeks, the instructor sounds a bit nervous which may make empathetic indiviuals uncomfortable.

By Sissilx

Nov 8, 2016

Nice course. It would be better if the PPT could be modified (reduce the words, add more figures or diagrams).

By Thierry P

Oct 21, 2018

The last week is the more interestinig. More details would be appreciated

By Mazen T H Y

Aug 15, 2018

informative but will be useful only for advanced

By vishal d

Jan 17, 2020

it is best course to improve our knowledge

By ADJA K A

Aug 20, 2020

very good course

By Joao B

May 13, 2016

Quick and clear!

By roger m a

Apr 26, 2020

This course is a good tool to learn in a very generic and theoric way what an HTA is. However, I think it lacks a lot in the way of providing the tools or information to be able to perform a simple cost-effectiveness study yourself. I think it should provide real examples where he analyses a real case in way more depth that what he does during the course, or the depth of one or some links where you can find some guidelines or something.

By Angela N

Jun 28, 2017

In the beginning the lecturer seemed to have to think of what he wanted to say, thus losing my attention. Towards the end it got better - especially where it appears the lecture was redone.

By Alfons P

May 11, 2020

Good content but the communication quality of the speaker is very low. Makes it more easy to just read the transcript than listening to the video.

By Keita Y

Jul 19, 2020

This class is a good introduction to the words and concepts for market analysis in the medical world. But the lecturer's pacing is awkward, the assignments are poorly worded, and (aside for isolated examples that are not contextualized to the rest of this course) the class doesn't explore many solutions for contemporary societal and ethical issues in medtech evaluation strategies.

By Dirk R

Sep 14, 2020

Reading from slides only is not really exciting way of presenting the topic of HTA

Worst of all Coursera Course I took

By Evangelos P

Nov 20, 2020

Contenu pédagogique avec beaucoup d'erreurs.

Difficile de suivre un instructeur qui n'est pas visible...