Chevron Left
Back to How to Write a Resume (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for How to Write a Resume (Project-Centered Course) by The State University of New York

4.6
stars
3,157 ratings
840 reviews

About the Course

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you will craft an essential cornerstone of the modern-day job or internship search: the resume. You’ll review resume best practices and explore current trends with guidance from a professional career counselor and recruiter, and you’ll exchange structured feedback with your peers as you work to polish your own resume. When you complete the course, you’ll have an eye-catching resume that lets your professional strengths shine. What you’ll need to get started: This course is designed primarily for young professionals or college students who are writing their first resume or looking to give an old resume a fresh and polished professional look. All job seekers will benefit from the course material and project, however, regardless of their career stage or professional background. All you will need is word processing software that allows you to create a resume on a computer- there are free tools available. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of like-minded supportive learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Top reviews

RP
May 26, 2020

It's wonderful experience with Quiz of Resume. I learn lots of things about resume and I am sure after completing this wonderful course everyone can write a effective and impressive resume.thank you.

M
Apr 13, 2020

In the words of myself , i would say "Coursera" is certainty an highly professional educative platform to learn about academic and non academic lessons. I'm pretty much pleased with their lessons.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 828 Reviews for How to Write a Resume (Project-Centered Course)

By Kukutla S

May 30, 2020

its good

By nikhilareddy

Jul 28, 2020

Usefull

By RAJ K K

Jul 11, 2020

Thanks

By guniganti r

Jul 27, 2020

Nicey

By ABHISHEK M

Aug 11, 2020

Good

By Doma S

Aug 3, 2020

GOOD

By 03 N

Jul 29, 2020

Good

By K.Maneesha 1

Jul 28, 2020

Good

By Seda

Jun 16, 2020

good

By S. S

Jun 5, 2020

Good

By BHARATH A

Jun 1, 2020

Good

By GOBINDA C D

May 30, 2020

Good

By geeta d c

May 20, 2020

good

By Charudatta J

May 18, 2020

good

By HARIPRAKASHA S

Apr 29, 2020

Good

By Sumon R

May 9, 2020

By doing this course now I can differentiate between resume and cv although they have a little bit difference.If you are a jobseeker you have to inform your particular information on your resume.I hope this course will help anyone to make a well established resume.Here the videos and quiz are well enough understandable with great instructors.

By Amar D J

Apr 18, 2020

It was an average course and the contents can be found if searched a bit.

Though few things which were good to learn were:

> Transferable skills

> Resume for particular job description

> Different types of resumes

> Difference between CV and resume

It's always good to get all the information at one place but by searching we learn more.

By Rodrigo A F S

Oct 15, 2020

Has some great tips for writing a resume, but I think there's a lot of mistakes in the platform's programming. For example, since the course's grades are divided into two quizzes (of 50% each), by the time you complete the second quiz you're given the certificate, even though you're not even halfway through the course.

By shireen s

Jul 15, 2020

The content was good but I found it difficult to navigate thru the different weeks. Also, I got my course certificate without even completing the course. This is a big technical glitch and you guys should resolve it ASAP otherwise your courses are just useless pieces of paper, of no value to anyone.

By Mercedes M

May 18, 2020

Peer-centered course, which I expected the instructors to be more hands-on but weren't. I'd recommend this course to anyone who doesn't have a formal or professional resume yet or looking to start their first resume. The videos are insightful and I would save them if I could to share.

By RAMJAN A

Apr 21, 2020

INFORMATICS NO MATTER BUT IT WAS REALLY NICE ONE. AS PER MY PERSPECTIVE BETTER ELABORATION HAVE PRESENTED. VIDEOS ON RESUME WRITING SHOULD HAVE ADDED ON THE MODULE (screen sharing).

BEST PART IN THE COURSE WAS THE HIGHLIGHTING THE ERROR WHICH COMMONLY MADE BY AN INDIVIDUAL.

By Tom M

Jun 17, 2020

Some good information here. It's mostly geared to college students. I'm older and looking for a career change, so I with there was something more geared towards that. I passed the class, however my resume was never actually reviewed.

By Monishita D

May 21, 2020

The information provided here are very helpful. Being a varsity student, it is really helpful to have some initial ideas about resume before graduation.But it should have included more interactive projects, more videos with experts.

By Joyce L

May 20, 2020

Very good about pointing out general information. There was some information that I don't feel was covered about specifics to formatting and wording.

It will not take 4 weeks at all.

It is a very helpful course overall!

By Mahdi A

May 23, 2020

This course is good but not enough. It's just a brief review of how to write a resume because it doesn't discuss and explain each part of resume in detail.

All in all, thank you for the course.