Chevron Left
Back to History of Rock, Part One

Learner Reviews & Feedback for History of Rock, Part One by University of Rochester

4.8
stars
1,135 ratings

About the Course

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

Top reviews

SM

Oct 1, 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

BL

Mar 12, 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 330 Reviews for History of Rock, Part One

By Bertha L D G

Nov 11, 2021

El curso es excepcional. No solo aprendí más sobre musica tambien aprendi un poco de la cultura social que se vivía a la par. Fue muy interesante conocer la sociedad de esos tiempos. Únicamente coloco 4 estrellas porque -segun desde mi perspectiva- siento que falto hablar de los grandes exponentes del Jazz. Despues de eso, el curso es excelente y critico.

By Albert M V

Apr 21, 2017

It was a great course. I love the professor's explanations and it was quite well organized. It would be good to have a document with all the links to songs and albums on Youtube or whatever, so you don't have to manually search for each track.

By Robin A

Apr 22, 2018

this course i great if you want to increase your knowledge about rock music,it has helped me a lot to understand different genres of music and how it came into picture of music.

very helpful course with lots of examples to understand perfectly

By Claudia L V C

Jun 21, 2021

De todo el curso, resalta la vocación del profesor por educar, expone datos interesantes y brinda recomendaciones para que el alumno busque por su propia cuenta. Se recomienda llevar el cursos y escuchar las canciones explicadas a la par.

By sara l v

Aug 25, 2023

Very interesting topics and very good teacher, nice to listen to and passionate of the topic.

I'd only suggest to include some music samples as the lessons unfold, to easier get the taste of what is being explained.

By Dennis G

Aug 26, 2019

Enjoyed class. Got a little weary of watching videos toward the end. Definitely will consider future classes. More time on The Beatles and Rolling Stones would make the course more interesting.

Thanks for

By Robert J P

Sep 20, 2020

While I enjoyed the course it does appear a bit dated in its delivery .Links to interviews' and performances would be easy to do and would enhance the experience for the learner.

By Rodolfo F L

Oct 6, 2016

Could be improved using musical videos or complementary material. Is a little be boring just listening to lectures. :(

By EDGARDO A M R

Oct 11, 2020

Muy buen curso, pero faltan mas imágenes y videos de bandas a las cuales hacen referencia. Pero, aprendí bastante.

By Zachary B

Oct 15, 2015

Instructor is very articulate. The layouts for all of the lessons are very simple and easy to maneuver.

By Yana N

Mar 24, 2016

Thank you for the course. It's really interesting! I enjoy it so much, especially the quizzes :)

By Wayne M

Oct 26, 2020

Very well produced and great visuals. Sessions were just the right length and not dragged out.

By Mark L

Oct 6, 2015

Good course, but I was disappointed that clips of some of the music weren't played.

By Abellot a

May 21, 2018

lástima que no esté en castellano 100%. Me ha parecido muy útil. Muchas gracias

By Dave E

Jan 10, 2020

Buen curso! Muchos datos importantes sintetizados y bien explicados.

By Mark S

Jan 16, 2017

Well done. Lot of material covered. I enjoyed it.

By Garry K

Jul 13, 2017

A lot of great info and it was easy to understand.

By Jade

Sep 8, 2018

Engaging and an overall very informative course.

By Raymond D

Oct 10, 2017

Great course! Well presented. Very informative.

By Adam L

Nov 14, 2016

Good overview of the birth of Rock

By HIMANSHU R

Mar 11, 2019

overall fab....

By Laura H

May 7, 2018

nice ponytail

By Thomas T

Oct 18, 2016

Very good

By Aitana D P

Jun 28, 2021

By Aimi I

Sep 18, 2015

better than my other courses