Chevron Left
Back to How to Write a Resume (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for How to Write a Resume (Project-Centered Course) by The State University of New York

4.6
stars
3,331 ratings
875 reviews

About the Course

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you will craft an essential cornerstone of the modern-day job or internship search: the resume. You’ll review resume best practices and explore current trends with guidance from a professional career counselor and recruiter, and you’ll exchange structured feedback with your peers as you work to polish your own resume. When you complete the course, you’ll have an eye-catching resume that lets your professional strengths shine. What you’ll need to get started: This course is designed primarily for young professionals or college students who are writing their first resume or looking to give an old resume a fresh and polished professional look. All job seekers will benefit from the course material and project, however, regardless of their career stage or professional background. All you will need is word processing software that allows you to create a resume on a computer- there are free tools available. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of like-minded supportive learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Top reviews

RP
May 26, 2020

It's wonderful experience with Quiz of Resume. I learn lots of things about resume and I am sure after completing this wonderful course everyone can write a effective and impressive resume.thank you.

M
Apr 13, 2020

In the words of myself , i would say "Coursera" is certainty an highly professional educative platform to learn about academic and non academic lessons. I'm pretty much pleased with their lessons.

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 865 Reviews for How to Write a Resume (Project-Centered Course)

By katia a

Dec 28, 2017

It was good, really informative. took a class at FIU that was very similar to this. I wish this would have had more PDFs such as the strong verbs to use, and formats. Resume rubric PDF was helpful to evaluate my own resume.

Thank you!

By Jawad I M

Jul 4, 2020

This course is relevant only for recent graduates. It will cover the basics only. If you are new to resume writing you might benefit from it. However, if you already know how to write a resume, this course might be not for you.

By RAJ G

Jun 3, 2020

I think this help me a lot in writing my resume better. Only problem is that i am from India and resume writing format in India is quite different but i learn is how to show your experience in effective and clear way

By Suraj S

Jun 11, 2020

It was a very Nice Course and first time in my life I came to know about the term"Transferable skills" .this term is never taught in Educational institute in India .

Successfully completed this course

Thanks !

By Rajat M

Jul 20, 2020

A good overview of the Resume and various types and its importance in their particular field. Also, this course throws light on how the content should be organized and the importance of presentation.

By Allard Q

May 10, 2020

Short and useful pointers for anyone just starting to write their resume! Would be even better if the community was more committed to refining their resumes and providing more constructive feedback.

By chandana g

Jul 28, 2020

This course has taught me quiet lot of techniques in searching information for my academic .Thank you to all the people behind this course who are enlightening students with their whole stuff.

By Syed W H N

Jul 3, 2020

The course helped me tweak my professional resume. It helped me strengthen my bullet points and provided with a clear understanding of mentioning the relevant information in my resume.

By Amruta K

Jun 1, 2020

There are certain technical issues like sometimes it crashes but overall its a good app which can be utilized to learn something new or expand your information regarding a subject.

By Mama B

Jun 10, 2021

It was a very good course and helped me to update my resume to something fresh that got a callback after months of sending out resumes with no callbacks. Thank you very much!

By ZIA U

Aug 29, 2020

I knew how to write resume in fact we all do but this course taught me to enhance the things which I was missing. Little bit tweaking really make a huge impact as a whole.

By Naywaz S

Aug 3, 2020

Very good materials to learn but the course can be made a little detailed and a more examples of resumes could be showed to enhance the learning of the students.

By Sakif A

Aug 1, 2020

The course gave me enough information on writing a resume. But I think it would have been better the instructors made resume making mandatory to pass this course.

By Marina

Nov 29, 2016

The course gave me a lot of useful information that really helped me to revise my resume and make it more competitive! Thus it was short and a bit simplified...

By Nithin S

Jun 22, 2020

Good course, and good advice. I wonder if this is a bit more aligned towards student resumes. Also some parts feel dated. But overall a good course and useful.

By Rashmi B

May 26, 2020

i am happy to completed this course ,,,i learnt a lot of things ,,,,,,,this course help me a lot in building my resume in effective manner,,,,thank u coursera

By abhishek b

May 24, 2020

The content of the session was informative and helpful. Thanks to the Content creator who gave me some of the good ideas to make a well organized resume .

By Sahara Z F

Jul 2, 2020

Although it was a good course the quizzes were a little confusing. Despite that I feel like I've learned and grown and several ways thanks t this course.

By Anuj G

Apr 14, 2020

this course is awesome for my resume learned so much in less time about the resume. if you want a perfect that it's your time go and take this course

By Harsh

Apr 28, 2020

This is very good course which defines every important aspects of a professional resume in simple and lucid language which is easy to understand

By Viet T

Sep 7, 2016

It's an interesting course. I have learned and exploded many helpful things during study this course.

Thanks so much for you all contribution.

By Darlene D C

Jun 2, 2017

Taking this even without the certificate was very helpful. The video was easy to follow. I would have liked more downloadable options.

By FERDOUS M F

Jun 1, 2020

This is a good course for some general ideas. But I don't think it's going to be very helpful who already has some finished resume.

By Sai K M

Jun 7, 2021

It is a good course which gives us the info on how a resume must be prepared. Got to learn new things. Thumbs Up for the course.

By Ma. C P S

Sep 21, 2020

thank you for this course. It will be helpful for future reference and finding a job aligned to my skills and preferences